My Early November Random Thoughts

Happy November!  Are you gearing up for the holidays?  Which is your favorite?  Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Year’s Eve?  It’s been a while since I just blogged just about random things that go through my mind, so here goes….

POOR NEW YORK

When Hurricane Sandy slammed onto the New Jersey shores October 29th, it didn’t wash away the cast of the MTV show, “Jersey Shore”.  I’m kidding!  In reality, we saw all of the horrible images of the flooding, the wind damage, and the heavy snow across the East Coast.

And, of course, there were many fake pictures surfacing.  However, none of the pictures captured the magnitude of “The Perfect Storm” like this one.  Who knew they had so much to deal with?  The media (well, except Fox News) just doesn’t show you everything. 🙂

ELECTIONS ARE BEHIND US — FINAL THOUGHTS

Can you believe that 2012 is almost over and that the election is behind us?  Congratulations President Obama on getting four more years!  Now get more things done this time, so those that say you haven’t done enough can zip it!  And, it’ll set the stage for a Hillary Clinton 2016 presidential bid!

And, entertainment icon Cher can breathe a sigh of relief and continue prepping for her much delayed new album and tour.  From this past tweet, you know she’s happy that President Obama was re-elected!

LAST ELECTION COMMENT

With a record number of people voting early across the United States, maybe we should make it mandatory that all Floridians vote early.

As we know, the 2000 election came down to Florida.  And, several days after the 2012 election, Florida was still the only state that had not declared a winner although it’s pretty much a win for President Obama, who leads by about 51,000 votes.  (Actress Roseanne Barr got 8,000+ votes in the Sunshine State!)

I really haven’t looked into why it took so long and it really doesn’t matter this election, but seriously there is a problem with that state and its election board counting votes!

TOP SELLING ARTISTS IN ENGLISH MUSIC HISTORY

The “UK Official Singles Chart” is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year and the top-selling male singles’ artist is Elvis Presley with sales of more than 21.6 million.

He’s followed by Cliff Richard, Michael Jackson, and Elton John.

The runner-ups for top-selling female artist are Rihanna, Kylie Minogue, Whitney Houston, and Lady Gaga.  They all trail the top-selling female artist for the past 60 years with singles’ sales of 17.8 million — Madonna.

Overall, of all singles artists, Michael Jackson is fifth, Madonna is in fourth place, Cliff Richard is in third, Elvis is second, and the top-selling singles’ artist in U.K. history is the Beatles with sales at 21.9 million!  Are you shocked?


BARBIE PULLS A “DEXTER”

I know that Halloween is over and we should be thinking happy thoughts and not morbid ones, but this is too good to pass up since I didn’t do a “this & that” blog in October.

So, in that vein, here’s to Thanksgiving.

DO YOU BELIEVE IN GOD?

I just read an article about the existence of God and according to the May 2011 Gallup poll, 92% of Americans believe in God.  That is the lowest number of believers since Gallup started asking this question in 1944.  In August 1967, 98% of Americans believed in God.

More women believe in God than men and the age group that had the least belief in God (84%) was the 18 to 29-year-olds.

The South (96%) had the most believers, while the East (86%) had the least.  That doesn’t surprise me, nor does this statistic from that 2011 Gallup poll.  By political party affiliation:  98% of Republicans, 90% of Democrats and 89% of Independents believe in God.

ANOTHER UNRELATED THOUGHT ABOUT GOD

I promise that I have no agenda against God, but I saved this on my computer one day from Facebook and I just came across it and since I’m doing random thoughts, it would be a perfect time to share it.

CHRISTMAS CARDS

I love sending out Christmas cards and this year instead of sending out my typical store-bought boxed cards, I ordered personal photo cards.

Do you still send them out?  This is basically the only time that I use the USPS and I might not be alone.  In 2000, there were 55.1 billion stamped letters mailed.  In 2010, that number had dropped almost in half to 29.8 billion.

Here are the two new stamps for the holidays this from the USPS.

DECORATING FOR CHRISTMAS

While I know that Christmas is still about six weeks away, I’m taking advantage of the warm weather later today to hang lights outside.  As soon as I’m done emceeing a benefit fashion show fundraiser in Davenport, Iowa, I’m coming home to decorate outdoors.  I’d rather do it today when temperatures are around 70 degrees rather than tomorrow when it’s rainy, windy, and much colder!  Yes, that’s my official forecast.

To get you into the holiday spirit or if you just want a laugh, here’s a cute Christmas parody of Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift.  (You only have to watch the first two minutes since the last 30-seconds is a commercial!)

“THE NEW ME”

“Malibu Country”, the new ABC Reba comedy is a hit!  It won its time slot on its debut night, November 2, 2012, with almost 9 million viewers.

And, the new song that you can download on iTunes is incredible and I feel as Reba is speaking to me.

In 2013, I’m ready to find “The New Me”.

Happy November, my friends.

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. […] My Early November Random Thoughts […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

