I’m Thankful Every Day, Not Just on Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving!  I wish you and yours the very best today and every day of the upcoming holiday season.  I’m very thankful for what I’ve been blessed with in life, especially the platypus!  More on that later.  🙂

It’s bright and early and if we were feasting today, our turkey would already be in the oven.  However, my sister works, so we’re doing our family Thanksgiving tomorrow.

Ray will be making the turkey and his amazing cheesy potatoes this year.  My sister, Tammy, is adding a Southern flair to our feast with her spectacular dressing, which is heavy on the sage, and green beans cooked with ham.  I’m making a hot corn dish and Sweet Potato Pecan Cheesecake!

Pecan Pie

This is only my second cheesecake and I hope it turns out better than the Lemon Cheesecake I made this summer. While that one tasted great, I didn’t like the consistency!

Since we’re doing Thanksgiving tomorrow, this afternoon, Ray, Vickie, a friend of ours that works with Ray, and I are volunteering for the community dinner hosted by Mr. Thanksgiving.  It’s expected to serve about 2,500 people.

CLOSURE BEFORE GIVING THANKS

As the year draws to a close, most people reflect on where they’ve been and where they’re heading in the new year.  I’m definitely one of those people.

Last weekend, I wrote my annual Christmas letter and I’ll share it with you Christmas Day.  In it, my past seven years of employment was relegated to three short sentences.  The reason is that I’m moving on and not looking back — after this blog entry.  I have something to vent about and yes, it leads me into why I’m thankful today and every day.  This is my therapy.

Regular readers of my blog already know that I learned on Halloween that my contract would not be renewed.  Yes, I was shocked and disappointed that there was no discussion on the matter.  It was just a done deal!

changes

I would be lying if I said it doesn’t bother me to have that career door slammed in my face.  I know this opens up endless possibilities for me in the future, but maybe not in television.  The thing that disappointed me the most, at the time, was the tacky way it was handled without me being given a chance to say goodbye to those that allowed me into their homes for the past seven years and to finish working out the last month of my contract.

Luckily, for me, I have my blog and Facebook to correspond with the people who matter the most.

It’s been very interesting having to sit back and let people who know little or nothing about what transpired with my employment situation make comments publicly, to which I could not respond.  (I was banned from commenting on the station’s Facebook page and that’s fine.)

What angered me, in the aftermath, was having a woman make public comments on the WQAD Facebook page and then send private correspondences to a friend of mine informing her of what really happened.  I know this woman was upset that people started attacking othes in the weather department because of what transpired.  I did ask several times for people not to personally attack those still working at the station.  Some of them I’m friends with now and some I didn’t care for then or now!

The reason I’m bringing up this woman’s comments (and I’m being a gentleman by not calling her the more appropriate word) is that it’s been standing in my way of putting this horror story to rest!  She informed my friend, “I thought you should know there is more to things with Anthony then you are aware of…. Anthony has never made it a secret that he has been unhappy for years. I have numerous Christmas letters with his notes of discontent. He has talked for years about getting out.”

I will give her partial credit for that.  In 2007, I wrote “Although I completed my contract with the station, I’m actively looking to leave.  After two years in the Quad Cities, I decided it was time to move on to a bigger TV market.  There are many contributing factors to this decision: no social life, a horrible work schedule, the station was sold, and a series of news director and general manager changes in just two years.  However, I’m being very selective in my search, so it may take some time for me to find out where we’re heading next.”

And, here’s what I wrote in 2008.

2008 Part One

2008 Part Two

After that letter went out at Christmas 2008, three months later Ray and Gretel came into my life and you know the rest of the story.

In 2009, I wrote, ” Work is going great.  In July, I was moved to the morning show and I love it.”  Needless to say, if she had gotten that letter or the ones in 2010 and 2011, she would have noticed that I found the missing part of the puzzle  — a fulfilling home life that make the professional life more enjoyable.  But, then again, that doesn’t make for a juicy story!

I’ll give her credit for remembering that or for whatever reason she was saving the letters, but here’s where I contemplated long and hard about using her name publicly since she’s already been talking publicly about my dismissal.

In the correspondence, she told my friend, “He really shouldn’t have told them he was going to leave over and over again. They gave him his wish….. We hope nothing but good things come Anthony’s way as I’m sure they will.”

The bottom line is that I wish she wasn’t acting like a rat under the table talking about me.  On November 1st, when I blogged about what happened, it was public.  So were many of her comments.  She could have addressed that with me instead of talking behind my back.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I don’t want friends to attack people in my defense.  I’ve always joked to Ray and Tammy to never fight my battles publicly because I’m capable of doing it myself and I don’t want to be a weak man who has to have someone else do it for him.

By expressing this, I have the weight lifted off my chest that has been bothering me all of November.  This topic is now behind me unless she goes all Crazytown on me and then the gloves will be off.  Otherwise, I’m looking to 2013 and new beginnings.

NOW, TO GIVE “THANKS”

Family Arnold's Park

As I mentioned while venting earlier in this blog, my life in the Quad Cities changed in late February 2009.  I’m so blessed to have a loving husband and daughter and to have my sister living just across town from me.  Ray and Gretel have brought me so much love and happiness over the past four years.  The two of them made the last three years of Miss ABBA’s life even more incredible.

For Thanksgiving, I didn’t get two golden retrievers.  That is a battle that Miss Gretel and I are losing.  Ray is opposed to it right now. 🙂  (And, to be honest and keep this a secret, I am, too.  The time isn’t right!)

However, I did get a platypus!

IMG_0765

That is Priscilla, or “Prissy” for short.  Gretel made it in her art class recently.  When she saw the picture of it on the fish pond, she was horrified thinking it could have fallen into the water.  Does she think I’m clumsy???  After the holidays, I told her that “Prissy” can sit on the fireplace mantle.

I’m very thankful not just this Thanksgiving, but everyday, to have a beautiful daughter to make things in school that I’ll cherish forever.  Who cares that she still calls me “Anthony” most of the time.  It’s only Dad #2 when she wants something or on Father’s Day! 🙂

WEDDING GIFTS

As you know, Ray and I got married on September 30, 2011 and we had our beautiful reception the following day.  I don’t think we’ll ever run out of wine and liquor since that’s what we asked for in lieu of other gifts.  But, we did get a gift card from Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse in downtown Moline and more than a year later, we finally had lunch there yesterday!

IMG_0772IMG_0775 IMG_0776

 

And, for dessert, we had banana cheesecake!

IMG_0778

Thanks Chris and Lindsay!

I have so much to be grateful for this Thanksgiving and holiday season–  including not having to juggle work, family life, and the holidays!

And, I’ll leave you with a smile and maybe even a laugh on this Thanksgiving!

FB Turkey

And, here’s Reba channeling Lucille Ball in Reba’s 1994 television special!

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by AUDREY on November 22, 2012 at 9:48 am

    You are so blessed and do forget the past. You are a very good person. Love hearing about the things in your life ,don’t move far away. Please do enjoy your family this Holiday season. Love, a big fan fo yours Audrey

    Reply

  2. Audrey,

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

    I had to get that off my chest and yes, it is now relegated to the the past! I will be staying in the Quad Cities for, at least, seven more years.

    I appreciate the kind words and hopefully, I’ll be back in television again soon. 🙂

    AP

    Reply

  3. Posted by Margie on November 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Anthony,

    You are truly a very special person. Moving on to the future is so hard. Especially when cruel people do what they can to hurt you. I am glad that you got that off your chest, it was time. Move on, and be excited what the future holds for you. I am sorry for what has happened to you in so many ways, with that dreadful woman, and with your job. That was there loss, you are so much better than that, and there will be a time when they will regret it. I hope you get your dream job back very soon, I miss seeing you on the air. I love the platypus, I love when my kids make things and bring them home also, it is so special. Treasure them times, as well as I know that you do. We just put our christmas tree up today, and we put all the ornaments my two kids have made since Pre-k days. So special. Tell Gretel she did a great job on that.
    Always look to the future, and let what is in the past stay there. You are such a special person, and don’t let anyone tell you different.
    Enjoy your family, and have a very Happy Thanksgiving my friend.

    Margie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

