Random Friday Thoughts — March 8

Happy Friday to you.  The weekend is almost here and I hope you’re looking forward to it.  We’re heading to Fort Dodge, Iowa, for a quick weekend trip to see Ray’s family.  But, I thought I’d share some of my random thoughts with you.  After you check out mine, let me know what’s on your mind today!

DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS

It’s that time of the year that we “spring forward” and lose an hour of sleep.  Normally, I don’t think too much about it.  But, that means that I’ll be losing a sacred hour of sleep.

With my new work schedule, Monday through Friday from 2-10 a.m., that means I get up at 1 a.m.   As you may recall, when I was on the morning show before for two years, I was always sleep deprived.  However, getting only three or four hours a sleep a day didn’t bother me too much.  I hope that’s the case now.  Or, I hope I learn to take a nap in the afternoon.

MY FIRST WEEK ON-AIR AT CBS4

Anthony CBS4

After a week of training with CBS4 chief meteorologist Andy McCray during the week of  February 26th, I made my debut as the morning meteorologist this week and I had a blast.  It’s been fun getting back into the television weather forecasting game and hanging out and getting to know my new morning co-anchor Meredith Dennis.

During that week of training, I also got to hang out with evening news anchors Steve Long and Chloe Morroni (and sports director Jay Kidwell).  What a great group of people!  I’m definitely looking forward to being a part of the CBS4 news team and to working hard to help show the Quad Cities what they’ve been missing by not watching CBS4.

That brings me around to saying a very big thank you to all of my friends, near and far, for the overwhelming support and kindness you’ve given me over the past four months.  I appreciate you traveling down the new road with me and I hope that you wake up with me every weekday morning! 🙂  Again, thank you.  You’re amazing.

Here’s the bio on the website if you haven’t seen it:  http://www.whbf.com/story/21448259/anthony-peoples

WINTER, WHERE IS SPRING?

Snowfall Update

Check out this cheesy little graphic I made at home Tuesday afternoon after our second big snow in as many weeks.  Typically, I wouldn’t refer to a 4-inch-plus snowfall as “big”, but the last two winters in the Quad Cities have been pretty dismal when it comes to snow.

In the winter of winter of 2011-2012, we only saw 16.9″ of snow.  The average seasonal snowfall in the Quad Cities is 31.6″!

Before the snowstorm last week and the snow earlier this week, we had only picked up 10.7″ of snow from December 2012 through February 17, 2013.  And, then “Old Man Winter” found us in the Quad Cities.  The four-day storm (February 26- March 1, 2013) dropped 9.4″ and then we picked up 4.1″ this past Tuesday.  That means that 63% of this snow that we’ve seen this winter fell in just 16 days in late February and early March!!!!!

This is from Tuesday.  Snow is so beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FOOD FOR THOUGHT — WINTER VERSION

HelpPraying For Snow Winter Storm Humor

And, this one is for Ray since he’s the squirrel, oops, bird  feeder at our house.  I love this!

Bird Feeder

HEALTHY EATING 2013 — IT HASN’T STARTED YET!

Ray and I haven’t set a date to get on the ball and shed those winter pounds.  I think when the weather improves and I get to work in the yard, I’ll get motivated.

Now, in a perfect world, i.e. a fantasy world, this is what I’d look like after getting back to healthy eating and working out.  Oh, and if I had a personal trainer, I was 25 years younger, and did nothing else, but work toward that goal!

My Goal

WHAT I LEARNED (ABOUT FITNESS) BY WALKING ON THE TREADMILL

As I’ve stated several times, I’m really far behind on reading some of my magazines.

In regards to my upcoming health regiment, I learned from the June 2011 “Men’s Journal” that drinking alcohol, whether wine, beer, or liquor increases the chances you’ll make bad food choices and it could disrupt your sleep schedule.  Robert Oexman of the Sleep to Live Institute says that while you may fall asleep faster, “as alcohol is metabolized by the liver, it’ll disrupt your sleep in the middle of the night.”

So, if you must drink alcohol, Dr. Bob Arnot suggests that you drink wine.  “Both red and white wine have zero score on the glycemic index, which rates how much a food or beverage raises your blood sugar level.  Elevated levels of blood sugar cause insulin responses that can set off a cycle of hunger and weight gain.”

Franzia

Note to self:  Buy several boxes of Franzia Chillable Red, Fruity Red Sangria, and White Zinfandel!

BACKYARD LANDSCAPING

My friends, I need your input as we head into spring and the planting season.  In the past, we’ve always had a little garden in the backyard with tomatoes for Miss ABBA, along with some peppers.  Last year, without Miss ABBA, I planted some tomatoes in her memories, along with a few pepper plants, and wild flowers all in the same area.

ABBA's Memorial Tomato & Flower Garden September 2012

What should we do this year?  Plant tomatoes, just flowers, or grass in that area and let it become part of the yard again?  Decisions, decisions, decisions!

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

Gretel March 13 2011 March 13 2011 Anthony Super Hero

On March 13, 2011, Gretel and I became superheros with powers that allowed us to flight over the Centennial Bridge!  And, look at the amazing strength a then 9-year-old Gretel had to lift me up!

Who says that all green screen magic comes out of Hollywood?

PEEPS’ ’80S FRIDAY FLASHBACK

Canadian Corey Hart only scored two top ten hits in America.

In 1985, he took “Never Surrender” to number three.  That one will be featured in the future, but it was this first hit, “Sunglasses At Night”, in 1984, that made it up to #7 that captured my attention and provided me with my second entertainment crush as a teenager and young man.  John Schneider (Bo Duke, from “The Dukes of Hazzard”) was the first!

OF COURSE, YOU KNOW THAT ONE, BUT I BETCHA DON’T REMEMBER THIS ONE….

When I first moved back to Chicago in the summer of 2002, I fell in love with the band, Lasgo, while hanging out at Roscoe’s.

Lasgo is a Belgian trance trio with Evi Goffin as lead singer.  While the band scored a Top Ten hit in Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands, Germany, and the United Kingdom with their first release, “Something”, the song became their only Top 40 hit in America on Billboard’s Hot 100, peaking at #35.

They had other huge club hits in the U.S. with “Alone”, “Pray”, and “Surrender” (which topped the Billboard dance charts in 2005).

A FISH TALE???

Back to “Men’s Journal” and what I’ve learned.  This has me more startled and scared than intruiged.

In the July 2011 issue, the magazine says that “tuna often contains the most mercury” because they “are bigger and live longer than most other fish, with more time accumulate toxins”!  It goes on to state that while you shouldn’t give up eating tuna (except bluefin), you should limit the amount you eat.

The article says you shouldn’t “eat sushi tuna more than once a month” and “it’s best not to eat canned tuna more than once a week”!

Fish Toxins

And, finally here’s a shocking statistic the magazine shared:  “25% of tuna sushi tested in 20 Manhattan establishments had illegal mercury levels”.  Remember, this was in the summer of 2011 and it may have changed now!  Thanks, but no thanks.

With all these random thoughts, I could go on and on like Celine Dion.  However, I’ll save some for next week.

Have a fun Friday and a great, rainy weekend!

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scott on March 8, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Anthony…I think that squirrel picture was taken in my back yard.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on March 8, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Anthony- Rule of thumb with the fish is that the Atlantic caught fish have a higher mercury content than Pacific. For salmon, wild Alaskian caught is the only kind I will eat because of the mercury content is almost nothing in the Alaskian wild salmon. Sad what we have done to our resources and our prescious Mother earth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

