Art or Vandalism?

Gretel loves going to museums, but the mere thought bores me to tears.  While talking to her on the phone a couple of nights ago, Ray mentioned that he went to a reception at the Houston Museum of Natural Science and she asked if I went and that I was probably going crazy having to be there.  He told her I didn’t go with him.  To be honest, that one would have been neat to see.

Tuesday, we walked 3.4 miles to the Houston Zoo and we passed the Holocaust Museum Houston (that is another one that I would have loved to have seen) and the Weather Museum.  While I did take a picture of the Weather Museum, I refused to go inside.  That would have been too much like work!

I’m glad that there are art museums all across the world for people to visit with that share that passion.  However, my idea of visiting an art museum is walking around admiring the work with a large glass of champagne.  Waiter, refill please!

While I skipped the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston on this visit, that’s not to say that I didn’t find real, passionate works of art along the way as I explored downtown and Midtown Houston.

I’m not sure if this is a piece of art or if it was purchased, but it was so cool (and super gay)!

As I was walking down Main Street, east of the hotel, I found this street art that I found captivating.

These works of art were all on the same street corner.  However, on the next two pictures, I was so engrossed in my photography that I didn’t realize a “walker” (“The Walking Dead” talk for a zombie) turned the corner.  Okay, he wasn’t really a zombie, but it was one of those moments when I felt a little uncomfortable since the buildings were vacant.  Luckily, he saw me and turned back around and I finished taking the last pictures and went on my merry way.

This next picture, I think was more an anti-Houston Police Department message than art.  Nevertheless, it was powerful.

I guess there’s art everywhere.  Some of it is in swanky museums and some is out on the street.  Some prompts debates and discussions, and some offers hope.

 

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jewel on October 4, 2012 at 8:07 am

    I love the images of the beautiful artwork, Peeps. I want to go sometime and check it out. I would especially like to go to the Holocaust Museum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

