I’m Thinking About Christmas & Much More Today

WAITING FOR THE PHONE TO RING

If you’re single, you likely know what I’m talking about.  If you’re married, all you have to do is remember back to the time when you were “on the market” and you met that adorable person and gave them your phone number and now you’re just waiting for them to call.

Or, if you’ve applied for a job that you really want or you’re unemployed, you find yourself sitting by the phone waiting for them to call and offer you the position.  We’ve all been there.  And, while I’d welcome a call from a Quad City television station, I was waiting by the phone earlier this week for another reason.  And, sadly, the call didn’t come.  I found out the modern way of finding out things  — online!

“SEXIEST MAN ALIVE”?

ChanningTatum

Sadly, “People” magazine just announced that Channing Tatum is the “Sexiest Man Alive”!  It just bums me out that when they choose 50 people, I tell myself I was #51 and when there are 100, I’m always number #101.  🙂

APMagicMike

See, I’m partly to blame for his success.  I showed up to see “Magic Mike” wearing an ABBA-tattoo-revealing shirt and all.  However, I didn’t take into consideration that they would lower the lights for the movie and the “People” people would not notice me.  And, mostly, after seeing the picture of the “Sexiest Man Alive” that I posted, I should hit the gym more and skip the large popcorn next time!

TOO EARLY FOR CHRISTMAS?

I always mail my Christmas cards out the day before Thanksgiving so that they are traveling across the country while we’re sitting down at the dinner table eating turkey, dressing, and all of the yummy side dishes and desserts.  I’ve written my Christmas letter that I’ll share with you on Christmas Day.  Now, I just need to address my cards and get them ready for the mail.  I have to do my part to save the USPS!

While this weekend is the Christmas parade in Davenport and the “Lighting on the Commons” in downtown Moline, I kicked off the Christmas holiday season last weekend as emcee for a church fundraiser in Davenport for my friend, Angie.

Anthony EmceeAngie & KenGretel

Angie Clark & Ken Lue performed “Silent Night” and “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” and Miss Gretel was one of the models in her very festive, shiny dress and curly hair.  What a cutie!  After the show, I led the group in an a cappella version of “Winter Wonderland”.  It was so much fun and I didn’t get thrown out for singing live or scaring people away!

CHRISTMAS MUSIC

I’ve already started listening to my Christmas CDs and I’m up to the letter “E”.  Yes, my CDs in alphabetical order and I’m going down the line.  I did purchase three new ones that I’m also listening to:  Rod Stewart “Merry Christmas, Baby”, Lady Antebellum “On This Winter’s Night”, and yesterday, John Travolta & Olivia Newton-John’s “This Christmas” arrived.

John Olivia Christmas

Olivia and John’s proceeds from the sale of the album go to her charity, “The Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Centre” in Melbourne, Australia and his charity, “The Jett Travolta Foundation”, in honor of John’s 16-year-old autistic son, Jett, that died almost four years ago after hitting his head during a seizure in the Bahamas.

CHRISTMAS MUSIC ON THE CHARTS NOW

I checked the Adult Contemporary charts this morning since Christmas songs usually appear on AC stations first and there are already eight holiday songs charting:  #28 “Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! (Rod Stewart), #35 “Dreams of Fireflies (On A Christmas Night)” (Trans-Siberian Orchestra), #37 “Do You Hear What I Hear? (Jordin Sparks), #38 “Joy To The World” (Train), #40 “Christmas In The Sand” (Colbie Caillat), #41 “A Holly Jolly Christmas” (Lady Antebellum), #43 “The Christmas Song” (Colbie Caillat), and #45 “O Come All Ye Faithful” by Chris Mann.

IF A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS….

GaysRaisingChildrenSameSexCouplesMarriageHumanRight

And, I’ll step down from my soapbox and let Rocky (NeNe Leakes) from NBC’s “The New Normal” enlighten you since women, blacks, and gays are still in the same boat in many parts of the country.

RockyTheNewNormal

“THE CAMPAIGN”

I’M ANTHONY PEOPLES AND I APPROVE THIS MOVIE

thecampaign

While the country is pretty much divided on who they wanted to win the race for President, I’m sure most, if not all, of us are glad it’s over.  So, why was I looking forward to the DVD release of a comedy about politicians.  Because, it was a comedy and it skewered the whole political process.

Will Ferrell, plays Democratic Congressman Cam Brady who is running unopposed for his fifth term in North Carolina’s 14th district.  He is your typical, shallow, image-thinking politician.  A couple of shady businessmen (John Lithgow and Dan Aykroyd) decide to finance someone to run against him so they can bring their Chinese sweatshops to the United States and make even more money in their illegal business operations.

They find that person in Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis), a clueless small town tourist director.  He’s a very effeminate married man with two sons and two pugs.  The Motch brothers, the corrupt businessmen, quickly send in a campaign manager (Dylan McDermott) to make Huggins more likeable and more manly.

The most hilarious part of the movie is when Huggins asks his wife and two sons if they have any secrets that would come out in the campaign.  Let’s just say that was the most disturbing and most awkward dinner conversation I’ve ever witnessed and I laughed so hard.

The movie shows that a political campaign can get down and dirty and by dirty, I mean nasty and skanky.  The movie could have been a little better if it was shortened by about five to minutes.  Now, I can say that I’ve seen a Will Ferrell movie.  No, I still haven’t seen “Anchorman”.

GRADE:  B

“ARTHUR CHRISTMAS”

Arthur_Christmas_Poster

I was ready to kick off the holiday season last Sunday when we saw our first flakes of snow.  We rented “Arthur Christmas”, a 2011 3D computer animated fantasy voiced by James McAvoy, Hugh Laurie, Bill Nighy, and Jim Broadbent.

It’s basically the story of Santa getting ready to retire and turn over the reigns to his son Steve and his high tech new sleigh.  During the Christmas Eve rush, one present for a little girl named Gwen falls off the conveyer belt.  Once this is discovered by Arthur, another of Santa’s sons, it’s his mission to make sure that not one child wakes up on Christmas morning without a present.  He gets his grandfather, a very old retired Santa, to help him.

That delivery doesn’t go well and they end up stranded in Cuba.  Will Gwen get her present (it’s a bike, spoiler!) before she Christmas morning?

I wanted so much to really like this movie and add it to my favorites for the holiday season.  This isn’t it.  However, small kids will like it.  Gretel has now seen it three times.

GRADE:  C

MATERIAL GIRL GETS DOWN “GANGNAM STYLE”

And, today, I’ll end my blog on a hip, happening, and happy note.

Tuesday night, in the second of her two shows at Madison Square Garden in New York City, Madonna surprised the crowd with one of the hottest new singers out there today.  While performing her hit “Give It 2 Me” mixed with “Gangnam Style” by Korean rapper PSY, who’s had the most downloaded song in America for five weeks now, the singer appeared on stage to get down with our Material Girl.

Have a great weekend!  I know it’s only Thursday, but remember I’m not working now.

Anthony

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on November 15, 2012 at 7:05 am

    I bought Rod’s CD too!!! Can’t wait to listen to it. I will probably end up waiting until Thanksgiving night, since you are only up to you C’s it’ll take you a few days to get to Rod 😉 Do you alphabetize by Title or Artist?!? Great blog, as always 🙂

    Reply

  2. Stephanie,

    I’ve already opened Rod, Lady A, and John/Olivia. You’re going to love it. I’m still considering getting Blake Shelton’s because Reba’s on one song and Richard Marx has a new one. I’m waiting for them to drop below $10. 🙂

    I do them by Artist and then release date from each artist. 🙂

    Thank you and I’m glad you checked it out. As you can tell, I love writing.

    Have a great day!

    AP

    Reply

  3. Posted by Stephanie on November 15, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Wooooohoooo! Everyone I’ve talked to said it’s great!!!! Was waiting for your “review”! 😉

    Reply

  4. Stephanie,

    If you love Rod Stewart, you’re going to love it. His voice is still as sexy as it was 40 years ago and to hear him sing Christmas is awesome. He’s going to be in Las Vegas when we’re there to see Gaga in January and I hope I luck out on tickets like I did with Elton.

    There’s only one more artist that I want a Christmas CD from — Madonna! She’s never done one in her 30-year career and I think a fun dance Christmas CD would be groovy.

    AP

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stephanie on November 15, 2012 at 7:26 am

    I love Rod…and his sexy voice!!!!!! I hadn’t realized that he has never done a Christmas album until I read it on the CD…I was shocked! I mean deep down I think I knew it, but never actually had the thought.

    I hope you score tickets for January! I’m totally jealous you get to see Gaga, love her crazy, loving, honorable, whacky self!

    And now you’ve blown me away about Madonna…..What are these artists thinking?!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Constance on November 15, 2012 at 8:06 am

    I really like your blog, it always makes me smile and chuckle to myself! and I agree, Madonna needs to get all over that Christmas album!!!

    Reply

    • Constance,

      Thank you very much. As you can tell, I do love to write. I’m happy that you smiled. While I use it to raise awareness for several issues, I also like to have fun sometimes.

      Maybe we should start a Facebook page for Madonna to release a Christmas album in the fall of 2013. I’ll add that to my list of things to get accomplished.

      Take care, my friend.

      Have a great weekend.

      AP

      Reply

  7. […] I’m Thinking About Christmas & Much More Today […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by Lisa on November 19, 2013 at 6:35 am

    Okay here I go….Anthony you are one of the sexiest men alive on my chart and you only run against one other man..my other half Nick. Boy I have missed alot…I have not seen one of these movies you talked about today 😦 only because I have been a single broke mom way to long. I am working on Anchorman and part II sometime soon. I anticipate laughing my buns off 🙂 No, I haven’t seen Magic Mike either. Gretel looks like a little doll. Now Arthur looks alot like Flynt from Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs [yes I have seen that one many times]. As for Christmas music…I loved it as a kid and have never gotten into as an adult. I’m unsure of the reason but I did know Olivia and John made one last year and I will start with that one this year (since you have inspired me to do so) and go and buy it. I’m a huge fan of John Travolta since I was little and also named my last little girl after Olivia Newton John. Have a good day!

    Reply

    • Lisa,

      You’re too kind! I wish you and Nick the very best.

      I still haven’t watched “Anchorman” and I’m in the news business. I rent a lot of my movies from Redbox because it’s so cheap ($1.20 locally).

      Thank you about Gretel. That same fashion show event is coming up this weekend and she’s going to be in it again. And, she’s grown so much over the past year when I posted this blog.

      While I love Olivia Newton-John, avoid that CD with John Travolta. He’s horrible. It’s so bad when Olivia isn’t singing!

      If you buy a new Christmas CD, get Kelly Clarkson’s “Wrapped In Red”. It just came out in 2013 and it’s amazing.

      Anthony

      Reply

Leave a Reply

