I Have Something In Common With The Future King

This year, I made two cheesecakes.  The first one was lemon.  While it tasted great, the texture was too chewy (the recipe called for too much pudding mix and not enough cream cheese).  My second cheesecake, sweet potato pecan, was much better.  However, I didn’t like the crust.  I hope my third cheesecake (maybe red velvet) will be perfect.

Now that Christmas is near, I started thinking about baking and fruitcake came to mind.  I think I’m one of the very few people who actually loves fruitcake.

funny_fruitcake

I guess that’s not true, because if no one liked it, why would stores have so many to sell at the holidays?

Obviously, I may have good taste.  Sir Paul McCartney orders a fruitcake from cake designer Fiona Cairns each Christmas and, in early 2011, Cairns was tapped to make the royal wedding cake for Prince William and his future bride, Catherine, the Duchess of Cambridge.

Royal Wedding Fruit CakeWedding CakeRoyal Couple

I’ve made fruitcake a few times over the years.  This past Wednesday, I decided I would make it this year since I read the article about the royal wedding cake.

However, this time,  instead of just following a recipe from a cookbook or online, I devised my own recipe.

Once I developed my recipe, I decided to make four separate fruitcakes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For my recipe, I used the pre-packaged fruitcake mix and then I added a combination of pecan, walnuts, and almonds.

 

At that point, I soaked each fruitcake mix and nut mixtures with one-quarter cup of four different liquors.  I used Crown Royal Canadian Whiskey (most people use American bourbon), Amaretto, Apricot Brandy, and Sint Maarten Guavaberry Rum (a Christmas party gift a few years ago from Cindy, Bruce, and Barbara!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After letting the mixture marinate in the liquor for more than an hour, I mixed each individual bowl with flour, sugar, eggs, butter, canola oil, cinnamon applesauce, raisins, and vanilla.

I decorated each cake with colored candied pineapple and candied green cherries before baking them.

 

After the fruitcakes came out of the oven, I let them cool before I wrapped them individually.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Several people have suggested that I write a cookbook.  Maybe one day I will attempt to do that.  For now, I’ll post my fruitcake recipe.

ANTHONY’S FRUITCAKE

8 ounces fruitcake mix

1 cup chopped nuts (pecans, walnuts, and almond mixture)

1/2 cup raisins

1 1/2 eggs

1/2 stick melted butter

1/2 cup all-purpose flour  (most recipes call for self-rising flour, but I wanted my cakes more compact and not fluffy.)

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup liquor

Mix fruitcake mix and nuts together and pour in liquor.  Marinate for at least an hour.  Mix together the remaining ingredients with the marinated fruitcake mix/nut/liquor mixture.

Pour into a greased 9″ pie pan.  Bake at 275° for 75 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the fruitcake).

Let cool before you remove the fruitcake from the pan.  (Running a butter knife along the outside of the pan loosens the cake from the pan to prevent it from breaking apart).

BEST.FRUITCAKE.EVER.

Original Deluxe Petites -- Collin Street Bakery

Okay, these may not be the best fruitcake ever, but they are the best that I’ve ever eaten.

Several years ago, my late, dear friend, D’nell (Mom) from Arizona, sent me a box of DeLux Petites, twelve bite-sized fruitcakes from Collin Street Bakery in Corsicana, Texas.  While pricey, $22.40 for a dozen, they were simply mouth-watering.  I know it has something to do with being “smothered with our secret sweet glaze”, as they describe them on the website.

I’ll glaze my fruitcakes with honey before eating them to see if that is the “secret sweet glaze” and if that isn’t it, I’ll have to order from Collin Street Bakery the next time.

THE EASIEST FRUITCAKE RECIPE EVER

If my recipe seems to be too much work, you have two other options if you want fruitcake.  Buy it at the store or online.  Or, follow this humorous recipe that I found online.

Very Easy Fruitcake Recipe

Bon appetit!

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Anthony, I like my mom’s fruitcake, full of nuts and fruit not much cake..she has not made it in years, I can still smell us stirring it up in cleaned out vegetable crispers from the frige..biggest ”bowls’ we could find at the time I was growing up..then she would bake them and wrap them in cheesecloth soaked in brandy..other cheesecakes don’t compare, but yours sound very similar and good..would love the recipes when you finish your cakes!
    hugs,
    Barb

    Reply

  2. Posted by susan meador on December 19, 2012 at 7:18 am

    this is a fantastic n yummy blog!!n i know bruce n cindy from mount carroll….hope they got to see this.fantastic blog n people~~~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

