Method(ology) to My March Madness

UPDATE:  Sunday, April 7, 2013

Two weeks of March Madness comes to a climatic finish Monday night as the Louisville Cardinals take on the Michigan Wolverines for the national championship.

And, check out this brackets!

NCAA Finals

For the first time since I’ve been filling out brackets, I picked the final two teams for the championship!!!   And, after seeing how Louisville played in most of the semi-final game against Wichita State and how Michigan struggled in the second half against Syracuse, I’m lucky both teams survived!

If my calculations are correct, I may have won the office pool.  If so, I’ll use the money I won to host a party this summer for my work Peeps.  (If any of them read my blog, they will know first hand!) 🙂

And, I entered this bracket for a local newspaper’s bracket contest and as of Sunday morning, I’m in first place out of more than 500 entries!!!!!!!!!  If Louisville wins Monday night, I might win a big screen television!

Although I’m a die-hard Kentucky Wildcats fan, I’m rooting for Louisville so I can win the contests!

Anthony

ORIGINAL POST:  Sunday, March 24, 2013

Kids are too honest and funny.  Last night, our internet went out around 9 p.m. and was out until this morning (Mediacom, this is becoming too common!).

So, instead of just watching the NCAA Men’s basketball scores update online, I had to turn on the television to watch the end of the Marquette-Butler game.  (Hey Brad Stevens!)

brad-stevens

Sadly, for Butler fans, they lost.  That’s good news for me because I picked Marquette to go to the Final Four and they had to struggle in the first round to come back in the last two minutes to beat Davidson by one point and they were down 1o points to Butler and barely held on to win, 74-72!

Okay, so I’m getting all riled up watching the last few minutes of the game, and Gretel pulls herself away from her Kindle and says, “when did you start liking sports?”  I didn’t want to tell her that I’m a fair-weather basketball fan that turns into a die-hard NCAA basketball fan when March Madness comes around.  It would have taken too long to explain what “fair-weather” and “die-hard” means. 🙂

What I wanted to say is that “yes, I follow some sports.  It’s not all about Madonna, Lady Gaga, Reba,  Britney, and Helen Reddy.  I mean, seriously, have you seen some of those coaches and players!”

Iowa State Coach Fred Hoiberg

Kidding aside, I love basketball.  My only regret in life is not having the self-confidence, as a teenager, that I have now to try out for our small high school basketball team.  I was pretty good in the ‘hood with my jump shot!

NCAA Brackets 2013 001

I entered the basketball pool at work just for fun.  In the past, I’ve never won, but my goal was to beat the sports department.

Since I hadn’t followed basketball all season long (I didn’t know Murray State and Kentucky were doing so poorly), here’s how I made my picks.  The method to my March madness was to look at the last five games of the season for each team and I based my picks on that!!!!!!!!!!!

I have heard that two people at work picked Gonzaga to win it all.  That’s two people out-of-the-way.  However, I had Gonzaga in the Final Four, so I won’t be getting any points from them.  Oh yeah, they lost to Wichita State.  First, the “Shockers” beat Pitt in the first round and then “shocked” the #1 seed Gonzaga.

I was more concerned with Marquette, another Final Four pick for me, struggling in the first two games!  I never thought for a minute that Gonzaga would fall that quickly.

If I had to pick three upsets that I’d love to see happen today, it would be for Temple to stun and eliminate Indiana, North Carolina to knock off Kansas, and for Iowa State to send the Buckeyes packing in that order!

If those things happened and Louisville marches on, life would be sweet! 🙂

I love college basketball!

Anthony

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roxie on March 24, 2013 at 8:59 am

    I love Big Ten basketball and March Madness too!! I was going to enter a pool and was going to use Obama’s picks 🙂 but I didn’t. So glad Gonzaga and Georgetown are out. Would be nice to see someone new win. Following Iowa in the NIT too – lots of basketball to watch. Unfortunately looks like Iowa will play on Wednesday and only broadcast on the radio. Bummer!
    Always look to you for the “real” weather. Thanks Anthony!

    Reply

    • Roxie,

      Iowa is doing rather well in NIT.

      I appreciate the kind comments. I love what I do and when I give the weather, I tell what I think is going to happen, not some fantasy crazy story. 🙂

      Happy Easter!

      AP

      Reply

  2. I would also be VERY happy to see Kansas and the Buckeyes out. I just don’t know if I want it to be an all out route or last minute heart-breaker. Which ever would disappoint their fans more. GO ILLINI!

    Reply

    • Posted by wanda deahl on March 24, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      I love basketball played 4 yrs high school ball . I love this time of year was so wanting cylones to beat ohio st . just have to hope hawkeyes can beat Virginia in nit ! go hawks

      Reply

      • Wanda,

        I’ve been slow to reply and now we know that the Cyclones gave the Buckeyes a run for their money. I hope that Kansas loses tonight and that Ohio State loses Saturday!

        Happy Easter!

        AP

    • Danell,

      We almost got our wish Thursday night of a Buckeyes elimination! I hope that Kansas goes down tonight.

      Say hi to Miss Chloe for me and the other babe!

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cinchy on April 7, 2013 at 7:51 am

    Job well done !!! I don’t work with you but can I come to the party ?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cinchy on April 7, 2013 at 7:52 am

    And I always read your blog !!! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

