Random Friday Thoughts — April 5

My friends, another Friday is upon us and I’m very pleased to announce that I have nothing planned this weekend and I’m so thrilled about it.

Between work and upcoming events, both public appearances and personal commitments, I have a lot going on for the rest of April and May and I’m already overwhelmed!  But, this is one thing that I really look forward to each week, sharing my random thoughts with you.  What do you think of this blog feature???

FINALLY, IT’S WARMER!!!

Although we’ll have to deal with some scattered showers Saturday, it’s going to be very warm with highs in the Quad Cities around 70°!   This will be the warmest weekend since December 1-2, 2012, four months ago, when we reached 61° and 59°.

With that being said, I think we’re going to grill out Saturday night.  Maybe we’ll be lucky and get to sit outside on the patio.

As many of you know, I love Moscato and flavored vodkas, but here’s something that I think I’m going to have to check out and it would be perfect for the BBQ.  If you’ve already tried it, let me know how it is.

This is what I’ve read about it:  “This is our take on the traditional margarita. Beer drinkers were already mixing Bud Light Lime into margaritas to create ‘beer ritas’; Lime-a-Rita just adds a new level of convenience by providing a beverage with the perfect balance of flavors.”

strawberrita

PERFECT WEATHER COMING UP — FOR DUCKS AND FISH

After a dry day Sunday, a very wet period is expected from Sunday night through next Thursday with rain chances each day.  I wouldn’t be surprised if we get more than 2″ of rain in that time period.  I know our fish pond could use the water since we just went through a 12-day period with no measurable rain or snow.

WG10

SPEAKING OF FLAVORED VODKAS!

Wanda Sykes

STRESSED OVER “MARCH MADNESS”

Every spring, I wager $5 and fill out my brackets for the men’s NCAA basketball tournament, better known as “March Madness”.  In the past, I’ve never been a contender down the stretch!  However, this year, “March Madness” is insane for me.

Final Four Picks

If you’re a basketball fan, you can see that I have Louisville and Michigan in the final with Louisville winning.

If my calculations are correct and both of those teams make it to the finals, then I’ll likely win the “pool” at work and if those two teams make it to the final and Louisville wins, I think I may have won a 50″ LED television from a local newspaper’s bracket contest!   So, what started out as fun and a $5 investment could turn out rather profitable for me.  You know what I’ll be doing Saturday night when the two games are being played!  The finals are Monday night, April 8th, on CBS4, in the Quad Cities.

Go Louisville and Michigan!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Give Peeps a Chance

Hellfire   Palm Tree LightsYoko Ono Tweet

HIS HEROES MAY HAVE ALWAYS BEEN COWBOYS, BUT…

It’s no surprise to my friends that I idolize Reba McEntire, Madonna, Lady Gaga, former President Jimmy Carter, and former U.S. Secretary of State, First Lady, and Senator (and future President?) Hillary Clinton, but I’m now feeling the love for an unlikely ally.

Willie Nelson

When you hear the name Willie Nelson, you probably think country singer, outlaw, hippie, marijuana smoker, troubles with the IRS, and other things.  But, what about LGBT and marriage equality supporter?  Yes and yes!

Willie says, “For same-sex couples, taxes are different, benefits are different, survivor benefits are different.  It’s crazy … I never had a problem with any of it. I’ve known straight and gay people all my life. I can’t tell the difference. People are people where I came from.”

And, the “Red Headed Stranger” goes on to say with his wicked sense of humor, “I never thought of marriage as something only for men and women. But I’d never marry a guy I didn’t like!”   And, with a mix of humor and seriousness, “[gay people] should be just as miserable as the rest of us,” before stating that he finds the public uproar over same-sex marriage “ridiculous…in this day and age.”

Willie Nelson Marriage Equality

Willie recently posted this picture when the Supreme Court of the United States was debating California’s ban on same-sex marriage, “Proposition 8”, and the “Defense of Marriage Act”, which states that marriage is between a man and a woman.

And, here’s something else you may not know about Willie.  He’s a strong advocate for better treatment of horses and he supported the passage of the “American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act”.  He told “Men’s Journal” magazine in July 2011, “I’m an outside person.  I like to camp out and ride the horses.  I have 71 of them there [on his Luck, Texas ranch] — beautiful paint horses — that I rescued from places that were selling them to be slaughtered.”

Willie Nelson Horses

Willie Nelson turns 80-years-old later this month.  To the man who has had a total of 82 country hits (60 of which were solo hits) with 44 of them reaching the country Top Ten and 23 topping the charts (14 #1 solo hits), I salute you and I appreciate you being a strong ally in supporting equality for all.

Happy Birthday, Willie and thank you!

“If You’ve Got The Money Honey I’ve Got The Time”

“Always on My Mind”

TELEVISION SOUND BITES

In television news, a “sound bite” is a short comment, from a longer interview, that stresses a point that the speaker is trying to make in a news story.  So, here are some of my sound bites about things that I watch:

TWD S3 Finale

* A record 12.4 million people watched the season three finale of “The Walking Dead”.

* The one-hour (two back-to-back 30-minute episodes) season finale of “The New Normal” was funny, cute, and sentimental.  However, the ratings are less than stellar and I don’t think it’ll be renewed  for a second season unless creator Ryan Murphy (“American Horror Story” and “Glee) has a lot of pull in Hollywood and at NBC.

* The viewership of the first two weeks of this year’s NCAA men’s basketball tournament was up 31% this year over last year — the highest ratings in 19 years!

following_nevermore

* I’m ready for this season of “The Following” to end.  I know the season finale April 29th will be incredible, but the show is really starting to drag and it’s starting to irritate and bore me.  My correspondence with my good friend, Kelly, in Baltimore, Maryland, sums it up.

Kelly:  “Bates Motel is what I wanted The Following to be. (Following and I have broken up.)”

Me:  “‘The Following” and I sticking together for the kids until the season finale and then I’m done. I can’t believe how ridiculous it has become. I mean, give the FBI a break. I know you have to draw it out to 15 episodes, but really. Last week was nothing but filler.”

* While we dropped cable because we never watched television, I want to see “Bates Motel” on A&E, which Kelly highly recommends.  Last night, I watched “Hannibal” on NBC and it was incredible, gory, suspenseful, and psychologically stimulating.  If you missed it, NBC usually has most of its show online for viewing.

Here’s the “Viewer Discretion Advised” trailer:

My Wednesday’s blog link about the new “Hannibal” series:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/come-into-my-house-but-not-for-dinner/

* And, finally, “Dexter” season 7 arrives on DVD May 14th.  The countdown is on:  39 days!

SO LONG, ROGER!  TWO THUMBS UP!

Roger Ebert

Roger Ebert, the legendary movie critic and television co-host, who popularized a movie rating of “thumbs up” or “thumbs down” died Thursday in Chicago.

Since 2002, the 70-year-old Ebert struggled with cancer of the thyroid, salivary glands, and the chin, which affected his ability to speak, eat, and drink, he never gave up and was a fighter.

Two years ago, he published his book, “Life Itself:  A Memoir”.

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

With the record warmth in March 2012, things looked a lot different last year compared to now.  The grass was green, lilacs were in bloom, my friend, Lynn, had a flowering bush budding with Easter eggs, and my garden was already tilled!

Lilacs040612

EasterEggsInBloom 040512  TilledGarden040612

MY FUTURE HIT PICK

Chris Wallace, a musician from Chicago and the former lead singer for the band White Tie Affair, released his first solo song, “Remember When (Push Rewind)” last summer and it was a pick hit of mine and one of the absolute best songs of 2012!  It did get moderate airplay, but was pretty much ignored at pop radio in the big scheme of things.  While it reached #25 on Billboard’s Pop Songs chart, it never cracked the Billboard Hot 100.

The follow-up coming out later this month is “Keep Me Crazy”.

PEEPS’ ’80S FRIDAY FLASHBACK

Andy Bell and Vince Clarke have been making music together since 1985 as Erasure.  Although they only scored three top 20 pop hits in America, #12 “Chains of Love” (1988), #14 “A Little Respect” (1988), and #20  “Always” (1994), it was “Oh L’Amour” that blew me away when I start going out clubbing and dee-jaying.  It hit #3 on the dance chart in 1986.

I guess I’ll wrap this up now because I could go on and on.  I do have many random thoughts!  Just ask Ray! 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

