Cows (And Now, Pigs) Can Breathe Easier

If you crave a juicy steak, feel free to throw it on the grill.  If a big plate of bacon sounds like your way to start the day, enjoy it.

As much as I love a medium rare steak, I can’t tell you the last time I had one.

As for beef, the only times in recent memory that I had anything that “contained” it was back in February and last week on pizza.  Now, if you noticed, the word contained was in quotation marks.  On February 2nd, on the one year anniversary of Miss ABBA’s last day alive, I had half of a double cheeseburger.  That was Miss ABBA’s favorite treat and she had one on that fateful night in 2012.  I know that that “beef” burger was probably was a combination of mystery meats and ingredients (my assumption is not scientific and that’s why the restaurant wasn’t mentioned).  And, the pizza I had recently had some “beef” on it.  Again, who knows what it really consisted of.

Cows Three little pigs

For quite some time, I’ve been overwhelmed by guilt when I pass pastures of cows or I’ve done stories with pigs that I know are heading “north” (from the movie, “Gordy”, meaning to be slaughtered) and I never look them in the eyes because I know what’s going to happen.

With that being said, I don’t plan on becoming a vegetarian.  I don’t have the same feelings when I look at chickens, turkeys, or fish.

However, after my fishing ordeal in Spirit Lake, Iowa, last Memorial Day, I did come to a revelation — my fishing days are done!  When I caught “Wally”, the walleye, and for circumstances that I won’t write about, I wasn’t able to release him or her and I had to eat it!  While it was tasty, I felt guilty because I saw the fish when it was alive.  That reminds me of a line from a recent episode of “Hannibal” on NBC, “Eating her is honoring her. Otherwise, it’s just murder.”

Wally

Last summer, I was very successful in losing 25 pounds with more exercise, eating less, and skipping buffets.  As you know from my blog and my posts on Facebook, I love buffets.  I love getting many samples of all kinds of food.

However, lately, I’ve indulged too many times and I’m finding it less rewarding, except for the desserts.  That will be harder to give up.  🙂

While I plan on taking Gretel to Osaka Buffet in May when she passes to the 7th grade and we’re taking Tammy out for Mother’s Day, I think I’ll limit my buffets to one a month.  This summer, before the Depeche Mode concert in August and my vacation in October, I want to lose about 15 pounds.

With nicer weather, I know it’ll be easier to get outside to walk more, work in the yard, and buy healthy local veggies from the farmer’s market.

Here’s to a late spring, summer, and fall with no beef and pork  for me and more veggies, seafood, chicken, and turkey.  (Sorry, chickens and turkeys — maybe next year!)

And, watching “Hannibal” definitely makes eating ANY meat less attractive!  🙂

Hannibal 3Hannibal 1 Hannibal 2  Hannibal 4

By the way, liver have been off my culinary menu since I was a kid.  My mother would make liver and onions and we had two options — eat it or leave it.  On those night, my sister and I didn’t eat!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

