It’s an Obama Nation, Not an Abomination!

Our trip to Houston is now down to the last 24 hours.

 

Both of my visits to the largest city in Texas have been in politically charged years.  When I was first here in the fall of 1992, those great Democrats wrestled the White House away from George H.W. Bush.  And, in about a month, the Republicans will try to do the same to President Barack Obama.

While the national polls (from Real Clear Politics) show the President with an increasing 3.4% lead over Republican Mitt Romney, it’s almost certain that Texas will be painted red come election night.  A new Texas Lyceum poll shows Romney with a commanding 58-39% lead over President Obama.

 

But, hey it’s only Texas.  While the state has picked seven out of the last ten presidential elections correctly, I salute the Lone Star State with helping to elect Jimmy Carter president in 1976!  Hats off!

In all fairness, I’ve looked high and low since I arrived and I haven’t seen one Romney sign or bumper sticker anywhere.  When we arrived Saturday, we rented a car to drive down to Kemah, Texas, to check out the Boardwalk and the Balloon Show at the Johnson Space Center that was cancelled due to the rain.

Before we returned the car Sunday, we drove around to check out the neighborhood and I spotted it.  No, silly, not a Romney sign.  But, it sure made my day.  So, my new goal was to set out on foot on a scavenger hunt to find the colorful wall that gave me hope.

When we got back to the hotel room, I couldn’t remember where it was located.  Thank goodness for this little thing called Google.  Not only did it supply me with an address, but a picture to verify that it was what I was looking for.

Tuesday, I walked miles from downtown Houston to the Midtown neighborhood to the intersection of Travis and Alabama Street and there it was — hope!

I found President Obama and I didn’t even have to travel to Denver, Colorado, the site of the first presidential debate tonight.

Hold up Republican friends, before you click off this blog post in disgust.  I’m sure you don’t advocate vandalism because I’d never deface a Mitt Romney sign, but someone defaced this mural with paint in early 2011.

A “Houston Press” blogger calls it the work of a “splasher” and this photo by Monica Fuentes shows that person’s handywork.

The mural was defaced several times in 2011.  But, as you can tell from my visit, it’s as good as new now.

I promise that if I find a Romney sign, I will take a picture of it to be fair and balanced and I will not deface it like some coward.  If you’re not happy with this president or any president, there’s a simple solution.  It’s called voting.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wanda on October 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Awesome Anthony, Yes we can! Lets move Forward.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on October 3, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Every vote counts and if they don’t vote, they do not have the right to whine and complain.

    Thanks, Peeps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

