Upgraded to a WINTER STORM WARNING

Happy Monday afternoon!  Quickly, I want to thank everyone that got up bright and early this morning to check me on CBS4 and for passing along nice comments!  I appreciate it.

For those that read my blog, all weekend long I was calling for 6″+ of snow as a starting point and I should have stuck to my guns.  It now appears that we’re in for another round of big accumulating snows later tonight and Tuesday.

The “Winter Weather Advisory” that was to go into effect later tonight and for most of Tuesday has been upgraded to a “Winter Storm Warning”.

Those far southern counties that didn’t have some form of watch or advisory are now under a “Winter Weather Advisory”.

Here are NOAA’s GFS forecast maps for 6 a.m. Tuesday (top left), noon Tuesday (top right), and 6 p.m. Tuesday.

What I want you to notice are a couple of things:  the low-pressure system over Kentucky is a very slow mover keeping the snow around our area all day!  And, the darker green colors indicate moderate to heavy, wind-blown snow!

That is why I’m increasing my snow totals.

Forecasting winter storms is exciting because Mother Nature likes to throw you a curve ball from time to time.  This is also why I wish I had stuck to my initial forecast from the weekend of 6″+ because many across the Mississippi and Illinois Valleys will easily see 6″+ of snow before it ends early Tuesday night.

The bottom line is that everyone will see moderate to heavy snow later tonight and Tuesday.

Our Next Snow

Check out my friend and colleague, Andy McCray, on CBS4 this evening at 5, 6, and 10 for the very latest on this winter storm.  And, of course, check me out tomorrow morning beginning at 5 a.m.

Now, I’m off to make dinner, spend time with Ray & Gretel, and watch “The Following” at 8 p.m. and then go to bed to get up at 1 a.m.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hope “The Following” is better this week than last.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mikey99 on March 4, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    I figured we would get 8-10 inches of the white stuff. I’m planning a 1950’s science fiction film festival at my house tomorrow. “Earth Vs. The Flying Saucers” anyone?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

