Let’s Talk About A Real Snowstorm!

After record-setting temperatures Tuesday, snow moved into Iowa and Illinois Tuesday night and Wednesday dropping anywhere from a couple of inches in the Quad Cities to around 8.5″ in Independence, Iowa, in Buchanan County, near Waterloo.  For the most part, snowfall amounts across the Mississippi and Illinois Valleys were in the 1-7″ range.

This is a big deal in a winter that has only seen the one decent snow right before Christmas, especially when you factor in the wind and the much colder temperatures.

However, think back two years ago.  Snow started falling on January 31, 2011, and by the time the storm departed February 2, 2011, the Quad Cities tied the record for a single snowstorm with the one from January 11-13, 1979 at 18.4″!

Blizzard 2-2-2011

The bulk of the snow in 2011, 14.8″ fell on February 1st, with 1.7″ the day before that, and 1.9″ the day after the big snow.  If you look at those totals, the 16.7″ that fell on February 1st and 2nd set the record for the most snow in 24 hours in the Quad Cities!

Growing up in Kentucky, this was the most incredible thing I’ve ever seen.  While we saw a few big snows down South, it was nothing like this.  I never saw snows like this in my four years I lived in Chicago.  However, a few of the snows I saw in northeastern Ohio rivaled this.

On the day of the big snow, Ray and I cleared the driveway several times that evening so I’d be able to get to work at 2 a.m. since I was still on the morning show.  When it was time to leave for work, I backed out of the driveway and was only able to move a few feet since the street had not been plowed.  I had to make the decision to risk driving to work and getting stuck or walking 1.8 miles to the station.

Like an idiot, I chose to walk in a blizzard at 2 a.m. in more than 18″ of snow.  So, I called Charlie, my producer, and told him which route I was taking in case I wasn’t there in 30 minutes.  This is me as I was walking to work.  Insane!

February 2 2011 (2)

I made it to work and finished my shift and then I went home and cleared the snow out of the fenced-in back yard since we still had the blind shar-pei, Mr. Panda.  He hated the snow.  But, as you can see, Miss ABBA was having blast in it!

February 2 2011

Days later, Gretel, and I took advantage of the snow by playing snow zombie attack and Ray helped us dig a tunnel, which ABBA loved.

February 5 2011 February 6 2011

After that very snowy winter, last winter we only saw 16.9″ of snow.  That’s about one-half of what we typically see in a winter (31.6″).

Shockingly, the snow Wednesday only pushes our total this winter up to 9.6″ in Moline!

It’s funny that even with the snow drought, people still complain that the little bit of snow we’ve gotten the past two winters is still too much!

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on January 31, 2013 at 7:35 am

    I remember the morning you walked to work in the BLIZZARD !!!
    That was also the storm that buried our mailbox in a huge drift ……. good times!
    Pay no attention to the snow-haters , they should live some where in the south if they don’t like snow !
    Have a good day Peeps !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

