They Said What??? The Pope, Mike Huckabee, & Matt Damon

POPE BENEDICT XVI

(quoted in his upcoming, “World Day of Peace” celebrated by the Catholic Church on New Year’s Day):  “There is also a need to acknowledge and promote the natural structure of marriage as the union of a man and a woman in the face of attempts to make it juridically equivalent to radically different types of union; such attempts actually harm and help to destabilize marriage, obscuring its specific nature and its indispensable role in society.”

FAILED PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE & FOX NEWS MOUTHPIECE MIKE HUCKABEE

“We ask why there is violence in our schools, but we have systematically removed God from our schools.  Should we be so surprised that schools would become a place of carnage?”

IOWA ACTIVIST ZACH WAHLS

“To be clear, I don’t blame responsible gun owners for this at all.  We need stricter and more deliberate background checks, more affordable and accessible mental health programs and, as a society, to ask serious questions about our fascination with violence generally.”

DR. MICHAEL FARRIS, CHANCELLOR AND FOUNDER OF PATRICK HENRY COLLEGE (PURCELLVILLE, VIRGINIA)

“It’s simple, really. Homosexuals can’t exist at Patrick Henry College because the students sign an honor code. [Homosexuals] could not sign our honor code.”

SECRETARY OF STATE HILLARY CLINTON

(who is stepping down in January):  “I just want to see what else is out there. I’ve been doing … this incredibly important and … satisfying work here in Washington, as I say, for 20 years. I want to get out and spend some time looking at what else I can do to contribute.”

U.S. SUPREME COURT JUSTICE ANTONIN SCALIA

“If we cannot have moral feelings against homosexuality, can we have it against murder? Can we have it against other things?”

MORE SCALIA

(on the Constitution):  “It isn’t a living document. It’s dead, dead, dead, dead.”

SINGER ADAM LAMBERT

“The way I look at it is everybody should have the right to get married, if they so choose.  Right now, personally, I’m not really thinking about marriage. When I grew up, I didn’t ever think marriage was even something that would be part of my reality. Now that that’s something new and that’s becoming totally accepted, it’s a different world.”

“GREY’S ANATOMY”, “PRIVATE PRACTICE” AND “SCANDAL” CREATOR SHONDA RHIMES

(responding to the tweet, “why all the gay people on your shows”):  “Because I believe everyone should get to see themselves reflected on TV. EVERYONE. And because I love all my gay and lesbian friends. AND because I think same-sex marriage is the civil rights fight of our era and back when being a person of color was the civil rights fight, people like Norman Lear put black people on TV and helped change some minds. So you know, it’s gotta be paid forward. As long as we are willing to sit by while one person is not free, none of us are free. And FINALLY: because as long as someone feels like it is okay to ask the question “why all the gay people on your shows”, then there is still a HUGE problem that needs to be solved. It’s like asking “Why all the black people on your shows”. (Which is, in fact, why there are also a lot of people of color on my shows . Cause people keep asking. Like it’s unusual. Which means we have a LONG way to go). Okay, done preaching.”

ACTOR MATT DAMON

“I never denied those rumors because I was offended and didn’t want to offend my friends who were gay — as if being gay were some kind of f**king disease…the whole thing was just gross.  But look, there have been great signs of progress — the fact that Anderson Cooper and Ellen DeGeneres can come out so beautifully and powerfully, and it’s a big f**king deal that it turns out nobody gives a shit. If Liberace were alive today, everybody would love his music and nobody would care what he did in his private life.”

MORE FROM DAMON

(about playing Liberace’s lover in the upcoming movie, “Liberace”):  “Normally I’d say no to nudity, but I just did a lot of it playing the long-term partner of Liberace.  I mean, it’s tastefully done. … But this movie’s not going to be for everyone.  I had to come out of the pool, go over to Michael Douglas, straddle him on a chaise lounge and start kissing him.  It’s not like I kiss him just once. We drew it up like a football plan.”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

