They Said What??? Stevie Wonder, Rahm Emanuel, Mitt Romney, & Bobby Jindal

SINGER STEVIE WONDER

(performing at the “American Music Awards” to remember Dick Clark with a special message to the world):  “I just remember his friendship, his kindness and I remember his love for music and love for people.  I challenge you, you as communicators, leaders, politicians, spiritual leaders, put your love first as we musicians put our music and songs first, and unite the world. And then we can be jamming ’til the break of dawn!”

OPENLY GAY “LINCOLN” SCREENWRITER TONY KUSHNER

“I don’t feel that there was any evidence at this particular moment that Lincoln was having sex with anybody.  He seems to have not slept and taken no time off during this period.  I don’t say in my movie whether the Lincoln character was gay or straight. You can ask Daniel what he was playing, but it did not seem to me a thing to make a movie about now…..  I personally believe that there is some reason to speculate that Lincoln might have been bisexual or gay.”

WXIX-TV (CINCINNATI, OHIO) ANCHOR TRICIA MACKE

(after a personal Facebook post calling MSNBC anchor Rachel Maddow “an angry young man”): “I apologize to Ms. Maddow and any others who may have been offended by my comments, as they do not reflect my firm beliefs in individual and equal rights, and they certainly did not represent the opinions or position of my employer WXIX-TV.”

KEVIN CLASH, PUPPETEER AND VOICE OF ELMO FROM “SESAME STREET”

(a man accused him of having sexual relations with him when he was only 16 and recanted the story):  “I am a gay man.  I have never been ashamed of this or tried to hide it, but felt it was a personal and private matter. I had a relationship with the accuser. It was between two consenting adults and I am deeply saddened that he is trying to characterize it as something other than what it was. I am taking a break from Sesame Workshop to deal with this false and defamatory allegation.”

REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL WANNABE AND LOSER MITT ROMNEY

“What the president, president’s campaign did was focus on certain members of his base coalition, give them extraordinary financial gifts from the government, and then work very aggressively to turn them out to vote.”

REPUBLICAN LOUISIANA GOVERNOR BOBBY JINDAL

(shooting back at presidential loser Mitt Romney):  “I absolutely reject that notion. I think that’s absolutely wrong.  I don’t think that represents where we are as a party and where we’re going as a party.  That has got to be one of the most fundamental takeaways from this election.”

CHICAGO MAYOR RAHM EMANUEL

(about Illinois offering marriage equality instead of just civil unions):  “The time is right, the time is now.  Today, we must take the next step on that journey by affording the opportunity to marry to all Americans — and we can continue that march by quickly enacting marriage equality here in Illinois.”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

