They Said What??? Gabrielle Giffords, Lady Gaga, & Sharon Osbourne

FORMER ARIZONA CONGRESSWOMAN GABRIELLE GIFFORDS

“Two years ago, a mentally ill young man shot me in the head, killed six of my constituents, and wounded 12 others. Since that terrible day, America has seen 11 more mass shootings — but no response from Congress to prevent gun violence. After the massacre of 20 children and six of their teachers at Sandy Hook Elementary though, it’s clear: This time must be different.  Americans for Responsible Solutions will encourage elected officials to stand up for solutions to prevent gun violence and protect responsible gun ownership by communicating directly with the constituents that elect them.”

“SOUTH PARK” AND “BOOK OF MORMON” CREATOR MATT STONE

“We’re from Colorado, and look at the way Colorado’s gone politically in the last few elections.  It’s now gay-friendly, weed-friendly, gun-friendly. There’s an element of Colorado that I think is in us.”

“FASHION POLICE” HOST KELLY OSBOURNE

(about Lady Gaga):  “I actually think she’s a good singer but she has the worst fans in the world.”

LADY GAGA

(responding to Kelly):  “I have empathy for you Kelly, but I feel it culturally important to note that you have chosen a less compassionate path.  Your work on E! with the Fashion Police is rooted in criticism, judgment, and rating people’s beauty against one another. ‘Appearance’ is the most used reason for bullying in the world. Your show breeds negativity, and over the years has even become comedic in nature. It glorifies you and Joan Rivers pointing in the camera, laughing, and making jokes about artists and celebrities as if we are zoo animals.”

MORE LADY GAGA

(to Kelly):  “What about your body revolution? It used to make me truly sad when I would hear people talk about your weight when you were younger, as I was bullied too. To see you blossoming into a beautiful slender woman who makes fun of others for a living is astounding. Why not help others? Why not defend others who are bullied for their image and share your story?”

OSBOURNE MATRIARCH SHARON OSBOURNE

(to Lady Gaga):  “I am calling you a bully because you have 32 million followers hanging on your every word and you are criticizing Kelly in your open letter. Are you so desperate that you needed to make this public?

MORE SHARON

“In closing, stop wearing fur, stop looking for publicity, and stop using your fans to belittle not just Kelly but an endless stream of celebrities.”

CHRISTOPHER CICCONE, MADONNA’S BROTHER

“You can’t dress like Gaga, only on Halloween perhaps.  What I would do with Gaga is stream it all down and get rid of all the crap and make her a real person. It’s cool on some level, but when you start out massively way over the top, there is nowhere to go. You get stuck there and you disconnect from the audience. You become this freak on the stage.”

SUPERMODEL NAOMI CAMPBELL

“I think when I thought that I didn’t look too bad is when I was a huge Culture Club fan, and I used to get like hats and stick on with cello tape all the braids so I’d look like Boy George. And that’s when I thought I was okay.”

ANDY FLETCHER OF DEPECHE MODE

(on never being nominated for the lifetime achievement Brit Awards):  “We’d like to be offered, though whether we’d accept it is another thing. Quite a lot of people who previously won it said we should’ve got it. I don’t know why we don’t get considered. But we have a lot of fans here still, so we can’t complain too much.”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

