I’m Imposing A Political Gag Order on Myself

This is it!  I’m done with it.

Mark October 18th on your calendar because unless something happens over the next few weeks to tick me off, I’m not going to mention the race for the White House again until I breathe a sigh of relief on the evening of Tuesday, November 6, 2012.

I’ve made it clear that President Obama has my vote and I admit that he’s had a rough four years.  It also should come as no surprise that I think Republican presidential wannabe Mitt Romney is having an equally hard time keeping his stories straight to even know what he thinks or believes.

On election night, I’ll be glued to the television just like I did when I was younger watching the returns come in from around the country.  I will waiting to see if America chooses to re-elect President Obama (which I think they will by a small margin) or if Mitt Romney will be the next President of the United States.

However, that is just one race that I’m concerned with this year.  I’ll be watching to see how the great people of Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, and Washington vote on making marriage possible for all residents in their respective states.

In Maryland and Washington, the governors of those states initiated this process and things look good for marriage equality.  A SurveyUSA poll in Washington show that 55% support marriage equality and 40% are opposed.

And, in Minnesota, things are looking good for marriage equality for the first time this election season.

On the ballot this November is a constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage.  The latest poll from Public Policy Polling show that only 46% support this ban and 49% are opposed!

Independent voters are credited with the swing in the polling.  52% now oppose the ban.

Another race that is important to me is also in Minnesota.  I want to see former failed Republican presidential candidate (and whack job) Michele Bachmann voted out of office.

The latest poll from SurveyUSA/KSTP shows Bachmann leading her Democratic opponent, Jim Graves, in the race for the 6th Congressional District by a margin of 50-41%.

What is shocking to me is that Bachmann has an 18% lead among the men polled, while Graves leads in women polled by 1%.

Graves is definitely feeling the momentum in this race and there’s no disputing the fact that Bachmann feels threatened in her re-election campaign.

I was very vocal last spring about Bachmann’s anti-gay rhetoric when she was a contender for the Republican nominee for president and that is why I want her voted out of office in Minnesota this fall.  This woman is mean.

Bachmann’s lesbian stepsister, Helen LaFave  says that she’s “hurt and disappointed that my sister is leading this charge.”  LaFave and her partner, Nia, have been together for almost 25 years.

In the past, she sent Bachmann a letter that the candidate never responded to and said, “You’ve taken aim at me.  You’ve taken aim at my family.”

Family is everything and everyone should do whatever they can for their family.  Bachmann’s children have campaigned for her and I sense that the congresswoman loves her family — as long as your family is not gay.

Anthony

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on October 18, 2012 at 7:05 am

    I to think that President Obama will win by a small margin.
    And this year I will be watching the returns in California like I did in 2008 – I am sure this must be some kind of sign that he will be re-elected 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

