They Said What??? Jeb Bush, Cyndi Lauper, & Jane Fonda

ACTRESS JAMIE LEE CURTIS

(commenting on the Oscars skit “We Saw Your Boobs”):  “The ‘boob’ song, as it will be known in perpetuity, may go down as the highest-rated Oscar number in history, but at what cost?  I’m sure public executions would get big ratings too, but is that what the Oscars are truly about? Ratings? When did they turn into a ‘roast’?”

ACTRESS JANE FONDA

(also commenting on the Oscars skit):  “What I really didn’t like was the song and dance number about seeing actresses boobs.  I agree with someone who said, ‘If they want to stoop to that, why not list all the penises we’ve seen?’ Better yet, remember that this is a telecast seen around the world watched by families with their children and to many this is neither appropriate or funny.”

MADONNA

“I wanted to be a Boy Scout, but they wouldn’t let me join. I think that’s f**ked up.  I can build a fire. I know how to pitch a tent. I have a very good sense of direction. I can rescue kittens from trees. Listen, I want to do good for the community. And most importantly, I know how to scout for boys…. I think they should change their stupid rules.”

U.S. HOUSE SPEAKER JOHN BOEHNER

“I believe that marriage is the union of one man and one woman.  It’s what I grew up with, it’s what I believe, it’s what my church teaches me. And I can’t imagine that position would ever change.”

FORMER FLORIDA GOVERNOR JEB BUSH

(stating that President Obama won the 2012 election by “dividing the country”):  “I think the basic part of his campaign was that those that were successful weren’t paying their fair share, even though we have incredibly high taxes for high income Americans.  I think he ran a campaign of them and us. And it was quite effective, that somehow the Republicans don’t care about the large number of people.”

CHARLESTON COUNTY COUNCILWOMAN COLLEEN CONDON

(after a blogger threatened to out her):  “Yes, I’m gay. I don’t think that’s a sex scandal in 2013.”

POP STAR CYNDI LAUPER

(about Donald Trump): “I’m not going to kiss ass with somebody like that.  I felt that what he said about the gay community was disappointing because a lot of gay people work for him. It’s just sad. I thought he could have done better for his country than just go to the lowest common denominator and stir up the crap. It’s our country, it’s not wrestling. If you try and make our president fail, it doesn’t matter who he is, you make our country fail. And if you really are a patriot, if you really give a sh*t about our country, you don’t do stuff like that. First of all, you’re an entertainer, and you make ugly buildings, and you’re famous for it. And you have a reality show with very high ratings. Don’t step into the forum like that. Become educated with facts. Don’t just be a sh*t-stirrer. Our country is in trouble and he keeps wanting to make [Obama] fail. Let’s call a spade a spade. The guy’s a black man and that’s your issue? What kind of idiot are you? Come on.”

Anthony

 

One response to this post.

  1. Way to go, Cyndi Lauper! I always love your “They Said What???” blogs, Anthony!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

