Random Friday Thoughts — February 8

Happy Friday. I hope you had a great week and that you are looking forward to the weekend.

My blog this morning is coming to you from Des Moines, Iowa. Ray is speaking at a conference in Kansas City, Missouri Saturday and since my schedule was open, I took advantage of the road trip. He’s also going to Washington D.C. in April and I really want to go, but I plan on being back to work, in some capacity, by then. Here are my random thoughts for today.

SPORTS TALK

Now that the Super Bowl is over and the more gay-friendly Baltimore Ravens won and Beyonce blew out the lights with her dazzling dancing, smiling, and all around sexiness (oh, she did sing some), I’m ready to start following college basketball again just in time for “March Madness”. I guess if there’s any consolation of not being at the station, I won’t lose $5 in the annual basketball brackets contest!

Real life usually prevents me from keeping up with basketball until just before the conference tournaments. And, as I glanced at the AP and USA Today polls, I was shocked to see that neither Kentucky or my alma mater, Murray State, are in the Top 25 until I saw their records.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Here are some of the things on Facebook I saw recently that made me smile or take a second look. One Direction, it’s good to see that most of you guys are close and get along rather well! And, Justin, I really know very little about you, but it was still funny!

February Zombie HellHow Gay One Direction! Justin Bieber

NEW MUSIC — MAKE IT OR BREAK IT?

Justin Timberlake has scored 11 Top 40 hits and has been featured on 8 more hits since he started his solo career after ‘N Sync. While I love “Sexy Back”, I really don’t care for “Suit & Tie”, his new song with Jay-Z and the first release from his upcoming album, “The 20/20 Experience”.

I also don’t care for the new Destiny’s Child song, “Nuclear” from their January 29th release, “Love Songs”.

My favorite songs out now are still Chris Wallace’s “Remember When”, which strangely enough was released July 10, 2012, and it’s still slowly gaining popularity. Another song that I still love right now is “C’mon” by Ke$ha, which is approaching the Top Ten!

I bought the album, “Our Version of Events” from Scottish singer Emeli Sande this week. She’s already has six hits from the album in the U.K., where it was released in February 2012! Four of those songs have hit the Top Ten. In addition to her own album hits, she’s been featured on five other Top Ten hits in the U.K. and two of those have topped the charts.

Her new release in the United States is “Next To Me”. It’s already in the Top 20 on the AC chart, it’s been released to Top 40 radio this week.

She already being compared to Adele. What’s really bizarre is that her real first name is, you guessed it, Adele!

TELEVISION THAT I’M STILL LOVING

I’m still waiting for season seven of “Dexter”, the third season of “The Walking Dead” (which returns to AMC this weekend) and the second season of “American Horror Story” to arrive on DVD this summer or fall.

In the meantime, I absolutely love “Elementary” on CBS with the beautiful and sexy Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu. It’s the story of Sherlock Holmes and JANE Watson story set in New York City instead of London.

jonny_lee_miller

“The Following” on Fox is incredibly addictive and gruesomely creepy awesome.

FollowingPoster

It stars Kevin Bacon as a former FBI agent that captured serial killer Dr. Joe Carroll, a college professor and writer that is obsessed with the writings of Edgar Allen Poe, played by James Purefoy. Carroll escaped from prison in the premiere, but was captured. However, he now has a Charles Manson-like “following”, or cult, that are now carrying on his sadistic brutality.

If you haven’t started “following”, I mean, watching the show, you’ve only missed three episodes and they are available on the Fox website and itunes.

I’m still loving “The New Normal”. Although it won the People’s Choice Award (the real one, not my award) for “Favorite New TV Comedy”, I’m afraid the show may get cancelled since last week’s episode was only watched by 3.1 million people!

“Nashville” on ABC is still on my viewing list on Wednesday night and I’m still barely hanging on to “Malibu Country” on ABC, which stars my idol, Reba. Sorry, Red!

“PEEPS’ ’80S FRIDAY FLASHBACK”

The English trio, The Police, was one of the biggest hit makers in the 1980s. They scored their first hit, “Roxanne”, which peaked at #32, in 1978.

But, in the 1980s, they scored eight more Top 40 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 with songs from their four Top Ten albums, “Zenyatta Mondatta (1980, double platinum), “Ghost In The Machine” (1981, triple platinum), and their career album, “Synchronicity” (1983, 8 times platinum). In 1986, their greatest hits album “Every Breath You Take: The Singles” reached #7 and went 5 times platinum. Remember, platinum means one million units shipped to stores!

The band’s first Top Ten hit was “Don’t Stand So Close To Me” from 1980. That and their next song, “De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da” both peaked at #10. With “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic”, they moved closer to #1, reached #3.

In 1983, they topped the charts with “Every Breath You Take”, which spent eight weeks at #1.

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

Two years ago, 2/11/2011, we were eating pizza and playing games at Incredible Pizza in Davenport, Iowa. RIP! I guess we were “Wanted”, too, with a reward offering of one million dollars! We must have been bad!

February 10 2011

Three years ago, we were preparing for Valentine’s Day. I made steak and lobster and Miss ABBA was peaking around the corner to make sure I didn’t forget her and if I dropped something. she wanted to be there to pick it up. I also made cherry cookies with melon frosting and melon cookies with cherry frosting to keep it simple. πŸ™‚

February 14 2010February 13 2010

AND, I CAN’T STOP WATCHING THIS VIDEO!

She’s Hailey Rowe and he is Blake Peyrot!

Have a great weekend.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

