I Don’t Need a Factory For Cheesecake

As you know, I love movies, music, fun potent potables, buffets, and desserts.

A couple of Christmases ago, I asked Santa for cheesecake pans and I ended up getting five!  Springform pans are the best!

Well, after the Christmas generosity, it still took me about more than a year-and-a-half before I ventured to make my first cheesecake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In July 2012, I made a Lemon Cheesecake when we invited our friends Vickie and Eric, and Tom, Katy, and Lena over for dinner.

Since I had never made a cheesecake before, I didn’t know it should have been a red flag when the recipe called for almost as much instant pudding mix as it did cream cheese.  While the cake was good and tasted very lemony, the texture was not creamy.  It was more chewy!

GRADE:  C

Months later, for Thanksgiving, I decided to make a Sweet Potato-Pecan Cheesecake.

sweet-potato-pecan-cheesecake

This one called for all cream cheese and no pudding mix.  It turned out very nice, but I didn’t like the rubbery crust.  However, I was following the directions.

GRADE:  A-

On Christmas Eve, after getting back home around midnight from our western Caribbean cruise, flying back from New Orleans to St. Louis to Chicago, and driving back from Chicago, I made a Red Velvet Cheesecake before we went to bed.

Red Velvet 2

This one was almost perfect and was amazing.  The only problem was the crust.  The recipe had a typo in it and I didn’t catch it.  It called for so much butter in the crust that I ended adding so many more crushed chocolate cookies and who knows how many more calories just to soak up the butter.

Once I find this recipe, I’ll post it.  It’s worth making.

GRADE:  A

And, just this past weekend, I made my best cheesecake ever for us and for our friends Andy and Michelle, Chloe, Steve, Cassy, and Maddy.

Okay, this cheesecake was the best of the four that I’ve made.

It was a Citrus-Cranberry Cheesecake and the crust (graham crackers, sugar, and butter) turned out perfect.  That will be my new standard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

GRADE:  A+

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on April 2, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    Mine always crack. Why do yours not have cracks on the top of the cake?

    Reply

    • Michelle,

      I’m not sure. I just follow the recipe. I think I’ve heard people put a pan of water in the over or something like that, but I’ve never done that.

      Maybe it’s beginner’s luck for me???

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

