How I Spent My Day in Chicago

Bright and early this morning, I got up before our trip to Chicago and posted my blog about “National Coming Out Day”, which explains the purpose of the day and the story of why I never came out.  I walked on the treadmill and we were on our way to Chicago.

I love the pictures that Ray’s new camera takes.  And, we were not moving in the car when the picture was taken! 🙂

Although we don’t leave for Vegas until Thursday morning, I went to Chicago one day early for my annual physical.  From the exam today, my doctor told me, “your heart and lungs sound good, your tummy sounds good, and don’t lose any more weight”.  Now, I await the blood work.

For lunch, we had “Flat Top Grill”, where you put your veggies, rice, pasta, sauces, etc. in a bowl and your meat in another bowl, and they stir fry it for you.  My first bowl was nonfat spicy lime basil chicken with veggies, cantaloupe, and brown rice.

My second bowl was basically the same thing, except with pork instead of chicken, and a pineapple vinaigrette and mint water mixture.  Sadly, they were out of the sauce I wanted to try:  Indian coconut curry!

We saw my friend Christopher and he joined us for lunch.  The highlight of my day was that I also got to walk Mr. Panda!!!!!!  He’s still so adorable.

And, “Big”, Panda’s golden retriever friend was there and went along for the walk.

We got to our “free” hotel (thank goodness for reward points) near Midway, so we’ll be close to the airport Thursday morning.  The hotel also had complimentary burgers and cold fries.  The burger was very tasty and the cold fries were better with a lot of ketchup.  And, the three glasses of free chardonnay made it even better.

Before getting to the hotel, we stopped at Jewel and bought some fresh warm bread (can’t resist it when it comes out of the oven), grapes, and a bottle of pink Moscato.  And, before we left Moline today, I had to get gas and bought four pumpkin muffins from Hy-Vee.

Wait, I guess when the doctor told me not to lose any more weight, he didn’t mean to gain it back in one night!!!  I still have to fit in my shirt for the Madonna concert Saturday night.

So, we’re off to the exercise room to work off some of the food, before our snacks while watching the season premiere of “Nashville” on ABC at 9 p.m. central.

Peace,

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on October 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    I love Chicago, Peeps! I’ve never been to Vegas, so I will be living the adventure through your blog and posts.
    You have to go to the Bishop Hill Bakery when you get the chance when you come back. The baked goods are awesome. Is the Flat Top Grill downtown?

    Enjoy your trip!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on October 10, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Love seeing that Mr. Panda is doing well. You know I love the Shar Pei (well, all animals but I’m kinda partial to those wrinkled dogs!) 🙂 And I’m glad he has a friend in Big.

    A neighbor shared a pumpkin “whoopie pie”-like treat from HyVee with me, my blood sugar probably zoomed up but wow it was good! I’ll have to try a pumpkin muffin sometime

    Have a great time in this latest round of travels. Terry said we may be in for storms here on Saturday, hope the weather is nice in Vegas for you for your birthday.

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      It was so nice to see Mr. Panda and to see that he was plumped up a little. He’s so adorable and he and Big love each other’s company.

      That pumpkin whoopie pie sounds great. Yum!

      It’s now back to reality for a couple of month. Gotta work now. 🙂

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

