Happy Whatever Holiday It Is!

Now that some of us have tummy aches from eating too much candy that we stole from our kids’ pumpkins or out of the candy dish we were supposed to be handing out to trick-or-treaters, it’s time to move on to the next holiday.

PumpkinTurkey

Interesting enough, it seems that once Labor Day, the unofficial “end of the summer”, arrives, stores have Halloween costumes and candy out and Christmas decorations up.  Sorry, Thanksgiving, animated Pilgrims just aren’t that exciting.  On the other hand, dancing turkeys are fun!

Okay, I take that back.  Pilgrims and turkeys can get testy over their day of thanks being overshadowed by Christmas!

notchristmasyetMadTurkey

As for me, I have dressed up in the past for Halloween and enjoyed it.  Now, I guess I just feel old and it’s more like work.  I’d rather open a bottle of wine and drink it while handing out candy.

I always look forward to Thanksgiving.  As a kid and young adult, we always had Thanksgiving dinner at my Aunt Norma’s house.  That was always a fun time.

Now, I love cooking my own Thanksgiving feast.  While I suggested this year that Ray, Tammy, and I go out to eat, I quickly rescinded that offer because the thing I love the most about Thanksgiving is the leftovers on the days that follow!

While it becomes a whirlwind between the end of October to the end of December to get all of the holidays in and everything done, I found a perfect way to honor all three holidays in my favorite decorating cartoon.

MyFavoriteDecoratingCartoon

Nevermind, Thanksgiving gets shafted again.  I mean, seriously, who wants turkey and dressing flavored vodka or liqueur.  I guess cranberry vodka would work for Thanksgiving and pumpkin pie liqueur can double for Halloween and Thanksgiving.

I found a way to honor all three holidays at my house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our holiday seasons will commence this weekend with smashing the moldy, jack-o-lantern (a tradition that Gretel and I started last year), buying a turkey and ham for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and decorating outside in that short, warm window Saturday afternoon after I emcee a fundraiser at noon.  Rain, much colder air, and maybe the first snowflakes of the season follow for Saturday night into Monday.

Ray and I are talking about signing up to help Mr. Thanksgiving serve food at South Park Mall.  I think my sister works Thanksgiving Day, so we’re cooking Friday.  And, who knows, I may even take part in “Black Friday”, something I’ve never ever done and swore I’d never do.  But, hey, it’s a new life for me.  I should try something new.

Let’s enjoy all of November and December and be thankful for everything that we have been blessed with in this life.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Constance King on November 8, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Hello Anthony! Riverside church would love to have you and Ray come help us with our Thanksgiving meal, we could use more volunteers!!! Please feel free to message me on Facebook is you’re interested!

    Reply

    • Constance,

      Thank you very much for the invitation. We are part of a group that will be helping out in Moline. However, I’ll do whatever I can to get the word out for you.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Elaine on November 8, 2012 at 10:33 am

    I think it would be hilarious for You to come to the door with a bowl of candy in one hand and an open bottle of wine in the other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

