My Favorite Thanksgivings

Our turkey is thawing in the refrigerator and I can’t wait to smell its aroma Thursday as it bakes in the oven.  I hope you’re ready for a very Happy Thanksgiving.

Ray, Tammy, and I will be preparing our feast for lunch on Friday since Tammy is working Thanksgiving.  Ray and I are volunteering to help out at Mr. Thanksgiving’s community feast for the first time Thursday afternoon.  On Friday, after we enjoy our belated Thanksgiving, we’ll spend the weekend with Ray’s family.  My sister, Tammy, won’t be going with us because she has to work.  So, if you eat out at Ryan’s this weekend and my sister waits on you, tip her well. 🙂

Since I have a Thanksgiving blog for tomorrow, today I’m reflecting on my favorite Thanksgivings.

TG2011

This was our feast from last year, which was Tammy’s first Thanksgiving with us in the Quad Cities.  It was also the first turkey day that my sister and I spent together since 1993, my last fall in Kentucky before I moved to Chicago.

MyPlateTG2011

Last year was also special, too, because it would be the last Thanksgiving that I would glance down from my plate and have two of the most beautiful, brown eyes looking up at me asking a bite.   A bite of anything would do as long as it wasn’t bananas, jello, or apples!  As you can see from my plate, I was eating for two.  This year, I can’t use that excuse.

ABBATG2011

Miss ABBA, Daddy A will have an extra bite of turkey this year just for you!

Two years ago, Ray’s parents, Ray & Donna, and his sister, Ann, and her family joined us for a family feast.  Gretel is on top of the world any time she gets to spend time with her cousins, Sydney and Addison.

GretelCousinsTG2010

In 2009, the first Thanksgiving Ray and I were together, we spent the afternoon with our friend, Tracy, and her family.  She also invited us over last year for appetizers and wine since my sister was working!

TracyTG2009

Also, at Thanksgiving 2009, Christopher, my Chicago friend, and Betty (Mom) were in St. Thomas, so Miss ABBA was doggie sitting for Mr. Panda.

ABBA Panda TG 2009

On Black Friday, we drove Mr. Panda back to Chicago and cooked Thanksgiving for Betty and Christopher.  The next day, we met Gretel in downtown Chicago for a stroll through Macy’s before coming back to the Quad Cities and picking out and putting up our Christmas tree.

TG2009Chicago

While we’ve had people over in the past, here is how ABBA and I spent Thanksgiving 2007.

ABBATG2007

While Miss ABBA ate her fair share of goodies that day, she only sat at the table for the photo.  But, she definitely was sniffing the turkey and the gravy!

As a child through the early 1990s, all of our Thanksgivings were at my Aunt Norma’s house.  After that, I moved away and usually worked on the holiday.  In the late-1990s through the early 2000s, I spent my Thanksgivings with Betty’s family in Andover, Ohio.

And, my final memorable Thanksgiving was in 1996.  I was living in Rhinelander, Wisconsin, for my first television job.  There were many of us that were new at the station that fall and none of us were able to go home.  So, I made a big feast and then we went out partying afterwards.  Closing down the bars and then working the morning show two hours later probably wasn’t a good call.  Luckily, that only happened once!

One of my friends celebrating with me that night was Elizabeth Goodsitt, who anchors at KWQC in Davenport, Iowa, the number one television station for news in the Quad Cities.

Elizabeth TG 1996

With this flashback, I wish you a “Happy Thanksgiving” one day early!

Anthony

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jewel on November 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Wow! Thanks for the opportunity to take a trip down your memory lane with you. I hope that you, Ray, Gretel, and Tammy will have a very wonderful Thanksgiving! I’m sure Miss Abba will have all the turkey she can eat while sitting on the rainbow bridge with all of her friends. I think it’s wonderful that you and Ray will be volunteering tomorrow. At the end of the day I’m betting you will find even more things to be thankful for. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving Ray, Gretel, and Peeps. This Thanksgiving I know that I will also be thankful for you three. ❤

    Reply

    • Jewel,

      I wish the three of you (and your families) a very happy Thanksgiving.

      It was fun going though photos and reliving the memories. I know Miss ABBA is very happy up there. I still have a few more memories to share of her before my self-exiled last blog on her passing on the anniversary.

      Happy Holidays.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Janet Robinson on November 21, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Another great blog! I love them. Have a great THANKSGIVING this year you sure deserve it. I didn ‘t realize Elizabeth was a friend of yours she is a very good news caster. Have a good day

    Reply

    • Janet,

      Thank you. I wish you and yours a very happy Thanksgiving and holiday season.

      Yes, Elizabeth and I worked together for the 5 months I was in Rhinelander. I left for Lubbock, Texas, and she stayed there until she arrived at KWQC in the Quad Cities.

      She is great at anchoring and she’s a great person!

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Wanda on November 21, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Thanks for sharing, Hope you and family have a Wonderful weekend. Enjoy all get together’s and food especially! I’m sure Ms. Abba is looking down and smiling, saying Thanks Dad for all the GOOD times. Enjoy & have a Safe holiday.

    Reply

    • Wanda,

      You have a Happy Thanksgiving, too. I know the holidays can be hard, but I also know that are thankful for all that you’ve been blessed with.

      Take care, my friend.

      Love,
      AP

      Reply

  4. Anthony, I love the way you honor not only your family and friends, but your pets too. May your Thanksgiving be warm and cozy and blessed. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • Debra,

      Thank you very much and Happy Thanksgiving!

      Miss ABBA was just like a child to me for almost 12 years (and for the last three years for Ray and Gretel). She is greatly missed, as this will be the first Thanksgiving and Christmas without her. But, she is alive and well in our hearts and our memories.

      As I’ve said before, I will remember the little girl in my blogs through the first anniversary of her trip to “puppy heaven” and then I’ll just remember her in my memories. 🙂

      Happy Holidays, my friend,
      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on November 21, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    I am so thankful that you are my friend, Anthony. And thankful that you are the good man that you are.

    I hope you & your family have a great Thanksgiving holiday. I donated last week to the Hy-Vee fund for Bob V’s dinner at Southpark Mall, loved the photo of him superimposed on the turkey! 🙂 I’d like to think that maybe something you & Ray serve tomorrow at that dinner was made possible by that paper bird. I don’t have a lot, but what I do have is a blessing & there are so many who have so much less. As you said yesterday, every little bit adds up & helps.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      Thank you very much. You’re a very kind person and a very generous lady to many charitable organizations. I appreciate it.

      The fact that you thought enough of others to donate is much more important that the amount.

      I’m truly honored to call you my friend.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

