Snow Still On Track For Tuesday & Wednesday

EVENING UPDATE:  Monday, February 25, 2013, 7:19 p.m.

Hello everyone!  I survived my first day of training and it was weird not being able to communicate with you via Facebook, my blog, or email.  So, this update to cut back on snow totals Tuesday and Wednesday seems very late.

However, I’m cutting back on the snow totals by, at least, two inches.  Here’s my latest forecast and there might have to be further reductions in my Tuesday morning update.  And, some of the final totals by Wednesday evening may even be on the low-end of these ranges.

Anthony

ORIGINAL POST:  Monday, February 25, 2013, 8:48 a.m.

Happy Monday everyone.  For some of you, it’s back to work after a nice weekend.  For me, it’s back to work after almost four months off!  I start training today at CBS4 and I’ll make my debut one week from today, March 4, 2013, bright and early at 5 a.m.  I hope you check it out.

And, before we start talking about the snow chances Tuesday and Wednesday, guess what Friday is????  No, not my anniversary.  That was last Friday.  Not my birthday since that’s in October.  It’s the beginning of “Meteorological Spring”.

Met Spring

While the “vernal equinox”, otherwise known as “spring”, doesn’t officially begin until March 20, 2013, at 6:02 a.m., what we meteorologists call “meteorological spring”, the three months of March, April, and May, that follow the three coldest months of the year, begins.

So, if you’re over winter and you want a silver lining, you can say spring begins Friday!  But, first, let’s talk snow for Tuesday and Wednesday.

If you’re looking forward to one more storm, you’ll likely have your chance Tuesday and Wednesday.  But, the amount of snow really depends on where you live across the Mississippi and Illinois Valleys.  No worries for snow today as we experience a sun and cloud mix (more clouds by afternoon) with highs in the 34-39° range.

It now appears that the storm will be moving in slower than previously thought.  I mentioned this Sunday evening.  If you live down around Keokuk, Iowa or Macomb, Illinois, you’ll see light snow develop by daybreak Tuesday.

Light snow will become moderate snow by afternoon and Tuesday evening.  By Tuesday night and Wednesday, the heaviest of the snow will move northeast  into the Great Lakes.  However, I’m keeping snow in the forecast through Wednesday because of another disturbance that could bring another light accumulation of snow.

In anticipation of this next storm, the Quad Cities and the Lincoln National Weather Service offices have issued the following watches, warnings, and advisories for much of Tuesday.

With any winter storm, there will be changes in the storm track and snowfall totals up until the storm arrives, but here’s what I’m thinking as of Monday morning (and this really hasn’t changed too much from my thinking Sunday).  And, one thing that some people don’t keep in mind when you see a “range” is that you could receive the low-end and not just the high-end totals.

These totals are forecast from Tuesday morning to Wednesday night.

Since I work today and not just blogging, I won’t be updating this again until this evening.  So, at this point, count on snow Tuesday and Wednesday.

Anthony

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scott on February 25, 2013 at 9:16 am

    Thanks Anthony…I’m suppose to go to Galesburg tomorrow afternoon but I think I should reschedule.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mikey99 on February 25, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Good thing I bought some red moscato for the winter storm. Of course, I may just toast to a major flurry event as well!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jeff on February 25, 2013 at 11:33 am

    I enjoy seeing what you say in your weather forecasts. I hate winter but I love to watch snow fall. When a storm is near I always look to see what you are predicting. and you make it fun. Thanks Anthony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

