Whitney Houston’s Mother & Her Conditional Love

It’s hard to believe that it’s almost been a year since the world was shocked by the death of pop songstress Whitney Houston.

Whitney

On February 11, 2012, the 48-year-old singer was found dead in her room at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, one day before the Grammy Awards.  The autopsy showed that she drowned in the bathtub and subsequent toxicology reports attribute that to heart disease due to chronic cocaine use.  That is old news and heaven is now blessed with her angelic voice.

What disturbs me and prompted today’s blog is a revelation that Whitney’s mother, Cissy Houston, makes in her new book, “Remembering Whitney”, that was released yesterday.

Remembering Whitney

In the book, she talks about Whitney singing in the church choir, becoming a superstar, her struggles with fame, her turbulent marriage to singer Bobby Brown, and the drug use that ended her life.

Anyone who was a fan of Whitney knew about all of that.  What some people might not have known about were the gay rumors that dogged the pop star back in the late-1980s.  There was always gossip that Whitney’s relationship with her personal assistant, Robyn Crawford, was more intimate than just working together.

Whitney Robyn

In her book, Whitney’s mother writes, “I knew I didn’t want Robyn around my daughter, and I told [Whitney] that. There wasn’t much I could do though. [Whitney] liked Robyn. She was past the age when I could forbid her from seeing someone. Kids have a mind of their own when they get older. They want to experiment with all kinds of things. And I don’t know if it was more than that.”

Recently, Cissy sat down with Oprah Winfrey.  Oprah read that excerpt and asked Cissy, “Would it have bothered you if your daughter, Whitney, was gay?” and she replied,  “Absolutely.”

Cissy went on to say that she would not have liked it at all.

When I hear that, I try to be objective.  Cissy Houston is 79-years-old and religion and gospel music play an integral role in her life.

However, it really disturbs me that a parent could not or would not accept their son or daughter for who they are.

I’m sure there are some people who know if Whitney and Robyn had more than a professional relationship.  But, who’s to say what would have become of Whitney if she were a lesbian or bisexual.  If she and Robyn had become an open couple, she might not have ever dated and married Bobby Brown and she may not have gone down the road of destruction with drugs.  But, then again, she might have anyways.  That’s all speculation.

I’ve always found it very disheartening, and even more so now that I’m a dad, that there are parents who do not accept and love their children unconditionally if they knew or suspected that he or she were LGBT.  I’m not sure if religion is the reason that Cissy would have found it upsetting if her daughter was gay or if there were other reasons.

All I know is that my God, the one I pray to each night, loved Whitney for what she was, his child — straight, gay, or anything in between.  And, he’s happy to have her with him now.

Anthony

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on January 30, 2013 at 7:47 am

    I have never understand that either , as a parent your love is unconditional and whether they are gay or straight , married or had a relationship with some one that was green or purple it would make no difference to me ……… All I have and ever want for my kids is that they are happy and loved and I want to share that with them.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on January 30, 2013 at 7:48 am

    I don’t buy that religion part of that . God loves everyone ❤

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cinchy on January 30, 2013 at 7:49 am

  4. Posted by Deinda on January 30, 2013 at 9:16 am

    How sad. My daughter has always known that she is loved and accepted regardless of her choice of who she may be attracted to, who she would fall in love with. She also knows that God is all accepting and all loving. ALL INCLUSIVE.

    Reply

    • Deinda,

      You’re a beautiful person and a great mother.

      That is exactly the same message that we’re instilling in Gretel.

      I think both of us are doing a fine job with two beautiful daughters!

      Peace,

      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Renee on January 30, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    As a proud mom of a remarkable gay young man, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. To love somebody with no conditions or circumstances: to love completely

    “What it’s like to be a parent: It’s one of the hardest things you’ll ever do but in exchange it teaches you the meaning of unconditional love.” Acceptance Understanding and appreciation is the greatest gift to give and receive.

    Reply

    • Renee,

      Knowing you personally, I’ve always had the utmost respect of you as a mother and I’m honored to call you a friend! You have raised a very charming son!

      AP

      Reply

  6. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on January 30, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    I know that God doesn’t turn his back on anyone. He promotes love. I haven’t a problem with people loving each other. My problem is people refusing to love one another. What they miss out on is a shame.

    I was disturbed by Cissy Houston’s comments as well in her Today Show interview yesterday.

    Great post, Peeps!

    Reply

    • Doe,

      I didn’t see her on “Today”, but I saw all I needed with Oprah. I, too, was disturbed and that’s why I chose that topic today.

      Take care, my friend, and thank you.

      AP

      Reply

  7. A NEW DAY is dawning, having two teenage grandson’s has made me realize that I might be around when the sun will shine on everyone equally they probably have gay friends and may even know it but it is not part of their culture to distinguish or their friends for that matter it just doesn’t make a difference , friends are friends , so cool 🍀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

