Random Friday Thoughts — April 19

Another weekend is here and another weekend where Ray and Gretel are elsewhere.  What is it?  Was it something I said?  🙂  Actually, last weekend, Ray left for a conference in Washington D.C. and Gretel was with her mother.  I got to spend last Saturday night with my sister, Tammy.  We ate at Isle of Capri (good) and them gambled (bad, for me).

This weekend, Ray and Gretel are in Fort Dodge for his niece’s First Communion.  I would have gone, but I had already committed to emcee a fundraiser Sunday with my morning co-host, Meredith Dennis.

SPEAKING OF WASHINGTON D.C.

While he was there, Ray sent me this picture of beautiful blossoming trees.  They are farther along than our trees, but we’ll get there.

DC Blossoms

BUT, THIS DOESN’T HELP

Colorful

This is a map showing all of the watches, warnings, and advisories Wednesday afternoon.  How colorful!  Good thing that Crayola expanded beyond the eight original colors in 1924.

As we now know from all of the flooding on area rivers, streams, streets, and basements, we picked up anywhere between 2-7″ of rain Wednesday and Thursday.  Meanwhile, in the cold air, heavy snow fell across the Plains and upper Midwest!

THINKING OF BOSTON

It was another chaotic morning today in Boston.  One of the two suspects in the tragic bombing at the Boston Marathon was shot and killed.  Sadly, a MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) police officer was also killed.  As you know, earlier this week, three people were killed and, at least, 172 others were injured in two different explosions near the end of the marathon.

I’m appalled at the number of times the national news media showed the graphic images of blood and missing limbs and how people re-posted them on their Facebook page.  I, for one, don’t want to see them.

I want the other terrorist caught and brought to justice and I want to believe in the human spirit that good outweighs bad.  And, I’m going to think of this beautiful image of a building that I came across reading the February 2011 issue of “Boston” magazine.  This is the Institute of Contemporary Art.

ICA

And, if that doesn’t sell you on a positive image of Boston, how about this?

While baking in 1937, Ruth Wakefield made history at Whitman’s Toll House Inn.  She invented the first chocolate chip cookie when she dropped chunks of Nestlé semi-sweet chocolate into her butter drop dough cookies and it didn’t melt.  It became, you guessed it, the “Toll House Cookie”.

History of Chocolate Chip Cookies - Ruth Wakefield - Nestle Toll House

The cookie became so popular that she contacted Nestlé and they struck a “sweet” deal:  the company gave her a lifetime supply of chocolate and they would print her recipe on the cover of all their semi-sweet chocolate bars.  Nestlé eventually marketed “chocolate chips” for baking cookies!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Iowa Senator Dennis GuthDog Marriage

Sink

We’re getting ready to renovate our main bathroom and although we’re focusing on the shower and the floor, I think I may need to re-consider and get this sink!

TATTOO IT ON ME

It was one year ago this week that I got my first and only tattoo.  And, it was on Friday the 13th!

Back in 2005, while living in Salisbury, Maryland, I considered getting a Reba tattoo.  However, the artist was not all that confident doing it because of the intricate detail.  In retrospective, I’m glad I waited.

Getting a tattoo in memory of Miss ABBA, who died in February 2012, is more heart-felt.  I’m very pleased with amazing and incredible job that artist John Kautz at O’Toole Design in Rock Island did.  Here are pictures of John doing his thing, the final product, and the “model” for the tattoo.

Tattoo1OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAABBA Inspiration For Tattoo

Here’s the original blog that I posted last April about me becoming inked.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/miss-abba-ill-cherish-this-piece-of-art-forever/

GOLF IS NOT MY SPORT, BUT….

I know that there are people who love the intensity and the quietness of golf.  Did I lose you at intensity? 🙂

Golf is not my sport and it might have something to do with the fact that I was struck in the face with a golf club when I was a kid that required stitches to my chin.  My cousin, Shane, and I were hitting walnuts with the golf club before the school bus arrived one morning and I guess I was standing too close.

Where is this story going?  We know that that creep Tiger Woods is one of the best, if not the best, golfers of all time.  But, did you happen to check out the winner of this year’s Masters?

Adam ScottAS2

This is 32-year-old Australian Adam Scott.  He won $1.44 million for the sudden death win in Augusta.  He attended college at UNLV (University of Nevada, Las Vegas), now lives in Switzerland, and he tells “Us” magazine, “”I’m not single at all. I am very much in a relationship and very happy for the moment.”

I’m still not a golf fan, but he did make me stop of Google him. 🙂

WHY I FIGHT SO HARD TO EDUCATE OTHERS

As you know from befriending me, I’m very committed to making marriage equality a reality for every American, regardless of what state they live in.  But, here’s something that many people don’t know and it might be surprising.

Fired

Yes, it’s still legal in 29 states to fire someone for being gay or even thinking they are gay!  What year is this again?

Last month, “Time” magazine devoted its cover to marriage equality while the Supreme Court of the United States was hearing testimony on cases pertaining to California’s Proposition 8 and the Defense of Marriage Act.

Time Magazine

“Time” managing editor Rick Stengel said, “Whatever the Supreme Court decides, it seems clear that the majority of Americans feel marriage is a civil right and that denying that right to people because of their sexual orientation is a violation of equal protection under the law.  We had a long debate in our offices about this week’s cover images of two same-sex couples. Some thought they were sensationalist and too in-your-face. Others felt the images were beautiful and symbolized the love that is at the heart of the idea of marriage. I agree with the latter, and I hope you do too.”

I agree that the images are beautiful.  We have fought so hard to make more and more people see that all Americans getting to express their love by marrying that person is not a “gay” right, it’s a human right.

But, I disagree that “Gay Marriage Already Won” is a given.  There’s still a lot of hate, bigotry, close-mindedness, or whatever you want to call it in this country and in the world.  However, with more and more of our “straight, but not narrow” friends siding with us, we’re getting there.

I’M A FOLLOWER AGAIN!

After a very strong, cutting edge start with one shock after another, “The Following” lost its mojo.  At every turn, the FBI made one grave mistake after another of being one step behind Joe Carroll’s cult following.  I lost faith and was losing interest in the show and was very vocal about it.

However, after this past Monday’s night’s show, I’m a believer again!  Here’s how I summed it up on my Facebook status update, “”The Following” — Best.Effing.Episode.Ever. Who needs zombies when you have a homicidal/suicidal cult? I knew the series would be redeemed!!!!!”

There’s one more episode before the April 29th season one finale and the previews are incredible.  I thought the massacre on “The Walking Dead” season two finale was brutal.  But, I think this finale will have a very high body count!!!!!!!

Here’s a spoiler for you.  I’m kidding, sorta.  Jacob (Nico Tortorella) survived Monday night, but he didn’t have a scene like this!

Nico Tortorella

“HANNIBAL” GETS EVEN BETTER

I loved the premiere of NBC’s new gory series, “Hannibal”, based on the Thomas Harris novels featuring everyone’s favorite cannibal, Hannibal Lecter.  Ray was not all that impressed with the first episode calling it “confusing”.  However, he loved the second episode and I thought it was very entertaining.  The show seems to be ratings-challenged, but then again it’s on NBC!!!!!

While some people blame television, movie, and music violence for all of the world’s problems, I can separate entertainment violence from real life.  With that being said, I admit that the show is right up there with “The Following”, “Dexter”, and “The Walking Dead” in violence and gore.  I’m still amazed at some of the things that get past standards & practices and make it on the air.  Let’s just say, I’ll never look at mushrooms the same way again!

Mushrooms

That’s not really a spoiler because you have no idea what is going on in the scene. 🙂

And, Vickie, I know you’re totally freaked out now.  So, these young pre-Will Graham Hugh Dancy photos are for you.  Who am I kidding?  The pictures are for all of us.

Hugh_Dancy 2Hugh_Dancy

PICK HIT

I’m not too happy with the current state of American Top 40 radio.  It seems like you hear the same ten songs over and over and from same ten artists.  So, I looked north of the border for some inspiration for my pick hit this week.

Canadian singer Danny Fernandes has released two albums in the Great White North that have gone gold there (sales of 40,000 or more).  While he’s charted with four Top 40 hits in Canada, the biggest, “Hit Me Up” only reached #22 in 2011.

However, I’m predicting that his new song, “Fly Again (Broken Wings)”, will become his first Top 10 hit in Canada and even help him to breakthrough here in the U.S., too.

“PEEPS’ ’80S FRIDAY FLASHBACK”

Since Danny Fernandes sampled lyrics from a 1980s song, I’m picking the original as my ’80s Friday flashback.

The American west coast rock band, Mr. Mister hit #1 on the album chart with their 1985 platinum release, “Welcome To The Real World”.

The band would score three Top Ten hits from that album:  “Broken Wings” (#1, 1985), “Kyrie” (#1, 1985), and “Is It Love” (#8, 1986).  The group would only have one more Top 40 hit on the Billboard Hot 100, 1987’s “Something Real”, which peaked at #29.

I guess it’s time now to start focusing on my weekend and stop sharing my random thoughts for this week.  I have to have some private thoughts. 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

