Things I Look Forward To In 2013

It’s incredible that we’re already three weeks into the first month of 2013.  Where does the time go?  I remember being a kid and it seemed that the days lasted forever.  Now, I make lists just to get things done.  I’ve been pretty successful at not planning in the new year.  In the past, I would plan things a year in advance and I was always counting down to those things.  I never lived for “today”.

My main goal in the upcoming month is to return to the land of the working.  What?  I’ll figure that out in the weeks to come.

Otherwise, here are some of the things that I’m looking forward to in 2013 in the entertainment world.

2013 MUSIC

All_That_Echoes

Josh Groban’s voice is so incredible and sexy.  His new album, “All That Echoes”, comes out February 5, 2013, and the first single, “Brave” is already a smash.

This is a behind the scenes video of the song.  The real video has not been released yet.

SPRING 2013?

Cher’s latest, her 26th studio album and the first since 2001’s “Living Proof”, is expected to be released in March.  “Woman’s World” is the rumored first single and a tour is in the works this year.

Depeche Mode

Also, in March, the latest album from the English band, Depeche Mode.

Janet Jackson may or may not be working on a new album.  April 2013 is the release date that is circulating on the internet.  You know if it’s on the internet, it has to be true! 🙂

Natalie Maines

On May 7, 2013, Dixie Chicks lead singer, Natalie Maines, will release her solo debut, “Mother”, which is expected to be a rock album.

FALL 2013 or TO BE ANNOUNCED

ARTPOP

The third studio album from Lady Gaga, “ARTPOP” is expected by the fall????

Britney July 2011

And, Britney Spears will be releasing her eighth solo album this fall.  I sure hope it includes her current Top Ten hit, “Scream & Shout” with will.i.am because I don’t plan on buying his album.  Also, it’ll likely be announced soon that Britney will be taking up residence in Las Vegas as a regular performer to the tune of a rumored $100 million or more!

2013 TELEVISION

One new show that I want to see debuted last night and, of course, we were watching a marathon of “The X-Files” and forgot that it was on.  So, I’ll have to catch it online.

“The Following”, the new Kevin Bacon Fox series, looks incredible, creepy, and highly entertaining.  It focuses around serial killer, so it has the potential to be great.  If I start watching it, I’ll make it a regular part of my limited television viewing that includes “Nashville” (ABC) on Wednesday, “Elementary” on Thursday (CBS), and “Malibu Country on Friday (ABC).

There are two new shows that sound interesting.

Bates Motel

“Bates Motel” comes to A&E on March 18, 2013, starring Vera Farmiga as Norma Bates and Freddie Highmore as Norman Bates.  It’s a prequel to Alfred Hitchcock’s 1960 horror thriller, “Psycho”.

A&E has ordered ten, first season episodes.

Hannibal

And, in another “original” idea, NBC has ordered 13 episodes of “Hannibal”, yes that Hannibal.  As in, Hannibal Lecter, starring Mr. Claire Daines, Hugh Dancy.

dexter

I can’t wait until season seven of “Dexter”, the third season of “The Walking Dead”, and the fifth and final season of “Fringe” are released on DVD.

Right now, Ray and I are watching “Six Feet Under” (we’ll start season two soon) and we’re still watching the first season of “The X-Files”.

2013 MOVIES

Oz_-_The_Great_and_Powerful_Poster

On March 8th, Disney’s “Oz  The Great and Powerful” starring James Franco, Mila Kunis, Rachel Weisz, and Michelle Williams arrives in theaters.  It’s a prequel to “The Wizard of Oz”.

In May, “Star Trek Into Darkness” hits theaters and in June, “Man of Steel” blasts onto movie screens.  While I want to see both movies, I’ll likely wait for them to released on DVD.  However, it’d be a disservice not to feature Henry Cavill (Superman) 🙂

*EXCLUSIVE* Henry Cavill returns to Canada to continue Superman Film [NO Canada, NO UK, NO Ireland, NO Germany, NO Austria] superman-man-of-steel-henry-cavill-set-photo-011

On June 21st, I want to see the delayed zombie apocalypse movie, “World War Z”, with Brad Pitt.  Like the last two movies I mentioned, I might wait for this to come to DVD, too.  Interesting that in this trailer, they mention the word “zombies”!

And, finally, we recently watched “The Hunger Games” and I loved it.  On November 22nd, the sequel, “The Hunger Games:  Catching Fire” arrives in theaters just in time for Thanksgiving.

CATCHING FIRE

Those are some of the things that excite me in the entertainment world right now.  Of course, I’ll lose interest in a few and I’ll find others to replace them.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on January 22, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I hope that the plan is to return to TV … we sure miss you 😉
    Of course we wish you the best in whatever you decide to do.

    Reply

    • Cindy,

      Thank you very much for the nice words and the well wishes.

      Television is my first love and it’ll be my first choice. But, I plan to enjoy whatever it is that I end up doing.

      I’ll keep you posted.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

