And, The Oscar Picks Go To….

Do you prefer to call them the “Oscars” or the “Academy Awards”?  I like using both.

While I’m much better at predicting weather, I always like to make my picks for the award shows.  The People’s Choice Awards, the American Music Awards, the Academy of Country Music Awards, and the Country Music Association Awards are the easiest to predict since they’re mostly based on popularity, or so it seems.  I’m horrible at picking Grammy Award winners.

Tonight is the 85th Annual Academy Awards ceremony at the Dolby Theatre (formerly known as the Kodak Theatre) in Los Angeles, California.

I’ve never watched “Family Guy” or “The Cleveland Show”, but I still want to see “Ted”.  So, I know little about host Seth MacFarlane except that’s he’s supposed to be funny and that’s he a trained pianist and singer.  I ordered his debut album, “Music Is Better Than Words”, because I love his voice.

music is better than words

Back to the Oscars, yesterday, Ray and I sat down and picked our winners independently of each other.

My advantages are (1) I keep up on pop culture and entertainment (2) I read the bible of the entertainment world, “Entertainment Weekly”, and (3) I put more thought into it.  On the other hand, my disadvantages are (1) I keep up on pop culture and entertainment (2) I read the bible of the entertainment world, “Entertainment Weekly”, (3) I put more thought into it, and (4) to some extent, I have been influenced by other people’s thought processes.

Ray’s advantages are (1) that he’s goes by his gut feeling and (2) he has to listen to me quote “Entertainment Weekly”.

So, while I picked “Argo” to win Best Picture, if it does win, it will be a rarity because only three times in the history of the Academy Awards has a movie won for Best Picture if the director wasn’t nominated.  And, Ben Affleck wasn’t nominated for Best Director.  The last movie to win Best Picture without a Best Director nod was 1989’s “Driving Miss Daisy”.

In all honesty, I wasn’t influenced by this, but it’s adorable.

Goldens Pick Oscars

While I really think that “Lincoln” will win Best Picture, I’m going for an “Argo” upset.

And, for Best Actress, I think it’ll come down to Jessica Chastain (“Zero Dark Thirty”) and Jennifer Lawrence (“Silver Linings Playbook”), but I picked Emmanuelle Riva (“Amour).  I would be so thrilled (and shocked) if Quvenzhané Wallis (“Beasts of the Southern Wild”) wins and becomes the youngest Best Actress winner ever.  Riva would become the oldest Best Actress winner if she gets the Oscar.

May the best man (or woman) win in the Oscars and the Oscar picks.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

