Jodie Foster “Coming Out” — Why It Is and Isn’t Important

I think the most shocking part of Sunday night’s 70th Golden Globe Awards presentation on NBC was that Ben Affleck beat out Steven Spielberg and Kathryn Bigelow for Director and then “Argo” stunned “Lincoln” and “Zero Dark Thirty” for Best Movie Drama.

Jodie Foster

However, it was the speech that movie icon Jodie Foster gave as she accepted the Cecil B. DeMille Award that has people buzzing.  Many were quick to say that she “came out” as a lesbian.  Some were just confused by her words.

So, what did she say and why does it matter?

“While I’m here being all confessional, I just have the sudden urge to say something I’ve never been able to say in public. A declaration that I’m a little nervous about. Not quite as nervous as my publicist, huh, Jennifer? But uh, you know, I’m just going to put it out there. Loud and proud. I’m going to need your support. I am — single.  Yes, I am.  I’m single!”

That was incredible.  I loved it.  Even before she said that, I said to Ray, “Wouldn’t it be something if she just shocked everyone and finally said, ‘I’m gay’, so the rumor mill would have nothing more to talk about?”

Jodie went on to say, “I already did my coming out about a thousand years ago, back in the stone age. In those very quaint days when a fragile young girl would open up to trusted friends, and family, coworkers and then gradually, proudly, to everyone who knew her. To everyone she actually met. But now, apparently I’m told, that every celebrity is expected to honor the details of their private life with a press conference, a fragrance and a prime time reality show. You guys might be surprised, but I’m not Honey Boo Boo child.

And, she was so heartfelt and honest when she added, “If you had been a public figure since the time you were a toddler, if you had to fight for a life that felt real and honest and normal against all odds, then maybe you too would value privacy above all else.  Privacy!”

I was touched by her speech about her private life, her mother, and Cydney Bernard, her “heroic co-parent, my ex partner in love, but righteous soul sister in life, my confessor… most beloved BFF of 20 years.”

jodie_foster_and_cydney_bernard_photo

Foster:  “Thank you, Cyd. I am so proud of our modern family, our amazing sons, Charlie and Kit who are my reason to breathe and to evolve. … Boys, in case you didn’t know it, this song, like all of this, this song is for you.”

I’ve always been a huge fan of Jodie Foster.  It wasn’t because she was sexy, a woman, a mother, straight, or lesbian.  I love her because she is a phenomenal actress.  Would it change the way I thought of her if she proclaimed, “I’m gay”?  Not one bit!  I can’t wait to see more about her next movie, “Elysium”.  It’s a science fiction film from the director of “District 9”, an Oscar nominee, and it comes out August 9, 2013, and stars Matt Damon.
elysium con

The timing for this blog about Jodie Foster is fitting.  Since my blog is now just over a year old, I’m highlighting some of my favorite blogs that I’ve written on those blog’s anniversary.  And, it was one year ago today that I debated on whether celebrities should be “outed” or live their lives privately.

As I read over that blog, I haven’t changed my opinion.  Yes, celebrities coming out would make it easier for people struggling with being LGBT to have role models.  But, they deserve a certain degree of privacy and the right to make that decision.  However, people who crusade against the LGBT community and are secretly gay should be forced out of the closet.

In last year’s article, I talked about whether pro football player Tim Tebow was gay and yes, it did mention Jodie Foster!

Here is the link and I really hope you check it out to understand more about outing celebrities.  I welcome your thoughts about Jodie Foster at this year’s Golden Globe Awards and about my article from last year.  By the way, in the past year, Anderson Cooper came out as a gay man.

Come Out, Come Out, Wherever You Are!

Link:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/come-out-come-out-wherever-you-are/

And, here is the Jodie Foster Golden Globe speech.

Anthony

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

