They Said What??? Football Players, Ed Koch, & Prince

SUPER BOWL CHAMPS BALTIMORE RAVENS’ TERRELL SUGGS

“On this team, with so many different personalities, we just accept people for who they are we don’t really care too much about a player’s sexuality.”

SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS CHRIS CULLIVER

“I don’t do the gay guys man.  I don’t do that. No, we don’t got no gay people on the team, they gotta get up out of here if they do.  Can’t be with that sweet stuff.  Nah…can’t be…in the locker room man. Nah.”

FORMER NEW YORK CITY MAYOR ED KOCH

(who died last Friday):  “Whether I am straight or gay or bisexual is nobody’s business but mine.”

MORE KOCH

“I do not want to add to the acceptability of asking every candidate, ‘Are you straight or gay or lesbian?’ and make it a legitimate question, so I don’t submit to that question. I don’t care if people think I’m gay because I don’t answer it. I’m flattered that at 84 people are interested in my sex life — and, it’s quite limited.”

PETE TOWNSHEND OF THE WHO

“The machinery of making music means more people can do it now. The technology has made it easier to make music without being profoundly gifted.  What Lady Gaga has done is created an iconic figure who is someone we can get inside. She’s a story and it’s fascinating to watch – she’s like a space oddity.”

POP ICON PRINCE

(about Madonna and his decision to leave Warner Bros. records):  “She was getting paid, but at the same time we were selling more records and selling out concerts on multiple nights.”

MORE PRINCE

(on Maroon 5’s cover of “Kiss” on their “Overexposed” album):  “I do pay performance royalties on others’ songs I perform live, but I’m not recording these songs and putting them up for sale.  Why do we need to hear another cover of a song someone else did?”

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on February 4, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    I like what Ed Koch said…it’s quite limited. (y)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

