It’s Time To Be Spooked

Halloween is almost here and I know many of you have been having hauntingly fun evenings curled up on the couch watching your favorite horror movies.

Sadly, and this is scarier than any Hollywood production, I never seem to find the time anymore to just veg out on my days off to watch all of my favorite movies over and over again.  This includes Halloween movies.

There’s no contest as to what my favorite horror movie is.  Before I get to that, I want to share one of my new favorites and I actually made time this past Thursday afternoon to watch it again.  It came out in 2004 and I’m sure many of you have never heard of, much less seen it.

It’s called “Hellbent” from the co-creator of  “Halloween” and the executive producer of “The Nightmare on Elm Street”.  The tagline of the movie is “When the night belongs to the devil, the party goes to hell.”

The movie opens with a steamy love scene in a park in West Hollywood (WeHo), California, and the scene ends with a very graphic double murder.

Four friends are heading to the annual Halloween carnival in WeHo.  One of the guys works for the WeHo Police Department and he knows the gory details in the deaths of the two men that were making out in the park and tells his friends and freaks them out.

And, since you know this is a horror movie, the bloodshed is only beginning.

The movie is fun, upbeat, sexy, and gay.

While I’ve seen it many times since it arrived on DVD in the fall of 2006, my only problem (and it’s a slight one) is that it never explains why the serial killer is slaughtering the young, sexy men.  The movie redeems itself with a touching love story through all the blood and gore.

I really enjoyed the first two “Friday The 13th” movies and the first two “Nightmare on Elm Street” movies were okay, but I lost interest in them.

While Jason was relentless with his machete, I was more afraid of his mother!

I loved both “Let The Right One In” and the American version, “Let Me In”.  Both of them are spectacular if you love vampires and winter!

“Carrie” is still one of my favorites.

Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie were both amazing.  And, as much as I love Julianne Moore and Chloe Grace Moretz (“Let Me In”), I’m not really sure that we need the 2013 remake.  I could be wrong.

Of course, I love “Night of the Living Dead” (1968), “Dawn of the Dead” (1978), and the “Dawn of the Dead” remake (2004).  I remember my cousin, Steve, and I taking my mother, Dessie to the late night showing of 1978’s “Dawn of the Dead” without telling her how gory it was going to be and, afterwards, she said “That was so gross that I couldn’t eat my popcorn”.  That’s still funny to me to this day.

With that being said, it probably comes as no surprise that I love those zombie movies since “The Walking Dead” is one of my favorites.

There is still the ultimate horror movie that I want to see.  As hard as it may be to believe, I have not seen 1973’s “The Exorcist” in its entirety!  It’s one thing to see serial killers, but it’s another to deal with demonic possession!  One day soon, I hope I break down and see it.

I liked the original “The Amityville Horror” and I’ll be honest, I only watched the remake just to see studly Ryan Reynolds go mad and shirtless for much of the movie. 🙂

Now, it’s time to reveal my favorite Halloween movie, franchise, and movie ghoul.  Hands down, it’s Michael Myers and 1978’s “Halloween” is my all-time favorite horror movie.  It scared the devil out of me as a 14-year-old.  They are actually showing it here in Moline through Halloween night at the cheap theater.  I think I have Ray talked in to going and seeing it on the big screen!  It’s only been 34 years!!!!!!

There are ten movies in the “Halloween” franchise and it’s been a very interesting ride.

The original Halloween and its sequel came out in 1978 and 1981, respectively.  Then, in 1982, “Halloween III: Season of the Witch” was released and I had heard that the plan was to make ten movies with five different themes of Halloween.  The third movie focused on a demented toy maker that put microchips in the masks that would kill those wearing them.

After the movie pretty much bombed, Michael Myers returned for the fourth “Halloween” movie in 1988 and has been in all of the sequels.

While part four, five, and six, were watchable, they weren’t the best.  Actually, “Halloween 5:  Revenge of Michael Myers” was pretty annoying, but the worse was yet to come!

“Halloween:  Curse of Michael Myers” in 1995 featured a younger, sexy Paul Rudd.  The storyline was also a little far-fetched, but it was still good.  And, I loved the line, “It’s raining red” as blood dripped down on a little girl in her costume from a body hanging in the tree!

The franchise got back on track in 1998 when Jamie Lee Curtis returned as Laurie Strode in “Halloween H20”.  The interesting thing about the re-boot is that Laurie’s character was killed off off-camera for 1988’s “Halloween 4:  Return of Michael Myers”.  However, “H20” pretended that parts four, five, and six never happened.  Curtis returned again briefly for 2002’s “Halloween: Resurrection”.

And, then in 2007, rocker Rob Zombie directed his version, his re-imagining of the original “Halloween”.  Going into the movie, I thought I would hate it.  How could someone mess with the original?  I was pleasantly surprised.  Actually, I loved it because Michael was so much more violent in this movie.

However, Zombie’s 2009’s sequel “Halloween 2” changed my mind.  I saw it in theaters when it came out.  I survived, but I didn’t like it.  When it was released on DVD, I bought it and watched it again thinking I might have been wrong.  I wasn’t wrong.  It was painful to watch again and it pretty much sucked.

There was talk of another “Halloween” in 3D coming out, but it was scrapped and I have to say that if Rob Zombie is involved, count me out.

Two more horror movies I want to bring up for honorable mention are “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre:  The Beginning” to see sexy Matt Bomer and his interesting encounter with Leatherface.

And, check out 2005’s “House of Wax” just to see Paris Hilton die!  (Oops, spoiler!)

Happy Halloween everyone!  Enjoy your candy, popcorn, and horror movies.

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. I like vampire movies

    Reply

Leave a Reply

