Spontaneous “Thanksgiving” Thoughts

Happy Black Friday to you!!  Are you having fun?

In my “Fringe”-inspired parallel universe, it’s still Thanksgiving for us since we’re cooking today.

My biggest contribution to our feast is finished.  My “Sweet Potato Pecan Cheesecake” turned out beautifully.  I can’t wait until noon to sample it.

sweet-potato-pecan-cheesecake

Ray is making the pretty and very dead turkey.

Ray Turkey

With about two hours left to bake, here’s what “Tom Turkey” looks like.

Turkey Baking

And, here is the final product.

Our Turkey 2012

My sister is making the dressing, green beans with ham, and deviled eggs.  Okay, she called them “scrambled deviled eggs” because she dropped them.  I’m not sure I’ll try those. 🙂

WE’RE CHRISTMASING, TOO

Faith_Hill-Joy_to_The_World

While we’re cooking, we’re listening to the angelic voice of Faith Hill and her 2008 Christmas CD, “Joy To The World”.

Santa Ray did some shopping online for Miss Gretel and I bought the movie “Rock of Ages”, season two of “Justified”, and Blake Shelton’s “Cheers, It’s Christmas”, all on sale and for free.  I used my birthday money from my mother-and-father-in-law, Donna and Ray.

WHAT, IT’S SNOWING????

Speaking of the in-laws, we’re heading to Fort Dodge later today until Sunday for Thanksgiving.

While it’s very breezy in the Quad Cities with variable clouds, light snow is falling in Mason City, Iowa, and it’s only 18° at mid-morning.  Closer to Fort Dodge, there are some snow flurries.  “Tis the season!

My friends, have a great Thanksgiving weekend.  Worry with the weight gain Monday.  I’m not counting calories this weekend.

Love,

Anthony

Leave a Reply

