Customer (Dis)service

I despise automatic phone trees when you call businesses for customer service.  I know getting a human voice on the line without jumping through hoops, even if it’s from a phone bank in India, is becoming a thing of the past like landlines.

I know that some companies have excellent customer service, but some don’t.  I want to share a few of my recent experiences with you.  I’ll be honest that when I have to call customer service, it’s usually for a mistake or issue, so my patience is not a strong point.

TaxiPass

When we leaving our hotel in New Orleans in December to go to the Port to get on the cruise, the valet at our hotel summoned us a taxi van.  While it was very cramped with the five of us, our luggage, and the driver, we got to the Port safely.

The driver told me it was $35 and I tipped him $7.  He asked if I wanted a receipt and I said, “yes”, and he handed me a copy.

December2012 001

However, when we got back from the cruise, I noticed that $45 had been charged to my account and not $42.  I called TaxiPass and left a message.  When I didn’t hear back, I emailed them to explain what happened.  This time, they called and left a message that explained their policy that they add a “voucher fee”.

I repeated the whole process of calling and then emailing.  Finally, I got another call and message that they add a “voucher fee”.  Again, they didn’t make any effort to make the situation right and just stated that “the driver should have told you.”

By this time, I was ticked.  I was determined to get my money back even if it’s only $3.

In an email dated 1/8/2013, TaxiPass tells me, “All fees are disclosed on your TaxiPass receipt”, which you see above.  And, after I fired back an email about the company’s poor customer service, a representative wrote back, “If you are truly that adamant about being refunded $3, then you can file a dispute by going to disputetaxipass.com and fill out a short dispute form. Due to the Accountants being busy with other matters, you might have to wait at least 30-90 business days before a refund is issues, and that is if the dispute is found valid.”

I did file a dispute.

The representative I spoke with claims that the “voucher fee” is explained when you call to reserve transportation or on their website.  However, we never contacted them since the valet got us the transportation.  I did go to their website and here’s what it states:

TaxiPass

It specifically says “usually”, as if it isn’t set in stone!  I have to say this is the worse customer service that I’ve ever encountered over the phone or by email.

Late Friday afternoon, I got this response, “Drivers generally add stickers to their cabs to alert passengers and the fee is supposed to be printed on your receipt. However, I do not see the fee printed on your receipt which is strange. Given you were not aware of the fee and it is not clearly visible on your receipt, I have refunded the $3.00 fee. Please allow 1-3 business days for this credit to appear on your statement.

I’ll still never use TaxiPass again.

SWISS COLONY

Swiss Colony

You’ve seen the catalogs of this Wisconsin-based company that’s been around for almost one hundred years, especially at Christmas time.

Every year I’m tempted to order just to get the 24 Petits Fours and 36 Truffles free!

Free Goodies

So, on New Year’s Eve, I decided to take advantage of the free offer since it expired that night.  I ordered six eight-ounce spreadable cheeses (Garlic, Lobster Delight, Mild Jalapeno, Smoked Bacon, Spinach Supreme, and Swiss & Ham).

Spreadables

That purchase should have been enough to satisfy the minimum purchase for the free bonus treats.  But, the online system only added $4.95 to my shopping cart, even with six flavors put in the cart.  That baffled me and I couldn’t make it change the total, so I ordered a “Fruity & White Cheddar” package, which consisted of three 7-ounce bars:  one blueberry white cheddar, one cranberry white cheddar, and one white cheddar.

Fruity White Cheddars

With shipping, my total was around $41 so I submitted my order.  I get a confirmation email from Swiss Colony telling me to check the order and if something is wrong, call or email.

SC Bill

I replied to that email explaining that there was a $30 difference.  No response.  I sent another email telling them only to send four of the spreadables, instead of six, and not to send the fruity white cheddar bars since I would have reached the minimum order with only four of the spreadable cheeses.  Again, no response.

When the package arrived, I called customer service and the representative kept telling me what I ordered.  I know what I ordered!  Finally, I got the message across that there was something wrong with their website that night and that if he couldn’t do anything with it, I’d send the unopened box back.  He said they couldn’t take back food, even unopened, which makes sense.

We came to an agreement that he would credit my account $16.85.  While we really didn’t need $54.53 in cheese, the Petit Fours were delicious.  We haven’t tried any of the cheeses or the truffles yet.

Regal_Entertainment_Group_logo

Another example of poor customer service is the Regal Entertainment Group.  This company bought the Great Escape theater in Moline, Illinois.  On New Years Day, Gretel and I went to see “Rise of The Guardians” and the theater was having major issues.  In my seven years here in the Quad Cities, this has never happened.  I blogged about it on January 2, 2013.  You can find it by typing in “Regal” in my blog’s search window.

I sent the company an email to let them know about the experience and, of course, no reply.

Aldi

And, I’ll close my blog on a positive note.

After Christmas, Ray and I stopped by our Moline Aldi and bought some veggies and some holidays items that were on clearance.  Ray found a complete Fudge Brownie kit that was marked down from $4.89 to $1.99.  We got one.  Diet be damned!

As we were putting away the groceries, I looked at the receipt and it rang up the regular price.  I put it aside and went back a few days later and told the cashier.  Since they were out of the kits, by that time, she said she couldn’t do anything about it.

Later that day, while Gretel was at piano practice, we stopped by the Rock Island Aldi to see if they had the kit and to see if it would ring up the correct price.  They were sold out of them, too.  However, the manager, Jessica, listened to our story and gave us the difference from what we paid and what we should have paid.

Thanks Jessica for restoring my faith in customer service!

The bottom line is that I want to pay the amount that I’m supposed to pay and not a penny more. 🙂

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. i am glad you stood up for yourself on these issues

    Reply

  2. Larry,

    Thank you. You know I don’t sit quietly. 🙂

    AP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

