Random Friday Thoughts — January 11

Happy Friday to you.  I hope you have a great weekend planned.

The biggest project we’re working on this weekend is taking down the two live and two artificial trees and putting Christmas away until Thanksgiving.

HEALTHY APPROACH TO MOVIE POPCORN

Ray and I are going to the movies tomorrow for a double feature to see the Oscar-nominated “Zero Dark Thirty” and “Les Miserables”.

zero-dark-thirty

If you’re health conscious, you know how bad movie popcorn can be.  So, here’s our plan to stay on track with our weight loss before Las Vegas and the Lady Gaga concert in two weeks.  We’ll get our large popcorn and large diet sodas when go in see “Zero Dark Thirty”.  In the 40-minute “intermission” before “Les Miserables”, we’ll get our free refills on both.

les mis

Not only will the two bags of popcorn count as lunch tomorrow, but by not going to movies tonight to see one of the them and get refreshments and then go tomorrow to see the other movie and getting more popcorn, we’ll only do it once.  It saves calories and it saves even more money!

By the way, I’ll let you know what I think of each movie Sunday.  But, if you can’t wait, here is a very humorous review I found of “Les Mis”.

Les Mis Review

SHORT THOUGHTS ON THE OSCAR NOMINATIONS

I was surprised that Ben Affleck (“Argo”) and Tom Hooper (“Les Miserables”) did not get Best Director nods.  I was very happy to see the love for “Beasts of the Southern Wild” and especially, the Best Actress nomination for Quvenzhané Wallis, the youngest nominee ever in that category.  By the way, Emmanuelle Riva of “Amour” became the oldest nominee in that category, too.

I was hoping that Richard Gere would be nominated for his first Oscar for “Arbitrage” and I was also surprised that “The Pirates! Band of Misfits” beat out “Rise of The Guardians” for a Best Animated Feature nomination.

Hushpuppy, you da man!

Beasts

THOUGHT PROVOKING

LincolnDear Abby

NEW SHOW TO CHECK OUT

I’m excited to check out a new show on Fox, Monday, January 21.

The Following

This psychological drama created by Kevin Williamson (the “Scream” franchise) brings actor Kevin Bacon to the small screen as “a FBI agent who finds himself in the middle of a network of serial killers, when a diabolical serial killer uses special technology to create it.”

It also stars James Purefoy (“Rome”) as the bad guy, Dr. Joseph Carroll.  “Entertainment Weekly” wrote this about Carroll, “a former college professor who taught the works of Poe and killed young women in the gothic hero’s honor—until he got caught.”

MARTHA PLIMPTON “RAISES HOPE”

Emmy and Tony award-winning actress Martha Plimpton, who currently stars on the Fox comedy, “Raising Hope” and guest stars on the CBS drama, “The Good Wife” has been a long time supporter of LGBT issues.

Martha Plimpton

My awareness of her support came in the October 2012 issue of “Out” magazine.

Kirk Cameron

She spoke out against former child star Kirk Cameron’s anti-gay remarks last year,  “First of all, this is a person who has primarily made his living in an industry that is full of gay people.  If you’re going to go out there and decide to denigrate these people who were your colleagues for much of your life, you can expect to hear back. And it’s important for us to respond to hateful speech. It’s important for us not to pretend that that’s normal. Everyone has the right to spew garbage; that doesn’t mean it’s not garbage.”

I’ve always said that I will fight the fight toward marriage equality and gay rights, but it will be won by the support of my straight friends and alliances like you and Martha Plimpton.

Plimpton:  “I think there are some interesting parallels going on in the country right now in terms of the backlash and hysterical fear about the advances of the gay rights movement and the extreme efforts to curtail women’s rights. When one group gets their civil rights taken away, it’s not that far down the line for the next group, and the next group. If there is a limitation for an employer to claim their right to contraception — to deny a woman some aspect of her health care because of their religious beliefs — I’m not sure how far a leap it is to deny someone with HIV/AIDS medication.”

Martha, thank you.

ANOTHER THOUGHT FROM THAT “OUT” MAGAZINE

J-O-S-H W-A-L-D, Skateboarder turned actor

Josh Wald

MY LESBIAN SISTERS’ BOOBIES

I’ll never forget the trauma I felt back in the mid-1980s when my butch lesbian friend, Molly, straddled me at a party and made me touch her boobs.  Reluctantly, I did so.  But, I guess I should have been more aggressive and rougher because she replied, “it’s not a f***ing radio dial”.  There is a reason that I’m talking about lesbians and boobies (I fell in love with that word when I heard it on “Nip/Tuck” years ago).

Feel

I just read an article that there is a strong correlation between lesbians and cancer, especially breast cancer.

Dr. Susan Love, a lesbian, tells “The Advocate” that “classic risk factors for breast cancer are more common in lesbians” such as smoking, drinking alcohol, obesity, and infrequent pregnancy.  Those are not exclusive to lesbians, but they are more common with gay or bisexual women.

Additionally, the October 2012 states, “Lesbians are less likely to have health insurance, less likely to get screened for fear of culturally incompetent health care providers, and butch women may have an especially difficult time paying attention to their breasts.”

The bottom line of the article, “If you love her, get her screened.”

FACEBOOK PHOTO ALBUM FLASHBACK

With my Lady Gaga concert two weeks away in Las Vegas, I was looking at my Facebook photo albums and I posted this picture from January 10, 2010, at my first Lady Gaga concert in Rosemont, Illinois.  This is Gaga performing “Bad Romance”.

January 10 2010

And, this one of Miss ABBA playing ball from January 11, 2011.

January 11 2011

PEEPS’ FRIDAY ’80S FLASHBACK

“Are you ready boy?  Here I come.  Catch me, I’m falling.”  You couldn’t escape the late-1980s.

The Philadelphia, Pennsylvania dance band Pretty Poison first charted on the Billboard Dance chart reaching #14 with “Nighttime” in 1984.

When their song , “Catch Me (I’m Falling)” was featured in the movie, “Hiding Out”, the song got heavy exposure on MTV and reached #8 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #1 on the Billboard Dance chart in 1987.  “Nighttime” was re-recorded and released as the follow-up and reached #36 on the Hot 100.

Jade Starling, the lead singer, currently lives in New Jersey and is a strong supporter of same-sex marriage and is a gay-rights activist.

Jade Starling

TOO EARLY FOR SPRING?

Before winter set in, we brought some of our fish pond plants inside and they are thriving.  Ray took this picture of the water hibiscus earlier this week.  The plant is now about nine feet tall!   It’s insane.

Hibiscus

Have a great weekend!

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jill Mattan on January 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    I love Kevin Bacon, will have to catch The Following, also the Trailer was great. Also I just loved Dear Abby response to the gay people moving across the street. That one is a classic. Loved reading. Keep up the good works Anthony. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

