Christmas TV Classics — Why I Think “The Little Drummer Boy” Is Out of Tune

Each holiday season, new Christmas albums, songs, and movies appear to entice the viewing and listening public.  Many of them are decent, a few of them will become standards, and some of them are downright awful.

Five years ago, before I joined Facebook and before I started my own personal blog, I first addressed the topic I’m talking about today.

A sure sign that the holiday season is here is when the perennial Christmas favorites from our childhood pop up on television, even though many of us own them on DVD or VHS!

Christmas wouldn’t be the same without “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer” (1964),

Rudolph

“The Little Drummer Boy” (1968),

Little Drummer Boy

“Frosty The Snowman” (1969),

Frosty

and “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” (1970).

Santa Claus Is Coming To Town

Those are the ones that I’ll call the classics and focus on today.  For the record, I’m older than all of the television versions (okay, only six weeks older than the “Rudolph” television show)!

However, the songs have been around much longer than me:  “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” (1934), “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer” (1949), “Frosty The Snowman” (1950), and “The Little Drummer Boy” (recorded in 1955, although it was written in 1941 as “Carol of the Drum”).

Now back to the classics.  I have a theory about which one is the least popular and why.  So, last night, after I had already written this blog, I asked my friends on Facebook to tell me their favorite and least favorite of the four classics that I’m talking about today.

Little Drummer Boy

My theory is that most people would list “The Little Drummer Boy”  as their least favorite.

It is the most religious of the classics and that could have something to do with it being ranked lower.  It’s also sad, although Frosty melting, Rudolph being bullied, and the Burgermeister Meisterburger outlawing all toys are not happy themes either.

However, being a biblical story is not the main reason I predicted it to be people’s least favorite — I suspect the reason is that it’s the only one WITHOUT snow!!!!

Snow puts people in the Christmas and holiday spirit and since “The Little Drummer Boy” take place in the desert, there are no snowflakes, no snow drifts, and no cold winds blowing.

So, when I posed this question to you on Facebook in my unscientific poll, which was the least favorite?

LDB

69% chose “The Little Drummer Boy”!  16% picked “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” as their second least favorite followed by “Frosty The Snowman” at 13% and “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer” at 2%.

I was correct in my prediction of which one would be picked least favorite.  But, is my reasoning correct???

And, which was listed as the favorite?

hermey-rudolph01

52% picked “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer”!  That was followed by 23% for “Frosty The Snowman”, 14% for “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”, and 11% for “The Little Drummer Boy”.

Snow! Snow! Snow!

Now that I gave you the reasons why I think we don’t like “The Little Drummer Boy” as much as the other classics, tell me which one is your favorite and why and why you didn’t like “The Little Drummer Boy” as much, if you were one of the 69%!

I wish you the very best this holiday season, whether it be Christmas, Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t realize you were talking about the videos when you asked that…I have honestly never seen Little Drummer Boy. That being said, that is my favorite SONG out of the four…mostly because when my church, and then the former worship leader later on, did Creative Christmas, that was the song that became sort of an icon. It was performed at the very end, and always had a twist to it. My brother was one of the drummers, and each year the twist got bigger and bigger. One year they drummed/banged on garbage cans; one year they had those little drums with water on them and different colored lights for each one; one year they had a “drum-off” to see who out of two drummers could drum the hardest and best (that one was done w/whole drum sets!!!) It became something the entire church, and community, looked forward to each year. I miss the production being put on because it was fun, exciting, and still had a message. (plus I used to run camera for it! ) But…that is why Little Drummer Boy *the song* is my favorite!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

  2. Melissa,

    Thank you for checking out the blog and for sharing the cute story. As you can tell, I love telling stories and hearing them!

    Here’s to “The Little Drummer Boy” song!

    Merry Christmas!

    AP

    Reply

  3. The Little Drummer Boy was always MY favorite! Even as a child it always seemed to touch me the most. I found Frosty to be annoying and was scared of the Abominable Snowman in Rudolph. The only other one I really liked was “A Charlie Brown Christmas”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

