They Said What??? Ben Affleck, Elton John, Lady Gaga, & Sam Champion

“GOOD MORNING AMERICA” WEATHERMAN SAM CHAMPION

(discussing his upcoming wedding and the outpouring of support):  “I felt like we lived in a small town… I was born in Paducah, Kentucky, and to me that’s exactly what it felt like. We walked out on the street and everyone was like, ‘Hey, congratulations.’ Thank you for the tweets, and the Facebook and just coming up on the street and saying the most wonderful things.”

ACTOR/DIRECTOR BEN AFFLECK

(to Sam Champion):  “I want to congratulate Sam.  It’s to our shame that you can’t get married in every state in the union, but one day I hope you will be able to. It’s very exciting. I was very inspired…a moving, love story.”

ELTON JOHN

“I know a lot of people, and perhaps especially religious people, will say that David and I should count ourselves lucky for living in a country that allows civil partnerships, and call it quits there. Well, I don’t accept this. I don’t accept it because there is a world of difference between calling someone your ‘partner’ and calling them your ‘husband’. ‘Partner’ is a word that should be preserved for people you play tennis with, or work alongside in business. It doesn’t come close to describing the love that I have for David, and he for me. In contrast, ‘husband’ does. A ‘husband’ is somebody that you cherish forever, that you would give up everything for, that you love in sickness and in health. Until the law recognises David Furnish is my husband, and not merely my partner, the law won’t describe the man I know and adore.”

FORMER CEO OF WORLD WRESTLING ENTERTAINMENT & REPUBLICAN CONNECTICUT SENATORIAL CANDIDATE LINDA McMAHON

“I have changed my position on DOMA [Defense of Marriage Act, which states marriage is between a man and a woman] because, with gay marriage now approved in the state of Connecticut, I don’t think it’s fair.”

REPUBLICAN MICHIGAN STATE REPRESENTATIVE TOM McMILLIN

“Well, I think that the thousands of people that have been in that lifestyle and come out would say that it was their choice when they were in and came out of the lifestyle.”

“ONE MILLION MOMS”

(protesting the as-yet-unproduced Jennifer Lopez lesbian-themed television show, “The Fosters”):  “Hollywood is continuing to push an agenda that homosexuality is acceptable when scripture states clearly it is a sin. As Christians, the Bible also says that we must speak up against sin. If we remain silent then we are guilty of sin also.

LADY GAGA

(tweeting after vomiting several times on stage in Barcelona, Spain):  “Was praying nobody saw but actually its quite a good laugh if u need one! Check out Lady PukeGA doing Swan ‘Vomit’ Lake.”

Leave a Reply

