They Said What??? Newt Gingrich, Adam Levine, & Mike Tyson

FORMER REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE NEWT GINGRICH

(about his party’s chances if Secretary of State Hillary Clinton ran for president in 2016):  “The Republican party is incapable of competing at that level.  First of all, she’s very formidable as a person.  She’s a very competent person. She’s married to the most popular Democrat in the country; they both think [it] would be good for her to be president. It makes it virtually impossible to stop her for the nomination.”

TALK SHOW HOST WENDY WILLIAMS

“I am a Beyonce fan. I’m gonna watch her upcoming documentary, because fortunately one of the TVs in our kitchen has closed captioning, so I’ll be able to understand what she says.  You know Beyonce can’t talk. She sounds like she has a fifth grade education.”

ARIZONA’S CLUELESS GOVERNOR JAN BREWER

(responding to a question about global warming and whether it’s man-made):  “Everybody has an opinion on it and I probably don’t think it’s man-made.  I believe, you know, that weather’s elements are controlled by different things.”

MORE BREWER

(she walks away and then walks back to the reporter):  “Where the hell did that come from?”  (Note:  Brewer had an upcoming speaking engagement about energy at the Western Governor’s Association Conference and climate change is on the agenda).

EX-BOXER MIKE TYSON

(about his ex-wife, Robin Givens and Brad Pitt):  “I was doing a divorce but I/we [had sex] every day before I would go to my lawyer’s office to say she’s a pig and stealing. I would go to … [Givens’] house to have sex with her. This particular day, someone beat me to the punch. And I guess Brad got there earlier than I did.”

SCOOTER BRAUN, JUSTIN BIEBER’S MANAGER

(tweeting about Justin getting snubbed in the Grammy nominations): “I just plain DISAGREE.  The kid deserved it. Grammy board u blew it on this one.”

SINGER JACK WHITE

(about Lady Gaga):  “I don’t think she lives it, because it’s all artifice.  It’s all image with no meaning behind it. You can’t sink your teeth into it. It’s a sound bite. It’s very of this age, because that’s what people want.”

MORE JACK WHITE

(responding to “NME” adding “Lady Gaga’s music” into his quote):  “I never said anything about her music, or questioned the authenticity of her songs in any way. I was in a conversation about the drawbacks of image for the sake of image, and that it is popular nowadays to not question an image in front of you, but only to label it as ‘cool’ or ‘weird’ quickly and dispose of it.  I don’t like my comments about Lady Gaga’s presentation being changed into some sort of negative critique of her music. If you’re going to try to cause drama, at least get the quotes right. I think journalists should also be held accountable for what they say. Especially publications like the NME who put whatever words they feel like between two quotation marks and play it off as a quote. ”

APPLE CEO TIM COOK

(who has faced criticism from some wanting him to talk more openly about being gay):  “For years I had the privilege of being anonymous.  There is a great privilege in that if you’re a private person. So it’s a bit different.”

MAROON 5 LEAD SINGER ADAM LEVINE

(to “GQ” magazine): “Seriously, Honey Boo Boo is the decay of Western civilization.  Just because so many people watch the show doesn’t mean it’s good. So many people witness atrocities and can’t take their eyes away from them, but that doesn’t mean they’re good. That show is literally The. Worst. Thing. That’s. Ever. Happened. It’s complete f***ing ignorance and the most despicable way to treat your kids. F**k those people. You can put that in the magazine: F**k those idiots. They’re just the worst. Sorry, I’m so sensitive to that—like, I don’t know, man, it’s upsetting. Just to clarify, I said, ‘F**K THOSE PEOPLE.'”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

