Beautiful Winter Wonderland

My second day of work is over and I came home and shoveled the snow off our driveway and sidewalk.  Since I devoured several handfuls of peanuts as a snack, I decided I would shovel the driveway of the lady that lives across the street from us, too.  It ‘s only fair since I was in her backyard taking pictures of her snowy ravine.  Yes, we have a ravine in our backyard, but hers is filled with more snow-covered trees.

Since midnight, we’ve officially picked up 4.1″ of snow in the Quad Cities in Moline, Illinois.  And, with this snow, we’re now above average for the winter and well above the dismal snowfall totals from last winter at this time!  (This picture that I took for the snow “graphic” looks like deer antlers!)

Snowfall Update

What’s incredible is that 14.1″ (more than a foot of snow) fell since last Tuesday!!!

Here are a few other totals across eastern Iowa and northwestern Illinois:

6.0″ Independence (IA); 5.5″ Sterling (IL); 5.5″ Muscatine (IA); 5.4″ Fort Madison (IA); 5.0″ Galena (IL); 5.0″ Tipton (IA); 5.0″ Cedar Rapids (IA); 5.0″ Wapello (IA); 5.0″ Washington (IA); 4.8″ Illinois City (IL); 4.6″ Dubuque (IA); 4.5″ Freeport (IL); 4.5″ Iowa City (IA); 4.1″ Davenport (IA); 4.1″ Moline (IL); 4.0″ Burlington (IA); and 3.8″ Disco (IL).  I added the last one because it sounds fun.

Enjoy these winter photos that I took this morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anthony

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa Taylor on March 5, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Your photos are Beautiful!!!! The trees by my workplace are gorgeous!! If I had a decent camera on my phone, I’d take a picture!

    Reply

  2. I love your pictures as well, Anthony they look very similar to what we have here. Was trying to find out what our snowfall total for Muskegon was for the season so far, but all I could find was that our average snowfall amount is 93.7 inches.

    Reply

    • Tony,

      Thank you very much for the photography compliment.

      Here is your climatic data:

      THE MUSKEGON MI CLIMATE SUMMARY FOR MARCH 5 2013…VALID AS OF 0900 AM LOCAL TIME.

      SNOWFALL

      SINCE JUL 1 92.9″ AVERAGE (AT THIS POINT IN THE WINTER) 84.6″ +8.3″ AVERAGE. SNOW (AT THIS POINT LAST WINTER) 55.4″

      SNOW DEPTH currently 8″

      AP

      Reply

    • MUSKEGON, MI (AS OF 9AM TODAY)

      SNOWFALL
      TODAY 0.0
      MONTH TO DATE 0.0

      THIS WINTER 92.9″
      AVERAGE AT THIS POINT IN THE WINTER 84.6″
      LAST YEAR AT THIS TIME 55.4″

      SNOW DEPTH CURRENTLY 8″

      Reply

  3. Looks about like here (a little further north and west of the QCA). These are some great pictures! I keep wishing I had the time to stop on my way to work to take pictures because the light is always just right as I’m passing through, but if I leave earlier, it would be too dark. *sigh* Maybe someday… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

