I’m Having More Random December Thoughts

There are times when I find several things that I want to share, but I don’t want to devote an entire blog entry to the topic.  That’s when I do my random blogs, which is like a buffet with a little of this and a little of that.  This is my tenth one this year.  At the end of the year, I’ll make it easy for you to check them out in case you missed them earlier in the year.

CHRISTMAS IS JUST TEN DAYS AWAY

I hope you’re making progress on your shopping and getting those Christmas cookies, cakes, and breads baked.  I did some baking earlier this week and that will be the topic of tomorrow’s blog.  Are you curious now what it is?  All I’ll say is that it might just be fit for a king!  (Hint!  Hint!)

Two of my dear friends, Jim & Sue Williams, dropped by Thursday and brought us some delicious baked goodies and an antique Christmas ornament that belonged to her grandmother!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sue did this last year, too, and treated Miss ABBA to her own homemade puppy cookies.

ABBA Treats From Sue

Sue & Jim, thank you.  It was a pleasure finally meeting you!  The treats were just icing on the cookies! 🙂

CHRISTMAS HUMOR

When you’re on Facebook, you see some really crazy things and some of them are really funny.  Here are some that made me smile or laugh.  And, with Sue’s treats and the cruise coming up, I’ll pretend that this first one is true. 🙂

I WishSanta FacebookMaxine Wise Men

CHEERS TO THE HAPPY COUPLES

Voters in Maine, Maryland, and Washington made marriage equality a reality in the November elections.  Now, their states are the seventh, eighth, and ninth (along with the District of Columbia) in the country to allow same-sex marriage.  Those are the first three states to actually vote marriage equality into law.  The tide is turning!

Jane Pete-e

Pete-e Peterson, 85, and Jane Abbott Lighty, 77, became the first couple in Washington state to pick up marriage licenses December 6, 2012.  They were married three days later (there is a three-day waiting period).  The couple have been together for 35 years after meeting on a blind date back in 1977.

Washington Couple

56-year-old Larry Duncan (left) and 48-year-old Randy Shepherd, who have been together for 11 years, also got married last Sunday in Washington.

Congratulations!  I wish you many more years of  happiness.

Same-sex couples in Maine will be able to get married on December 29th and in Maryland on January 1, 2013.

While marriage equality is not recognized federally, more and more people now oppose the “Defense of Marriage Act” and hopefully that will go the way of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” and be history soon!

WHY CAN’T HUMANS LOVE SO FREELY?

Dogs Love Freely

WHO NEEDS A FLASH MOB WHEN YOU HAVE THIS YOUNG MAN?

IF YOU MISSED THE CHRISTMAS EPISODE OF “THE NEW NORMAL”

David New Normal

I agree with the networks for altering programming around Halloween because of  Hurricane Sandy on the East Coast.  However, I really want NBC to air the Halloween episode of “The New Normal” that was preempted.  I don’t care if it’s in January.  The images I’ve seen look funny.

THIS REALLY TICKS ME OFF

CAMEL

I came across this picture in an October 2011 “Time” magazine.

I admit that I don’t understand or know a lot about some customs around the world.  But, this picture shows Tripoli residents gathering around a camel that will be slaughtered to honor Libyan rebels who died in the struggle against former leader Muammar Gaddafi.  Seriously, that poor creature had to die as a form of celebration?

I know we sacrifice turkeys at Thanksgiving, but we eat them!

Why can’t they just have a service or a wake????

A “WHITE CHRISTMAS” THIS YEAR  SOUNDS GOOD TO ME!

White Red Christmas

YOU THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO TALK WEATHER… OKAY, I WILL

I hope you’re enjoying the rainy weather today.  We’re expecting about .50″ -.75″ of rain.  If you used the 10:1 ratio, if it had been cold enough today for this to be snow, we’d be talking about 5-8″ of snow!  But, that isn’t the case.

As of yesterday, we’ve gone 285 days with no measurable snow in the Quad Cities.  Our last measurable snow (0.9″) was March 4, 2012.  This marks the second longest stretch between measurable snows on record.  The record in the Quad Cities is 290 days and that was back in 1908!

Additionally, the winter of 2012-2013 is now in the Top Ten for the latest first measurable snow of the season.   Right now, we’re in eighth place.  This means that there have only been seven other winters since records have been kept (beginning in the 1870s) that it was later in winter before we saw the first measurable snow.  The record is January 7, 1940.

December 21-27

This is the Climate Prediction Center’s temperature forecast for December 21-27, 2012.  It shows much of the central United States experiencing above average temperatures.  Remember, this is just a forecast and sometimes it changes.

If you’re really wanting snow, there is an interesting storm coming in late Wednesday and Thursday that, depending on the track and intensity, could bring an accumulating snow to the Midwest, including the Quad Cities.  This is the forecast map for 9 a.m. Thursday, 12/20/12, and this would be snow if it happens this way!

THURSDAY 122012 9AM

If this doesn’t pan out, the long term computer models do show the potential for another big snowstorm AFTER Christmas.

COLD WEATHER & OUR FISH POND

Back on November 27th, it dropped to 13° in the Quad Cities and Tuesday morning, we were down to 19° for the low temperature.  So far, it appears the de-icer that we bought for the fish pond appears to be working.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While there was a little ice on the water lettuce, the fountain was still pumping water and the water temperatures was around 47°.  Below the de-icer (the black circular device), you could see the fish close to the bottom of the pond.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I guess they can handle the frosty mornings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“DEXTER” CHRISTMAS HUMOR

Dexter Elf

HUMOR FOR THOSE WITH A DIRTY MIND — CHRISTMAS SHOPPING MADE EASY

Bottom Top

A DIFFERENT “12 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS”

Janice Dickinson’s take on the holiday classics is a must-see for me each holiday season!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Who needs five golden rings when you can have her version???

SANTA BABIES!

And, finally “Twas The Night Before Christmas” needs to be rewritten!  I know there are more obese people in the U.S. than even before, but after seeing this, the whole thing about Santa being “chubby and plump” doesn’t exactly work for me! 🙂

Santa Clauses

Merry Christmas!

Anthony

6 responses to this post.

  1. What a good blog post, loved the kid dancing, Anthony! And I especially disliked the camel sacrifice, what’s with those middle eastern societies..I’ll never get it. I need to share the video of the kid dancing around, I loved it.
    I’m trying to get in the Christmas spirit here..we are heading to Northern CA to spend Christmas with the babies, so no decorating here..it’s been fairly warm up until the last few day, we actually had some nice cool rain for a change. I haven’t wrapped any gifts yet, nor have I baked anything, yet..I think if I play that video over and over I will be dancing soon!
    Have a wonderful cruise and vacation, Anthony..We are heading to WA state after Christmas to see my cousins.
    Barb

    Reply

    • Barbara,

      I love having and posting random thoughts. The kid dancing is just too adorable. Please share it.

      When I was reading that “Time” blurb with the picture, I was appalled at the brutality!

      Have a super Christmas season traveling and with the family.

      Love,
      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kelly Rushing on December 15, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Love the dancing kid…i posted that if all men acted this way we would have no more war! the camel thing was too hard to look at. Just the picture of the camel with its mouth open in horror was too much. I wish we lived in a different world with no pain or horror, that everything and everone was just allowed to live and be who and what they are. Wishing you and yours peace and love this holiday season and all year through.

    Reply

    • Kelly,

      That kid dancing is just too funny and cute.

      I’m glad that “Time” didn’t post the actual ritual, but just knowing what was going to happen was horrible enough!

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

      AP

      Reply

  3. […] I’m Having More Random December Thoughts […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

