New Year and Happy Thoughts

Happy New Year!

If you had a great 2012, I hope 2013 is even better for you.  If 2012 was just okay, I hope 2013 is wonderful.  And, if 2012 left a lot to be desired, here’s to a better year ahead.

While I lost Miss ABBA in early 2012 and my career late in the year, I had many things in the past year to be thankful for and I’m ready for new adventures in 2013.

Sydney 2013

Sydney, Australia was one of the first places in the world to ring in the new year in style.  We watched the ball drop with Ryan Seacrest and Jenny McCarthy and Ray made us a nice spread before the East Coast celebration.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m going to try to keep the new year simple.  One of the biggest flaws I have in life is not living for today and always planning ahead.

In 2013, I have no cruises or vacations planned, except for Lady Gaga in Las Vegas in three weeks.  Since I planned this in 2012, it doesn’t count.

Gaga

CAREER THOUGHTS

Professionally, I have nothing to report.  But, then again, I didn’t expect to since I had planned on taking November and December off all along.   So, at this time, I’m not concerned about it.  I know something good will come my way in the next couple of months.

Since I was told on Halloween that my contract would not be renewed, my commitment to WQAD (as a product) diminished to zero.  While I wish my friends there, even the ones I haven’t heard from since I was let go, the very best in 2013, I would be lying if I said I didn’t want the station’s ratings to drop.

While I haven’t watched the station since my dismissal, several of my friends have brought to my attention that they’ve had a couple of women filling in on the weather.  I gather they’re both freelance weathercasters.  When I was let go, I was told it was for financial reasons and the loss of the local Fox newscast to KWQC, the Quad Cities’ most watched and dominant news station.

I took that explanation as the truth, but people are speculating that there is more to the story.  Who knows, they could be right and there might be more to the story.  For now, I’ll take management’s word on my dismissal with a grain of salt because I really don’t want to lose any sleep over it.  However, if they hire a fourth weathercaster then it would be pretty clear that their reason for letting me go was a lie.

So, friends, don’t let it bother you either unless there’s something new to report.

WHAT THEN?

As you know from this blog and my posts on Facebook, I love to write.  It’s not all serious and political with an agenda.  I do it as an avenue to express myself and try to ignite change in America and the world one person at a time.  You don’t always have to agree with me.  When you don’t, let me know — politely.  I’ll continue writing my blog in 2013.  Actually, the one-year anniversary is coming up next Monday!

Back in the mid-1990s, I began writing my autobiography.  However, as my television career took off, I stopped writing it a couple of years later.  I did a good job covering a portion of four decades.  So, why would I start writing a story of my life?  While I never bought into that whole “celebrity” thing while working as a news and weather person, I do think that everyone’s life is worthy of being remembered.  I started it for me and for my closest friends and family members.  It’s a testament of my life and what events, large or small, shaped me into the man I am today.  Some of them are common knowledge and some are private.

I need to start writing it again.  Since I stopped in 1997, so many amazing things have happened in my life that I have to talk about — Miss ABBA, Ray, and Gretel.

Also, in college, I wrote a one-hour “screenplay”, with me in mind in the lead role since I had acted on stage in several theatrical productions at Murray State University.  The biggest play I did was a three-night performance of “The Curious Savage” by John Patrick.  I played Jeffrey, a young military pilot shot down in the war and is traumatized and thinks he has a scar on his face, which he constantly hides from others.  Oh, he’s a patient at the Cloisters, a sanatorium.  (It was dramatic, but not as crazy as “American Horror Story:  Asylum”!)

The Curious Savage

While that  1980s “screenplay” will never see the light of day, since I moved back to Chicago in 2002, I’ve been wanting to write and submit a short story about Lake Michigan called “Ice”.  I think this is the year that needs to be approached again.

I don’t need a fortune cookie to look toward the future.  I’m excited about it.

HEALTHY EATING &  EXERCISE

As you recall, last spring and summer, Ray and I started taking healthy eating and exercise seriously and the results were amazing.  He lost about 30 pounds and I lost 25.  Other than losing the excess weight we had gained since meeting almost four years ago, he wanted to look better for his 30th high school reunion and I wanted to fit into the shirt I bought for my October Madonna birthday concert in Las Vegas.  Seriously? 🙂

Ray Young

316

Well, since those two events, we’ve been very naughty.  We’ve indulged in countless buffets, we eat junk whenever we want, we haven’t been faithful to the treadmill, and we lie to myfitnesspal.com.  So, it should come as no surprise that when we got on the scale this morning, we’ve both gained back 20 pounds.  In all honestly, it was fun to lose it and it was fun eating and gaining most of it back.  It also gives us the motivation to get back on track.  After all, Gaga is just weeks away!

After our New Year’s feast today (Ray and Tammy are cooking while Gretel and I go see “Rise of The Guardians” with a large popcorn), we’ll be shedding the weight in the weeks to come.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FOR YOU

My friends, I wish you the very best in 2013.  I know that several of us have faced harsh financial setbacks and have lost loved ones (including pets — I consider them people, too) in the past year.

I’m not being mean when I say this, but it’s part of life and I want to quote the song and message that got me through the dark days after my mother’s death in November 1990 and Miss ABBA’s passing last February, “For My Broken Heart” by Reba McEntire:

“Last night I prayed the Lord my soul to keep/Then I cried myself to sleep/So sure life wouldn’t go on without you/But oh this sun is blinding me/As it wakes me from the dark/I guess the world didn’t stop/For my broken heart.”

My friends and loved ones, let’s try to smile more in 2013, let’s reach out to each other more, and let’s focus on the good and not let the bad dominate our lives.

“May hope and faith conquer fear and hate” in this new year and in the years to come.

Anthony

P.S.  It might be working.  I haven’t said a cuss word or kidded or told a fib in almost 10 hours.  Granted, I was asleep much of that time.  But, it’s a start….

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda Shelton on January 1, 2013 at 9:32 am

    i am so with you lets make 2013 with more smiles…I like your positive thinking I wish I could be more like you..I know when one door closes another opens and i believe a better door will open for you..2012 was a not so good year for me.I am so
    looking for 2013 to be a better year I am ready for some new doors opening for me …

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jaci on January 1, 2013 at 9:49 am

    Hi Anthony,

    I really enjoy your blog, and thanks for sharing with us. I hope the new yer brings you and your family many blessings. I love your line a bout being good to each other and reaching out more. 🙂

    Jaci

    Reply

    • Jaci,

      Thank you very much for checking out the blog and commenting. I wish you the very best in 2013, too.

      We can start it together today by smiling at the first person we see. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  3. Shades of the past-I played Miss Wilhemina, the nurse in The Curious Savage in our junior class play! I meant to go see it in August 2012 when it was presented by Richmond Hills players but that didn’t happen.
    Happy New Year!!

    Reply

  4. I hope you do choose to pick up where you left off and finish your autobiography. I would enjoy reading your story and sharing in all your happiness and sorrows as you go through it. I know something much better will come to you and your family in 2013 and will be looking forward to your blog as you share your experiences with us. Way To Go Anthony!!!

    Reply

    • Pauline,

      I wish you the very best in the new year. I know it’s been tough for you.

      Thank you for the kind words.

      AP

      Reply

      • I know this year will be better for me for 4 reasons;
        (1) My oldest daughter Debbie who will be 22 will graduate High School (she is a special needs child.
        (2) My 18 year old daughter Paula is going to become a mother to a beautiful baby boy (which makes me a 1st time grandma)
        (3) My 16 year old daughter Megan will become a licensed driver (so look out Quad-Cities), &
        (4) My youngest Daughter Autumn will start High School
        I would have had one more daughter but she is an Angel in Heaven. She was stillborn 10 years ago.

    • Pauline,

      Those are some great reasons to be happy in 2013. I wish you the very best.

      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Margie on January 1, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    Anthony,
    I wish you the very best. I miss seeing you on TV, but atleast we get you on here. I love your blogs, every single one of them. You are such a special person, even though I don’t know you personally, I feel that I know you. As usual, thank you for sharing with all of us your life, and your loves. I hope you finish your autobiography, I would love to read it someday. I also hope you consider maybe writing a cookbook along with photos! I have said it many times to you, do it for Dear Sweet Miss Abba’s memory. Donate everything to a shelter. I would be the first in line for one. I know there is something out there for you, that is going to be so much better for you. I wish you the best my friend. Heres to a great 2013! I hope you have a great time going to see Lady Gaga. With the diet deal, I am starting hard again, I have had a few setbacks along with everyone else. I hope we all can jump start again, and stop lying to myfitnesspal….lol

    Happy New Year
    Margie

    Reply

    • Margie,

      Happy New Year!

      We definitely have setbacks in healthy eating and dieting. But, that is to be expected. I wish you much success in 2013 in life.

      Thank you for always supporting me and being behind me.

      Your friend,
      AP

      Reply

  6. Anthony I had watched you for many years while you was at Channel 8. I’ve watched you on mornings, evenings, weekends. I miss you not being there and yeah i don’t to them much anymore. Everything has a purpose and things happen for one also. Believe I’ve been going thru things to. But, i have a strong feeling. This year going to be great one for us too. Just another way to move forward. For all of us.

    Reply

    • Susan,

      I know you are right. 2013 is going to be great for both of us. And, starting the year off with turkey is a great way to start it! 🙂

      Thank you for the kind comments.

      Happy New Year!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

