My Friends, Your Compassion Is Overwhelming

This blog entry is not for me, it’s for you, my friends.

I hope I hit “like” on everyone’s Facebook comment to show that I read it and I appreciate you taking the time to respond.  That also goes out to those of you that replied privately on Facebook or publicly on my blog.

I don’t take anything for granted and that includes our friendship.  I’m taking this moment to thank each and every one of you for your overwhelming compassion.

From the countless responses, here is the biggest observation that I noticed in reading them.  Some of you may only know me from television or from our correspondences and posts on Facebook, but I don’t want you to be my “Facebook friend”.  If you’ve taken the time to like a post of mine, clicked on my blog link, responded, gotten ticked off at me for my views or a blown forecast, and you’re still here, you’re my friend.

While we may never meet in person, that doesn’t diminish our friendship.  I appreciate you.

With that being said, thank you again for making me a part of your lives over the past seven years and the last (almost) four years on Facebook.  We’ve traveled together, had great meals together, and shared smiles and maybe even tears together, even if it’s just in pictures, posts, and comments.  And, guess what, there are more miles to travel.  I’m taking you along for the ride.

If you’re still reading, I want to share one of my favorite poems, an inspiring video (even though it’s about love, I guess it can work since I love weather forecasting and television) and a few comments that made me realize that I’ve touched my friends’ lives in more ways than just being a television weatherman or a Facebook friend.

“Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening” (Robert Frost, 1923)

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

That has always been one of my favorite poems and I thought about it when I took these pictures in Dubuque, Iowa, in December 2009.  As a kid, it was because of the references to snow, but now it’s because there’s so much more I have left to do in life.

And that leads me to these heartfelt messages I’ve gotten since my blog post Thursday.  All of your responses are cherished, but I’m sharing these for a reason.

Nate:  “I am glad that you came to the QCA, and within the last year have given me someone close to home that I look up to as a person in the LGBT community. You are wise, and have shown me that true love and happiness will find its way to us. I can’t wait to see what the next chapter of your fabulous life will be, Anthony.”

Tami:  “I have been so blessed to have found such a “friend” in you. Even though you don’t know this, you have helped me through a very rough time in my life. I am a different person today because of things you have said, articles you have written & the time you have taken to answer some of my responses to you. You are one of the most honest human beings that I have ever been fortunate to know. I so look forward to traveling through your next journey in life & seeing the success that you bring in that as well.”

Doe:  “You are an incredibly intelligent individual and the intellect you share on your blogs and with us on FB is valuable to me. Although we have never met in person, I can honestly say you have become a very special and dear friend… I will miss you on the television but I know you are just a PM away when I need to talk and visit with you. God has a plan for you that is for sure. Wherever He leads you go willingly. Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “When people walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints on your hear.” Peeps you have done just that with so many viewers and facebook friends.”

Deinda:  “There are three types of friends. Friends for a reason, friends for a season, and friends for a lifetime”. The same applies to our lives. Because of the job, you relocated, thereby meeting Ray and Gretel (reason). The job has ended, but seasons do change. (season), and you have your family now. (lifetime). Your new season is coming. May it be even better than the last!”

I’m sharing these because while I’m very vocal for equality for all and not some, I have focused on gay rights and marriage equality.  And, I’m a realist and I know that those issues make some people uncomfortable.  However, we’re all given a voice and I don’t ever want to be afraid to use it to make someone else’s life a little easier.

It all starts with compassion and, maybe, something as simple as a smile.  I never knew I touched Nate, Tami, Doe, or Deinda, and many others in that way.  All of you have made me realize that we have that same desire to make our world a better place and it all starts deep inside us.  We just need to share it.  And, we’re doing that.

Again, my friends, I thank you and I cherish you.  We’re heading into my favorite holidays of the year.  This Thanksgiving, I’ll be giving thanks for all that I’ve been blessed with and I’ll enjoy the sparkles and the glitz of Christmas decorations and I’ll remember the reason for the season.

I’m facing a small mountain or maybe it’s just a fork in the road now, but “Life Goes On”.

And, LeAnn, my thoughts are with you.  One day at a time, sister!

Anthony

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Janet and Jim Robinson on November 2, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Hi Anthony! Great blog as always. Have a great day!

    Reply

  2. Janet,

    Thank you. I just want people to know that I value my friends.

    Have a great weekend.

    AP

    Reply

  3. ANTHONY, such a touching blog to your friends that love you. I wish you the best that life has to offer you. You have been a great teacher. Just remember LOVE YOURSELF and things will be great as you make your long journey. Love You, Ray, and Gretal Just one more thing. I also love poetry, am a published poet on Poetry.com. I have three of them on there under the name of marcia k. padilla if you would like to read them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Deb Griffin Senko on November 2, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Thanks Anthony.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Wanda on November 2, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Well said Mr Anthony! If there’s one thing I learned on here FB Is to Cherish such wonderful people like U and Ray. Thanks so much for including me friends are hard to find, good friends that is. God has made a plan for U continue your journey be happy and cheerful as U always are. Friends forever<3

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lisa Taylor on November 2, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    You are so AWESOME!!! I love you to death, and you ARE the best person inside and out!! You have always poured your heart out, whether it’s your weather or replies to all of us on facebook. I will never take you for granted. Have a blessed day Anthony. Friends for the long haul!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Connie Huizenga on November 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    I truly believe that you are headed toward greatness and it is an honor to go beside you in your quest. I do consider you a friend and do not take that privilege lightly. Thank you, Anthony, for being who you are, and for being my friend.

    Reply

  8. Posted by harleygranny on November 2, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Great words Anthony & thank you for sharing – totally sharing ALWAYS straight from your heart!!! You’re a wonderful person and good things ALWAYS come to good people; so keep pressing forward because I believe there’s a bigger & better plan yet for you and your Family to be seen!!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on November 2, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    You are so special as you can see from all the responses. I shouldn’t say this but you are so much more mature and professional compared to some of the other weather men/women on the surrounding stations, I would think someone would snatch you up….We love you Anthony. ❤

    Reply

  10. Robert Frost has another poem that also works-“The Road Not Taken”
    Thinking of you and praying you find your way to your next adventure and take us along!!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Tina Atwater on November 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    I believe there are all types of friends and whether we meet someday or just chat on face book, I consider you one! Thanks for lifting my spirits and always responding with a like or a comment on posts! Your friend, Tina

    Reply

  12. Posted by Deinda on November 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    It’s a fork in the road, and I know that you’ll know what to do what to do when you get to it. A big thank you to you for helping me (and my broom) come out of the closet, so to speak. Blessed be )0(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

