Reflections

Reflections — visibly, you can see them in a mirror, in shiny new kitchen cookware, and on a smooth body of water, like this December 2007 photo of Miss ABBA on vacation in Andover, Ohio.

And, you can reflect in your mind of things that happened in the past or things that will happen in the future.

This weekend, as I continue working through my eight-day schedule since returning from Vegas, I’m thinking that one week ago, I got to spend my birthday with Elton John, Madonna, and Ray.

Yesterday, while talking to my sister, Tammy, on the phone, she reminded me that two months from this weekend, we’ll be cruising the western Caribbean on our pre-Christmas cruise.  I’ve been so busy trying to stay afloat after our Vegas trip that it slipped my mind.  Gretel and Betty (Mom) will also be going on the cruise with us.

That means in less than two months, we’ll be in New Orleans checking out the Christmas sights and sounds of the “Big Easy” and allowing Miss Gretel to have gumbo and beignets.

It’s nice to reflect on happy times in the past and future things that we’ll experience for the first time.  I know all of us are very excited for the cruise because we’ve never done anything like this before (except for Ray more than twenty years ago).  And, to do it at the holidays is even more magical.

Reflecting about the upcoming holidays also takes my mind off the fact that my work contract is up at the end of November and I haven’t had any talks about renewing my contract!!

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on October 21, 2012 at 7:38 am

    What a wonderful time you will have 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Hyson on October 21, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    What a great trip and family time to look forward to….this will certainly be a Christmas to remember! 🙂
    I hope WQAD has the sense to retain the best weathercaster they currently have!!! 😦

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      I’m definitely looking forward to it.

      Maybe they know I have no plans to go anywhere and that’s why we haven’t talked about it. 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

