When One Door Closes, Another One Opens

This summer, on one of our many walks and talks, Ray and I pontificated about our future and where we’d be in five years or ten years and it really got me to thinking.  While Ray absolutely loves his job, I honestly couldn’t say the same thing.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love being a television meteorologist and it’s what I’ve wanted to do since I was a kid and that dream came true.

And, to prove that this has been on my mind for some time, here’s my blog from April 22, 2012:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/dreams-they-can-come-true/

But, “Should I Stay or Should I Go”, the 1982 hit from the punk rock band, the Clash, kept playing in my mind.  Since I was moved back to the weekends after being on the morning show for two years, I began thinking about my future and what my future would be like after television if I decided to pursue others interests.

This Thanksgiving marks my seven-year anniversary at WQAD.  Sadly, it will also be my last.  I’m now a statistic.

For a few months now, I’ve been wondering when I would be approached to sign a new contract since my current one was set to expire November 30, 2012.  A few weeks ago, I asked again and finally, I got the answer today.

My contract is NOT being renewed and my last day on the air will be Tuesday, November 27, 2012.  On that day, I’ll be doing “Good Morning Quad Cities” and “News 8 at 11”.

Here’s a prime example of our strategic planning and this doesn’t violate the clause in my contract.  Our last news director, in a newsroom pep rally meeting one day, made the comment that “if we throw enough shit against the wall, something will stick”.

I won’t say too much more, because it might sound like I’m bitter.  I’m not!  I’m agitated and pissed that I dedicated seven years to that place without missing one day of work, working back-to-back shifts, fourteen-day stretches, and being part of the morning show, “Good Morning Quad Cities”, when we actually won the July ratings period a few summers ago beating KWQC, which is very, very rare.  It only happened that one time and maybe it was a fluke?

My situation is not unique, so I’ll not dwell on it any more.  I know that many companies in corporate America see employees as just a number and replaceable.  I’m not the first person to be pushed out the door at WQAD or in the business world and I won’t be the last.

However, I’ll focus on the silver lining.  I’m grateful that C.J. Beutien, the news director that hired me seven years ago, brought me to the Quad Cities.  I’ve worked with some wonderful people that I’ll cherish as friends forever (most notably, Vanessa Van Hyfte), and ABBA and I met our wonderful family, Ray and Gretel here.  If I hadn’t been in the Quad Cities, who knows what my life would look like today.  For those reason, I’m very happy for being a part of something wonderful.

While I had already been thinking of life after WQAD, I just wished the departure had been my decision.  With that being said, I’m ready to fulfill my contract and take December and January off before I even think of the next phase of my life.

For those of you that have been loyal viewers and friends, thank you.  We’ll still be friends through my blog and through Facebook.

So, as I face the great unknown, I present to you a woman and a voice that got me through my mother’s death (“For My Broken Heart”), a break-up (“Starting Over Again” and “I’m A Survivor), to finding love and happiness again (“Somebody”), here’s Reba with “I’m Gonna Take That Mountain”.

And, for those that don’t watch the video and listen to the song, here are some of the lyrics:  “I was born a stubborn soul/Ain’t afraid of the great unknown/Or a winding road that’s all uphill/This is just a stumbling block/Intimidating wall of rock/If you think this broken heart will break my will/I’m gonna take that mountain/Ain’t nothing gonna slow me down/And there ain’t no way around it/Gonna leave it level with the ground/Ain’t just gonna cross it, climb it, fight it/I’m gonna take that mountain”

Anthony

103 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on November 1, 2012 at 7:05 am

    I am glad we are friends and that I know this will be a stepping stone to better things.
    I think you know how I feel about the station anyways 🙂

    Reply

  2. My dear friend anthony, I so hope that the long journey that awaits you will give you much hope, experience, love, new friends,courage and so much happiness. It is indeed, a great loss but not only to you but to all that have come to know you, love you, respect you and with great admiration learned from you. The lessons I have learned are everyone has a heart, and no matter who or what you are you must be true to yourself, because in the end we all bleed the sadness. You are such a special person and you must always remember that. Take care my special friend and may god grant you all that you could ever dream of and I do think that that is why ray and you found each other.

    Reply

  3. Oh Gee Anthony that is a bummer after all you have done for your station..I know you have worked all those shifts and it certainly doesn’t seem fair, but mom always said life is not fair.

    I think its a great idea to take some time off and think about your next step.. Everything in life happens for a reason, and the reason for this will be made known to you when everything is set and going again.

    You have made so many friends the last few years, that in itself is a blessing, best of all was meeting Ray and Gretel and giving ABBA the time of her life..

    The right thing will come along, your story is to be continued…

    hugs,
    Barb

    Reply

  4. I am so sad you are leaving and it was not on own terms. I am glad we can remain facebooks friends. When they moved you to weekends I figured something was up. I know how you feel when you give your heart and soul to company then they toss you away like an old shoe it hurts. You have so much going for you that you will come out on top like the old saying goes when one door closes another will open that will be bigger and better. Good Luck.

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      I’ve always appreciated your faithfulness and for following me whatever my schedule was.

      I consider you a friend, it doesn’t have to have the word Facebook in front of it. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Gayle Bair on November 1, 2012 at 7:43 am

    Wow….I don’t know what to say, except might have to go to #1 Station now..Been watching WQAD for a long time and now I am wondering how some people there have stayed as long as they have? I really enjoyed watching you:) Keep following them dreams….I wish you the best..

    Reply

    • Gayle,

      Thank you very much for the kind words and for being my friend and former neighbor. Life is about changes and this is one of them. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for me.

      Take care.

      AP

      Reply

  6. Anthony – How sad. Obviously management has their heads up their butts. IF they were “true” management and “smart” they would have moved you back to mornings to see if a “repeat of performance” would rebound the ratings. I, too, have been pushed out (along with others) and now the company is struggling because “management” is bone headed. Their loss. I’m sure that the other stations would be very interested in your talent AND YOUR FOLLOWING !!!!!!!!! And besides this spring, I will be needing help with asparagus. I will let you know ! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Awwww…I just love you Anthony…You’re a great person…I love watching you on TV…and I love getting to know you from FB and your blogs. I hope I get the chance to meet you one day…you are so uplifting and such a great person. Keep your head up….things seem to work out exactly the way they’re meant too….don’t understand it at the time…but later you will look back and be glad they worked out exactly like they did. Big hugs to you!!!

    Reply

    • Amber,

      My friend, thank you for the kind words.

      I will definitely keep my chin up. This is only a small obstacle. I appreciate your friendship. We may have gotten to know each other through FB or the blog, but I consider all of the people I communicate with, friends, not this kind or that kind of friends. Just friends and you are one of them.

      Take care and Happy Holidays.

      AP

      Reply

  8. Posted by Wanda on November 1, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Be honest Anthony, I only watch WQAD when I know U are on there. It is Kwqc that I watch mostly when I do watch t.v. God made a path for U, Keep up the good work another door will open…so glad that we are friends and that U met the love of your life and have a awesome family. There’s always a reason why things happen..I question that myself all the time when things do. U are such an awesome guy and I enjoy everything U blog…actually U make my day..look foward to seeing more. If another station offers go for it if U think it’s what U want but hang in there everything happens for a reason. U will succed in all U do.

    Reply

    • Wanda,

      We’ve traveled a long road together and I’ve enjoyed every step. Just because you won’t see me on television won’t diminish our friendship.

      This is only a small bump in the road and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me.

      Thank you for the kind words. I love sharing my thoughts via FB and my blog and I’ll keep doing that.

      Take care, my friend,

      AP

      Reply

  9. You are right…corporate greed and stupidity…it’s why Neil is gone and now you. You are better off without WQAD if this is how they treat valued employees. Onward and upward!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on November 1, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Anthony, my dear friend, I follow your schedule and watch WQAD when you are on. I would love to see you on “the other” channel. I am always reading your blogs and looking to check out your ties on the news. I have often wanted to buy you a “rainbow” colored one, just so you could have some color with your suits. You are an incredibly intelligent individual and the intellect you share on your blogs and with us on FB is valuable to me. Although we have never met in person, I can honestly say you have become a very special and dear friend. The invitation is still there for you to come visit us. BTW, I love Vanessa too! We know her personally and have watched her grow up along with her siblings as they attended the same school as our daughters. I will miss you on the television but I know you are just a PM away when I need to talk and visit with you. God has a plan for you that is for sure. Wherever He leads you go willingly. Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “When people walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints on your hear.” Peeps you have done just that with so many viewers and facebook friends.
    Enjoy your hiatus and listen to His calling and your heart. Now maybe you and Ray will join us for dinner while you have some free time. Gretel too! 🙂

    Doe

    Reply

    • Doe,

      You don’t know how much I appreciate your commitment to following my schedule and checking out my forecast. I’m sorry we didn’t win that lottery a while back. 🙂

      I know that good things are coming down the road for me and I welcome them. At the same time, I hope the same for you.

      As I said in my blog, I love my Vanessa. She is a dear, sweet person that I cherish.

      Yes, I’m just a message or blog entry away.

      Happy Holidays to you and your wonderful family. Dinner would be fun!

      AP

      Reply

    • And, Doe, we’re friends. Not just Facebook friends. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  11. Posted by Lisa Taylor on November 1, 2012 at 8:32 am

    Ok, this DID NOT MAKE MY DAY!!! I am so, so sorry about you leaving. I love you so much, and all of your Facebook friends do. I just hope that this perhaps will open up the door for you to become a full time LBGT activist or any type of activist you choose to be! This makes me very sad, but I can be selfish just this one time can’t I? I will always communicate with you Anthony, and know I have all the faith that your future is brighter than ever! Love You!

    Reply

    • Lisa,

      This is just a small bump in the road and I’ll find something soon that will be just what I need at this point in my life.

      I appreciate the kind words and I’m really proud to call you my friend. Your commitment to the LGBT community cannot go without notice here, too. With friends like you, we’ll make those small strides that one day, when we step back will be seen as huge accomplishments. I’m glad we’re on this road together.

      Take care and we’ll keep in touch.

      AP

      Reply

  12. Wow Anthony…..I am so sorry but your relationship with Ray is so strong that I know the two of you will be able to take that mountain together…..Keep us posted on how things are going for you….take care…

    Reply

    • Linda,

      Thank you very much.

      You’re so right. My family life is more important than being a part of an organization that doesn’t value its people. I know that this is just a small bump in the road and I’ll be a better man and find something much more rewarding down the road.

      I wish you the very best, too. I will keep you posted and let you be part of the adventure. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  13. Posted by deinda on November 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

    So sorry to hear this news! You have always been our favorite meteorologist. There’s a phrase that says “There are three types of friends. Friends for a reason, friends for a season, and friends for a lifetime”. The same applies to our lives. Because of the job, you relocated, thereby meeting Ray and Gretel (reason). The job has ended, but seasons do change. (season), and you have your family now. (lifetime). Your new season is coming. May it be even better than the last! God bless, and follow what you feel is right. Glad we are facebook friends!

    Reply

    • Deinda,

      Hello, my friend. You are probably one of the first few people I friend-ed on Facebook and I’ve always enjoyed our chats. I wish you and your beautiful family the very best this holiday season and in the future.

      I appreciate the kind words. I love that quote and I hope that you don’t mind if re-use it. It’s awesome.

      I consider you my “friend”. We’ll leave the word Facebook off.

      Take care,

      AP

      Reply

  14. Posted by Diane Brown on November 1, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Sorry to hear you are leaving wqad you will be missed. Good luck in the next phase of your life whatever it might be.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Celina on November 1, 2012 at 10:08 am

    As U well know..I`m sure……………….ALL THINGS HAPPEN FOR A REASON..U may not know it NOW,,,But I know sumthin better is comin Ur Way:)..loves

    Reply

    • Celina,

      Thank you. I’ve always said that everything happens for a reason and I believe that now. Take care, my friend. You are likely one of the people that have known me the longest, besides Tammy. 🙂

      Happy Holidays early!

      AP

      Reply

  16. I’m so sorry to hear about this. When I read the title of this blog, I wondered if that’s what happened. Who knows, you might find another job at another QC station. It’s happened before. Meanwhile, enjoy the vacation. Some other opportunity may come your way.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Rose Hershberger on November 1, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I’ve feared this ever since you first mentioned your Contract renewal coming up…….I’m so very sad! We all consider you a part of WQAD! I certainly wouldn’t consider KWQC to be No. 1….that’s a surprise to me since I’ve always preferred watching Channel 8 News & weather. I am just speechless, but hope there’s better things out there for you. Looking forward to continuing to see you on FB and will always be your FRIEND. {{HUGS}}

    Reply

  18. Posted by Ann Schulte on November 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Sorry to hear this Anthony, but I love your positive attitude and am sure you will find something wonderful to replace this job!

    Reply

    • Ann,

      Thank you very much. I always try to see the silver lining in everything. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m still ticked off about it. 🙂

      Take care and happy holidays early. I can’t wait to see the beautiful colors of Christmas.

      AP

      Reply

  19. You will be missed Anthony. Best wishes to you.

    Reply

  20. Hello Anthony: I received your email today and found it quite disturbing. Sounds
    like a repeat of what I went through at WYTV. I’ve always said that giving a company more than what they deserve always meets with ungratefulness. It would seem that the theory is true “The less U do the more appreciated U are”. I think you came to realize that when you worked at WYTV with me. Remember you and I were a team on the weekends for a long time. You and I were a major reason why that station went to #1 on the weekends because WE WENT THAT EXTRA MILE and look where it got us. You luck out and got a good job and like you said YOU WENT THAT EXTRA MILE once again. Your a good person Anthony and a great reporter (news) along with being a great meteorologist. Don’t let this set U back.
    Move forward. Try to hook up with a Network owned station. YOU’VE MORE THAN GOT THE EXPERIENCE or event better yet how about a Cable Network (CNN MSNBC FOX) for example. No matter what U decide I’m sure it will be a major
    advancement in your life. Keep me in form as to what’s going on and your right I’m not on Facebook all that often. I still hold the account just haven’t had time to browse through like I before. Keep in touch and Mary says hello and wishes U well. Your friend forever Hank

    Reply

    • Henry,

      My apologies for being so late in responding to your heartfelt post.

      I appreciated working with on weekends. There were many times that we’d so 10 vos and vo/sots, a package, a live shot, and I’d still do weather. It was incredible! I’d never want to have to accomplish that much in one day now!

      Corporations are not human and if there are any humans left running them, many become robotic, bean counters.

      I hope life after WYTV is bringing you and Mary happiness, health, and success.

      I know good things are coming my way. I’ll be ready when it happens.

      Happy Thanksgiving, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  21. Posted by Connie Huizenga on November 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    We are so sorry to hear of your forced departure. I echo all the positive sentiments that have already been stated. I also understand the feelings that you are feeling. Please know that you are a valuable employee, family member, and friend. I have always looked forward to seeing you when you were scheduled to work. I hope that I have an opportunity to see you again, perhaps at another station, perhaps in another venue. Cream always rises to the top and I am sure that you are the top of the cream. We will be in your corner and be available to whatever needs you have. Good luck my friend. Keep us informed.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      You know that I’ve always enjoyed our chats and our friendship. We share the same ideas and I appreciate that.

      I love your analogy about the cream rising to the top. That’s awesome.

      You know I will keep you posted.

      AP

      Reply

  22. Posted by Cathy Hanover on November 1, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    Oh great…I need to find another favorite weatherman lol….Just kidding hun…I hope you find what youre looking for and hope that you and Ray have lots of happiness together…I will definately miss you and lets be serious here…no one can ever take your place in my heart as my favorite weather man….Love ya big guy and wish you nothing but the best. 😀

    Reply

    • Cathy,

      You’re too funny. I appreciate your kind words and well wishes.

      While I won’t be on television, you know I’ll be following the storms and blogging and posting on FB. 🙂 And, if you need a quick weather fix, I hear that Greg Dutra and Chris Gilson know a thing or two about weather and they’re easy on the eyes. LOL.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  23. I can certainly understand your frustration, but it’s your great atitude that will serve you well in the next chapter, whatever that may be! As long as you bring the same energy, honesty, and great sense of humor to whatever you do next, I have no doubt that it will be wonderful. I’ll miss you at WQAD, but will continue to look forward to hearing about and sharing in your life and your thoughts on into your next endeavor! Good Luck, Anthony. 🙂

    Reply

    • Vicky,

      I appreciate you taking the time to respond to my blog. I do have a sunny outlook for the future, but that doesn’t mean I’m not ticked off. 🙂

      I will keep you, my friend, posted on my endeavors.

      Thank you.
      AP

      Reply

  24. Posted by Tony Steckman on November 1, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Anthony, I am sorry this has happened to you. I will pray for the best for you in the coming days. I know the best position for you is out there somewhere. I a m just going to miss seeing you on the news. God bless you, Ray and Gretel as you begin this new point in your lives! Love you all!

    Reply

  25. Posted by Pat Petersen on November 1, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    That just totally sucks. Do NOT feel sad/bad/mad or anything except relief. If they didn’t appreciate you, and obviously they didn’t, they didn’t deserve you. But as you say, coming to WQAD got you in position to meet Ray and Gretel, so try to remember the positive as you move forward to the next phase of your life. Golden Retriever breeder? Stay-at-home-co-dad? Writer – maybe a no-names tell-all like “Retail Hell?” (hysterical book). Farmer? (I’m having trouble picturing that one, but who knows?) Whatever it is, ENJOY! Life is too short. I’m loving retirement, I know what I’m talking about! And remember, all of your friends love you and wish you nothing but the best!

    Reply

    • Pat,

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and for commenting. I appreciate it.

      I’m ready for the next phase in my life. Who knows what the big man upstairs has in store for me, but I’m excited.

      Thank you for the suggestions. I’m not sure about being a GR breeder. I wouldn’t want to give them up!

      I’m glad you were our friend and neighbor in Maryland and that you are still my friend. How bad was it inland? I know Ocean City was hit hard.

      AP

      Reply

  26. Posted by Kerry Riley on November 1, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Oh I am so MAD!!! Well I willn’t be watching WQAD after your gone.

    Reply

  27. Posted by LaCinda Foster on November 1, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    Anthony,
    I have been watching you since you came to this station. I feel wqad will be with the loss with this decision. I was scared to death when Wonder bread closed there doors after assuring us it would be other plants that would close before the Davenport plant would. Well the next door that opened for me was great. I know your door will be even better.

    Reply

    • LaCinda,

      I appreciate the seven years of loyalty of watching me. I’m definitely touched by the outpouring of support for people like you and all of my friends.

      I’m only looking to the future now and I’ll take you along for the ride.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  28. Posted by robin on November 1, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Say it is not soooooo Anthony. 😦 I think OLE Jim Meertins needs to say BYE BYE, I think he is a SMART A……………. And on the A.M. Show I’VE always thought he was rude to you. I even called channel 8 about it. But they never returned my call. So I guess I’ll be watching 4. Blessings and your friend, Robin

    Reply

  29. Posted by Mary Nielsen on November 1, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    We will miss you doing the weather, but at least we still have you on FB!! Now maybe next year you and the family will be able to join us carving pumpkins!! Hopefully whatever comes along won’t include working weekends 😉

    Reply

    • Mary,

      You’ll always have me on Facebook and on my blog. That is very true about the pumpkins. We might be able to join you for carving and pizza next year.

      Thank you very much. And, you know, if the weather story is big enough, I’ll either post or blog about it. 🙂

      Happy Holidays!

      AP

      Reply

  30. Posted by Margie on November 1, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Anthony, I knew this day was coming, in fact my Mom and I was just talking about you yesterday, wondering what was going to happen. I am truly sorry this has happened to you. You are an amazing person, don’t let this get you down. God has a special plan for you, you never know you might do weather again. And if you do, I will be right there with you. I have enjoyed your blogs, you wonderful family, all of your awesome food pictures, getting to know you just a little bit more, and of course, last but not least, Dear Sweet Miss Abba! I am saddened about this, but you will prevail. I don’t agree with the stations choice at all, I can think of others that should go before you! My husband lost his job, and we thought it was over for us, I couldn’t even look to the future for anything, but in the long run it works out, as always, we worry when there is no need to. Good luck to you, thank you for being my facebook friend. Now maybe you will have that time to make a cookbook and donate the proceeds to the animal shelter. I remember telling you that many times before, you make a cookbook, I am the first in line to buy one. Good Luck my friend, and Blessings to you and your family!

    Reply

    • Margie,

      I appreciate your friendship and your kind words.

      This is only a small bump in the road for me and I’m only looking to the future.

      I hope things are much better now for your and your family. I wish you only the best. We’re friends and myfitnesspal friends. What a crazy battle that is. 🙂

      I’m touched by all of your passionate and sweet comments about Miss ABBA.

      Happy Holidays, my friend. You know I’ll take all of my friends along for the new endeavors.

      AP

      Reply

  31. Posted by Annette on November 1, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Best wishes in your new ventures. To be honest I don’t watch any news. But we became friends by chance of me reading your blog on ABBA’s birthday.

    Reply

    • Annette,

      News is depressing. I don’t blame you. 🙂

      However, you have touched my heart several times with your compassion and heart-felt generosity toward sheltered animals in Miss ABBA’s memory. You’re an amazing person and the world is much better place because of that and people like you.

      Thank you, my friend,
      AP

      Reply

  32. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on November 1, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Can’t wait to see who they get who will walk to work in dress clothes/shoes in the middle of the night with a foot of snow on the ground. Or who will fill in at a moment’s notice for someone else, on a few hour’s sleep. I know I’m done with WQAD after the 27th, & will have no problem informing advertisers of that fact. Maybe they’ll want to support (read: spend money at) stations who treat their employees better.

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      You’re an amazing friend and I’m glad we share the same passions in life. You’re incredible.

      I did those things because of my loyalty to the station and to my craft. Do I regret going the extra mile? Not at all. My only regret is their lack of loyalty and compassion. Money is money and people are replaceable.

      Life goes on and I’ll enjoy it. You do the same, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  33. The only reason I watch that station was because of you!!! YOU WALKED thru a freakin blizzard to do the NEWS!! WOWZA~ I am completely blown away. Regardless, I know you will score another job asap~ HOWEVER~ super sad for you…. Big Love!!

    Reply

    • Suzon,

      You’re too funny. I love you. I will always be remembered by that blizzard! 🙂

      Good things will come my way and I’m praying that great things will come to you and Noble!

      Season’s greetings, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  34. Posted by Mary Jo Tobin on November 1, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    I have watched channel 8 all my life 56 years,I lived right by there.I’m done.Too bad others will follow.The crap you have pulled is old, stale and you need new management………………….

    Reply

  35. Anthony,
    So sorry to hear the news. You may not see it now but I am sure there are great things in your future.
    Cindy

    Reply

  36. Anthony, your current situation reminds me of one of the many reasons I hated TV news. This is a new door opening, true! But, gosh, what a mess to deal with today. Hugs to you as you get through the next month. Enjoy your sabbatical and good luck in the next chapter.

    Reply

    • Janice,

      Thank you very much and yes, I’ll definitely take advantage of the next two months.

      We chose a very superficial and uncaring business. While exciting and rewarding, things like this show the down side.

      Take care and happy holidays early!

      AP

      Reply

  37. That will be a sad day! Best wishes and keep that positive attitude..karma will be knocking on someones door 🙂 Your a genuine and caring person and you will come out on top! I wish you and Ray all the best that you deserve.

    Reply

  38. Posted by Kathy Hyson on November 1, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    I can’t believe how foolish WQAD is….seems to me they could have treated such a talented and dedicated employee with a little more respect! I am done with Channel 8 after the 27th!

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      You’re too sweet. This is not the first “foolish” decision they’ve made and it won’t be their last.

      I appreciate the fact that it’s given me the chance to get to know you over the years. I’m happy to call you friend.

      Happy Holidays early!

      AP

      Reply

  39. Oh, Anthony, what shall we do!!!! Will certainly miss your wonderful smiling face giving us such great weather reports (ok, not always so great)!!!! I have been so blessed to have found such a “friend” in you. Even though you don’t know this, you have helped me through a very rough time in my life. I am a different person today because of things you have said, articles you have written & the time you have taken to answer some of my responses to you. You are one of the most honest human beings that I have ever been fortunate to know. I so look forward to traveling through your next journey in life & seeing the success that you bring in that as well. Thank you Dear Friend & know that my thoughts & prayers are with you. Love to you & Ray….Gretel, too!!!!

    Reply

    • Tami,

      What a touching response. Thank you. I appreciate it.

      While seeing me on television will change, I am still your friend and you’ll still see me on Facebook and my blog.

      I didn’t know that I helped you through some hard times. But, that means more to me than the seven years at WQAD. I hope those things have worked themselves out and life is treating you better.

      You know that I will share my next journey with you. I consider all of you friends, not Facebook friends, just friends.

      Have a great holiday season.

      AP

      Reply

  40. So sorry you will not be with the station any longer, but I am sure it will not be the last we hear of you. Enjoy this time and search for something that will make you truly happy. You have a great talent for writing, your blog is wonderful. Your spirit and talent will take you far.

    Reply

    • Mary,

      Thank you for your kind words. While I may forced out at WQAD, it will definitely not be the last you hear from me. I will continue to be an advocate (or activists) for what’s right. I’m glad you are, too.

      As for the writing, I will continue my blog. It gives me an avenue to express myself.

      Thank you again, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  41. Posted by Nanette on November 2, 2012 at 11:04 am

    You will always be the best weather man on Tv in my eyes…always continue to use your voice…that’s what changes the world… people like you…you are a good man, and good things will happen from here…just a little bump in the road…it’s an opportunity for even better things…thank you for brightening my day for so long I appreciate you.

    Reply

  42. Posted by Janet and Jim Robinson on November 2, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Hi Anthony! It is definitely corporate greed. WQAD doesn’t have a clue what a dedicated person you are. Maybe someday they will. You will definitely be missed. Hugs to you and your family. You will be fine without them!

    Reply

  43. Posted by Janet and Jim Robinson on November 2, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    you will be fine without WQAD!

    Reply

  44. Tami & I will both miss you dearly….you are our favorite meteorologist (don’t care what the ratings say) Have a safe journey my friend, wherever the roads may lead you…… You, Ray & Gretel are in our prayers!

    Reply

  45. Posted by Debra on November 3, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    We will miss you. Best wishes for a successful future.

    Reply

  46. Posted by Mary Smith on November 4, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    It feels like we are loosing much more than a meteorologist. I sure hope you stay close, or at least in touch. You will never know how many mornings we started over a cup of coffee. Having MS, an accurate account of what the temps & weather have in store is very important to our family on a daily basis.
    I have to wonder what God is working in your life. I am sure you will be blessed, whatever it is. Best wishes to you & your family

    Reply

  47. Posted by Teri on November 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this, our family have been watchers for many years. In fact you, and other WQAD meteorologist have inspried my son. He loves weather and watches everyday. I can think of other ones I would rather see the station not renew contracts with. With that being said, I pray that God has something great for your next venter in life. I would like to see you be picked up by another local station so we can still watch. Best wishes to you!!

    Reply

    • Teri,

      Thank you for the kind words. I hope your son continues to pursue weather. It’s a fun science.

      I will take you all along on my journey. I don’t know what God has in store for me, but I know it will be good.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  48. Posted by Joyce Billiet on December 31, 2012 at 7:34 am

    Anthony, So sorry to learn of WQAD’s decision to terminate your employment. I have noticed and have not liked the switching around of meteorologists ever since they acquired Fox 18, a channel I dislike intensely. I missed you immediately, then noticed when they aired a pic of the weather ‘team’, you were not there. I was truly saddened at your departure, thinking, of course, it had been YOUR decision. I know first hand how painful it is to be so abruptly terminated as I had the same thing happen to me with an auction company I worked for for over 15 years. I want to wish you the best of luck in all that you do. You are truly missed. In closing I’d just like to say SHAME ON YOU WQAD NEWS CHANNEL 8!

    Reply

    • Joyce,

      Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      I appreciate the kind words that you took time to share on my behalf. While I had been thinking about what I’d want to do if I ever left weather forecasting earlier in 2012, I was ready to sign on for a few more years this fall. However, as you read in the blog, I was never given that chance and that saddened me.

      I hope that you landed on your feet after you were let go from the auction company. I know something good will come my way in early 2013.

      Joyce, again, thank you. And, yes, shame on WQAD! 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  49. Posted by Bruce Ackerman on January 3, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Hi Anthony

    Just a brief note to tell you that not a day goes by without our wishing that the world was a better, more fair place and that you would be there somewhere on QC television to help us get through our day. You are a consummate professional and deserved better from an industry that sadly favors the clowns and gives employ to the fools who can’t put two words together.

    Reply

    • Bruce,

      Happy New Year! I hope you and your family had a very nice Christmas and enjoyed the big snow.

      It’s so great to hear from you. I’m glad you found me and I appreciate the kind words. I have faith that something great will come my way in early 2013. WQAD isn’t the only game in the Quad Cities.

      The television news industry can be a joke, at times, and I agree with you that there are some clowns in that circus.

      Please keep in touch. I always enjoyed hearing from you in the Territory!

      AP

      Reply

  50. […] When One Door Closes, Another One Opens […]

    Reply

  51. Posted by Jill Mattan on January 6, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    I too was let go from my job on Nov. 23rd of last year. I know it is no fun. it’s not just the money it is the lack of respect. Getting let go feels just awful!! I see only good things for you in the future from now on!! Your friend Jill

    Reply

    • Jill,

      I’m sorry to hear about your dismissal, too.

      You’re so right about it not being a money thing, as much as the lack of respect. That bothered me more than the paycheck.

      Take care and best of luck in 2013.

      AP

      Reply

  52. Posted by barb lundberg on March 14, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    Sure miss your cheerful self anthony i hope all goes well for you amd your family you ate a treasure barb lundberg

    S

    Reply

    • Barb,

      Thank you very much for your kind words.

      Things are definitely looking up. I started a new position as the weekday morning meteorologist for CBS4 in Rock Island. Our show runs from 5-7am Monday through Friday and then I do local weather cut-ins for the national show between 7-9am.

      Have a great weekend and thank you again!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

