Love Every Day, Not Just on Valentine’s Day

If you’re single, there could be a reason that you’re spending this Valentine’s Day alone.  You could be going about it the wrong way.

Kangaroo

Folklore and science is used for more than forecasting weather!  Both even suggest ways to find a man or woman:  “Australian aborigines prepare a love potion from the testicles of kangaroos”, “pick an apple, prick it full of holes, carry it for a while under your left arm, then give it to your lover”, “swallow the heart of a wild duck”, or “hard boil an egg, cut it in half, discard the yolk, and fill the egg halves with salt. Sit on something you’ve never sat on before, eat the egg, and walk to bed backwards. You will dream of your future mate.”  Those are just a few suggestions.

Um, no thanks!  No wonder, before I met Ray almost four years ago, I was single for a long time.

Valentine’s Day is not a big deal to me.  It wasn’t when I was single and it isn’t now.  A card is enough for me.  Roses or flowers aren’t required and neither is a box of chocolates.  However, if Ray or Gretel buys a big heart-shaped box Friday at half price, I’m sure I’ll eat my share and then jump on the treadmill.

Fall 1964

When Valentine’s Day comes around, I think of my parents.  It was on February 14, 1987, that my father died of brain cancer.  He was 55.  While he had surgery two summers earlier, he took a turn toward the worse there at the end.  While it wouldn’t have been the end of the world, I was so glad it happened on Valentine’s Day and not the next day, my mother’s birthday.

He was not the romantic type, so Valentine’s Day didn’t hold any special meaning for my mother other than getting a horribly drawn card from me or my sister as kids or some awful poem that I remembering writing.  I’m sure it’s still in a box somewhere.

But, I guess whether he passed on Valentine’s Day or on her birthday, my mother, in 1987, spent her birthday planning his funeral.  Sadly, she didn’t have to always think of his death when her birthday rolled around because she died less than four years later.

While I shared that correlation with Valentine’s Day, it isn’t the reason that I just don’t care whether I celebrate it or not.

I just see Valentine’s Day as another money-making holiday with cards, candies, lavish dinners, and gifts. I think if you love someone, you don’t have to wait for some holiday to show it.  Express it every day because that day could be yours or their last.

I’ll never forget Valentine’s Day 2010.  It was the first one that Miss ABBA and I celebrated as a family with Ray and Gretel.  While I made steak and lobster tails for us, Gretel made us a heart-shaped quesadilla and Miss ABBA was excited to get her part.

ABBA VD 2010  Ray VD 2010 Gretel VD 2010Valentine Treat from Gretel

To my friends, thank you for being you and being my friend.

To my sister and Betty (Mom), I love you.  To Ray and Gretel, I’m blessed to have you in my life today and every day.

And, Miss ABBA, I’ll have a piece of chocolate for you today.  (Yes, I still buy myself a chocolate-filled heart “from you”!)

We don’t have Gretel tonight, so I think Ray and I are going to watch a movie, have a heart-shaped pizza, and a Choco Covered Strawberry blizzard from Dairy Queen.  And, this weekend, with Tammy and Gretel, we’ll celebrate then with a cold, grill out!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Blessings for your Valentine’s Day and for the memories this time of year brings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

