They Said What??? Willie Nelson, Lily Tomlin, & Rick Perry

“TODAY” SHOW EXECUTIVE PRODUCER DON NASH

(about host Matt Lauer and former co-host Ann Curry’s relationship):  “You can’t fake it for very long that early in the morning.   I think viewers have a sixth sense about all that. If your two anchors don’t like each other off the air, they’re not going to be fooled if they love each other on the air.

MORE DON NASH

“Off air, Curry and Lauer had no relationship and barely spoke.  When she started, Curry had asked Lauer out for lunch to get advice, but Lauer seemed to drag his feet scheduling it and Curry felt he didn’t offer much. … with Curry, who threw off his rhythm and also threatened his dominance of the hard-news stories, he could often look sour.”

“MALIBU COUNTRY” ACTRESS LILY TOMLIN

“It’s stunning, the progress in the last 15 years.  “Time” magazine offered me the cover in ’75 if I would come out.  I was a bit insulted that they thought I’d trade my personal life for the cover of “Time”.  It’s probably just as well. Being such a big TV personality at that time, it probably would have been tsunami-like.”

POP MUSIC ICON & BROADWAY COMPOSER (“KINKY BOOTS”) CYNDI LAUPER

“I can hear myself everywhere — I’m not deaf.  But a lot of people inspired me.  You get from everybody and you give.  It’s a whole cycle.  I love music and I will always listen to and make music.  I heard Cher say she’ll probably still be standing with the cockroaches.  I’m with her.”

ACTOR ADAN CANTO

(who plays Paul, one-third of the Paul-Jacob-Emma love triangle on “The Following”):  “It’s been strange how I’ve become desensitized or light-hearted while conversing about death and violence at work — you know, just talking about the best ways to depict a scene. I’d imagine it must be an awkward scene to eavesdrop on.”

“THE NEW NORMAL” ACTOR JUSTIN BERTHA

“I’ve thought about this a lot, because one if I’m lucky enough to have children, you have to make those choices.  I would absolutely want my child to be part of an organization like the Boy Scouts.  On the other hand, I can’t necessarily condone it if their values don’t promote equality.”

CLEVELAND BROWNS LINEBACKER SCOTT FUJITA

“I don’t ever want to explain to my daughters that some ‘versions’ of love are viewed as ‘less than’ others. I’m not prepared to answer that kind of question.”

TEXAS GOVERNOR AND FORMER REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE RICK PERRY

(regarding Madonna wearing a Boy Scouts uniform and speaking out against its anti-gay policies):  It’s fascinating that someone would make that kind of gratuitous shot at an organization that has probably done as much to promote young men to the type of values that the vast majority of the people in this country aspire to.”

“MAGIC MIKE” STAR & “PEOPLE’S SEXIEST MAN ALIVE” CHANNING TATUM

“I’ve spent time with George Clooney, and he’s the most interesting man on the planet. He can do it all. I guess what I’m saying is I’d have sex with him.”

COUNTRY MUSIC ICON WILLIE NELSON

“[gay people] should be just as miserable as the rest of us,” before noting that he finds the ongoing debate over same-sex marriage “ridiculous…in this day and age.”

MORE WILLIE

“For same-sex couples, taxes are different, benefits are different, survivor benefits are different.  It’s crazy … I never had a problem with any of it. I’ve known straight and gay people all my life. I can’t tell the difference. People are people where I came from.”

FINAL THOUGHT FROM WILLIE 

“I never thought of marriage as something only for men and women. But I’d never marry a guy I didn’t like.”

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on April 1, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    Uhm…sorry Rick Perry. I don’t aspire to be homophobic or discriminatory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

