Random Friday Thoughts — February 15

Happy Friday! I hope you had a nice Valentine’s Day.  I might have to be naughty and go to the store and buy some unneeded half-price chocolates for the weekend.  Here’s a shocker — we’re staying home this weekend.  Yes, we’re in the Quad Cities!  Since we’re friends, you know I have many random thoughts and it’s Friday, so I’ll share some of them with you.

I’M HEADING BACK TO WORK!

As I announced last night, I’m heading back to television weather.  I’ll be the morning meteorologist for CBS4 in the Quad Cities.  My first day on the air is Monday, March 4, 2o13.

Thank you very much for the kind words and the vote of confidence over the past four months!  I appreciate it more than you know!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!

Dessie Birthday 1989

This picture is from my mother’s birthday, February 15, 1989.  Today would have marked Dessie’s 70th birthday.  As many of you know from my blogs in the past, my mother died more than 22 years ago, at the age of 47.

SNOW CHANCES ON THE INCREASE

If you read my blog earlier today, I made a few changes to the forecast for late next week.

After a cold start to the weekend, Sunday looks warmer.  We could see some rain and snow Monday and Monday night, but the big story is the chance of a winter storm next Thursday.

While this is still six days out, it could easily be the biggest snow of the season and it’ll need to be closely watched.  The first map is for Thursday, February 21, 2013, at noon and the second map is 6 hours later Thursday at 6 p.m.

The storm appears to be coming in slower, but it still looks like we could be seeing heavy snow somewhere in the Midwest and it could be over the Quad Cities.  Stay tuned…..

Thursday February 21 NoonThursday February 21 6PM

Only 10.7″ of snow has officially fallen this winter in the Quad Cities, which is 13″ below average.  Remember last winter, 2011-2012, when we only had 16.9″of snow!

WRONG TIME FOR FORCED “VACATION”

As I was walking on the treadmill this week, I thought to myself that the timing for my forced vacation, i.e. contract not being renewed, was all wrong.  There is never a good time to lose your job, but I wished that if it were going to happen that it would have been in March when I could work in the yard with spring planting.  Or, that it had happened last November (2011) and I could have spent every hour of every day in Miss ABBA’s last few months.  But,  it didn’t.  🙂

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

Here are a couple of pictures from this week back in 2011.  Speaking of Miss ABBA, she was always so patient with Mr. Panda, the blind shar-pei from Chicago that stayed with us for several months.  And, Mr. Panda tolerated Gretel trying to teach him how to dance!

ABBA Tolerating Panda's Playfulness February 2011Panda February 2011

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Puppy HeavenJesus   Right SizeGrammy Dress Code

By the way, what was that memo about a dress code at the Grannys?  Didn’t it say something like, “Please be sure that buttocks and female breasts are adequately covered. Thong type costumes are problematic. Please avoid exposing bare fleshy under curves of the buttocks and buttock crack.”

Thank goodness Katy Perry didn’t “get” or get the memo.  Oh wait, did I say the grannys?  I meant, the Grammy Awards.

READING ON THE TREADMILL

When I’m walking on the treadmill, I quickly get bored.  That’s why I always have magazines to read.  The day the new “Entertainment Weekly” comes in the mail, I start reading it.  I also dive into “Instinct”, “The Advocate”, and “Out” when they arrive.

However, I’m really far behind on some magazines that I used to subscribe to.  I finished all of the old “Time”.  But, I really need to get caught up on “Details” (October 2009, four issues left), “Rolling Stone” (May 2010, 22 issues left), “Men’s Journal” (April 2010, 8 issues left), and “Boston” (June 2010, 11 issues left).

Why do I have “Boston” and why do I still have all these old issues?  We thought we were going to Boston on vacation  in 2011, so I wanted to be prepared.  And, I keep the old issues because I already paid for them and when I read through them, I find some interesting articles or something that I may have missed.

Rick Owens

For instance, from “Details”, April 2009, American-born, Paris-based designer Rick Owens:  “Working out is modern couture.  No outfit is going to make you look or feel as good as having a fit body.  Buy less clothing and go to the gym instead.”

In the September 2009 “Details”, I learned that “The sweet spot for a washboard stomach is between the ages of 15 and 35.  After that, there’s no need to try so hard (unless you’re contractually obligated to).”  Don’t worry, I gave up on that 30 years ago when I was just at the younger end of that age range!

And, if I hadn’t read that issue and just recycled it, I would have missed this photo of Matt Lauer!

MattLauer

But, then again, if I had just recycled the old magazines, I would have missed this one of Octomom, too!

Octomom

My eyes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PEEPS’ ’80s FRIDAY FLASHBACK

For today’s ’80s flashback, I was going to use Steve Winwood and Chaka Khan’s #1 hit from 1986, “Higher Love” because I love it and yesterday was Valentine’s Day.  However, it’s not available in the U.S. on YouTube for some reason?

English singer Winwood got his music start as a teenager with the band, The Spencer Davis Group, and was also a member of the band, Traffic.  However, he had a very successful solo career in the 1980s, too.  He charted with nine hits on the Billboard Hot 100.  All of his solo hits cracked the Top 20 with six of them making the Top Ten.

By far, his most successful album was 1986’s “Back In The High Life”, which went triple platinum (selling more than three million in the U.S.) and produced three of his Hot 100 hits including the aforementioned “Higher Love”.  He would have one more #1 hit, “Roll With It”, in 1988.

Another one of my all-time favorites from Winwood was his first solo hit in 1980.  “While You See A Chance”  was released in December 1980 and it peaked at #7 in the spring of 1981.

SAYING A PRAYER FOR LADY GAGA

Lady Gaga fans already know this, but Mother Monster was forced to cancel the rest of the “Born This Way Ball” tour due to  “synovitis”, which is severe inflammation of the joints.

The New York Times is reporting that “tests showed that the pop diva had torn a ring of soft elastic tissue, called the labrum, in her right hip that will require surgery to repair.”

Here’s to a speedy recovery Lady Gaga.  My thoughts and prayers are with you.

For Little Monsters that will not see her perform this spring, I hope that enough of the tour was captured last year when it kicked off in April in Seoul, South Korea, and continued through December 2012, in Moscow, Russia, to produce a concert DVD.

The North American leg of the tour started in Vancouver, British Columbia, on January 11, 2013, for 18 shows before the rest of the tour was cancelled.  We saw her in Las Vegas, on January 25, 2013, and she was fantastic.  Here are a couple of short videos from that concert — her entrance and some of “Bad Romance”.

My friends, have a great weekend!

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sally Barrett on February 15, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Congratulations! Back where you belong! You look like Rob Lowe in the picture with your Mom!

    Reply

    • Sally,

      Thank you very much. I’m excited to be back doing what I love.

      The stay-at-home dad thing was getting old. You can only walk on the treadmill so much!

      What a kind compliment. I’ll take a comparison to Rob Lowe any day!

      I hope you and Chuck have a nice weekend.

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Roxie on February 16, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    Anthony –
    Congratulations! I know of numerous people that will now become Channel 4 morning viewers. We are so happy for you and for channel 4 – they are getting a gem.
    What a great representative you will be for them.
    Glad you are getting off the treadmill – those pictures are bad for your eyes 🙂

    Reply

  3. Roxie,

    Thank you very much for the kind words. I’m very excited for the new venture. I hope you come along for the ride.

    As for the reading, as long as I don’t see more Octomom, I’ll be okay.

    Take care, my friend,
    AP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

