They Said What??? Lily Tomlin, Ann Coulter, & Michelle Shocked

“MALIBU COUNTRY” ACTRESS LILY TOMLIN

(clarifying that talk show icon Johnny Carson “didn’t out me or try to out me”):  “He was just being a host and saying conventional stuff. You know: ‘You’re not married. Don’t you want to have children?’ … (These were things) they would ask a female in the early ‘70s.”

DIRECTOR BRETT RATNER

(at the recent GLAAD awards):  “Homophobe. Bigot. Gay-basher. Ignorant frat boy. Fat, Jewish pig.  I was called all of these names when I foolishly used a gay slur in a misguided attempt to be funny during an interview. Do I believe what I was called to be true? Aside from the Jewish and fat part? No, absolutely not. But I learned a valuable lesson: A word can matter, whether it’s said with malice or a joke.”

CONSERVATIVE AUTHOR/COMMENTATOR ANN COULTER

(poking fun at Republican New Jersey Governor Chris Christie):  “Even CPAC had to cut back on its speakers this year about 300 pounds.”

ACTRESS SELENA GOMEZ

(about “Spring Breakers” co-star James Franco):   “He stayed in character the whole time and luckily for me, my character was creeped out by him, becuase I genuinely was at first.  That’s who I knew, until we started doing press and I realized he’s one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met.”

MORE SELENA GOMEZ

(After talk show host David Letterman told her that he made her ex-boyfriend Justin Bieber cry):  “Well then, that makes two of us.”

FOLK SINGER MICHELLE SHOCKED

(to a stunned San Francisco audience last week right before two-thirds of them walked out and the show was shut down):  “God hates fags and you can tweet that I said so.  I live in fear that the world will be destroyed if gays are allowed to marry.”

Leave a Reply

