They Said What??? Carrie Underwood, Uncle Poodle, & Anderson Cooper

“GIRLS” GOLDEN GLOBE WINNER LENA DUNHAM

“I am not engaged. I don’t want to get married until all gay people can get married.”

fun. GUITARIST JACK ANTONOFF

(and boyfriend of “Girls” Leah Dunham):  “Being straight and standing up for gay rights is a statement that says “this is everyone’s issue.” We are not all free unless we are all free. Just because I was born into the elite class of straight Americans who have maximum rights does not mean that I won’t fight as if it were me being denied human rights.”

MORE ANTONOFF

“People identify with other people for different reasons, and I personally am really comfortable around lesbians because, in some ways, we view women the same way.  I’ve never really identified with the way a typical alpha-male views women. It’s always an awkward forum for me to hang out with another guy and talk about girls, because I can’t really find a way to fit in.”

UNCLE POODLE” (LEE THOMPSON), HONEY BOO BOO’S UNCLE

(revealing that he is HIV-positive):  “I was adamant about getting my HIV status checked on a regular basis.  I knew it had been my boyfriend who infected me. I later learned he had been HIV positive and was not taking medication and had not bothered to tell me about it. I was advised that I should press charges and, hesitantly, I did. It was the right thing to do.”

ACTOR DAVE FRANCO, BROTHER OF JAMES FRANCO

“I know a huge audience is going to think that I am gay.  I’m just trying to blur the lines, I guess. I’m not consciously trying to do that, but it’s not something I think about. Like with my friends who are gay, it’s not like that’s the first thing I associate with them. They’re just another friend, and they just happen to like guys.”

OUT ACTOR RUPERT EVERETT

“The structure of Hollywood, the whole of Hollywood…I’m also talking about theater. The theater owning community is another fairly right-wing organization. Since Reaganism, it becomes possibly worse for an actor to come out. The mainstream actor has had to become straighter and straighter.”

COUNTRY MUSIC STAR CARRIE UNDERWOOD

“I’m in favor of acceptance.  And I am a Christian person, and I do love the Lord, and I feel no matter who you are, what you believe, how you live your life, it’s not my place to judge.  I can’t imagine how that must feel. I definitely think we should all have the right to love, and love publicly, the people that we want to love.”

CNN ANCHOR ANDERSON COOPER

“Some of my best friends now are girls who allegedly dated me at 13 and 14, and who I didn’t really know we were dating, but they thought we were dating, and I was sort of, you know, hoping to meet their brothers….. Some of my best friends now are girls who allegedly dated me at 13 and 14, and who I didn’t really know we were dating, but they thought we were dating, and I was sort of, you know, hoping to meet their brothers.”

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on January 21, 2013 at 7:19 am

    I didn’t realize Honey Boo Boo had an Uncle Poodle , I was hoping it would be a cool poodle story, sadly it is not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

