If You Call Me Stella, Then I’m Missing Something!

Peaches & Herb informed us that we had this “thing” and to “shake” it,  The System told us “don’t disturb this” thing,  Madonna said “get into the” this thing, and a book and a movie showed us how “Stella” got this thing back.  I need to pay attention to all of this great advice because I need to find my “groove” again!

Lately, when I get home from work, I’ve lost the motivation to get anything done in the afternoon.

While I’ve only been at my new job, which requires me to get up in the middle of the night, for about two months now, I can’t seem to find the “get up and go” to get much accomplished once I get home.  During my four-month “vacation” between jobs, I was writing new material in my blog daily.  Now, it takes all the energy I have to do “They Said What???” on Mondays, “Random Friday Thoughts” on Fridays (which is my favorite), and another blog or two during the week on some miscellaneous topic.

I know the weather is probably playing a big role in my lack of desire to do anything.  After a lackluster winter, we saw 13.2″ of snow fall in the last eleven days of February and 10.6″ of snow fall in the first 24 days of March.

March Snow

March temperatures were 7.7° below average and 21.9° colder than the record warm March temperatures a year ago!

And, April is pretty crappy, too.   We’ve already picked up more than 7″ of rain in the Quad Cities causing river and basement flooding in many hometowns and making this one of the wettest Aprils on record.

Flooding Moline

If that wasn’t bad enough, temperatures are running 3.6° below average and there were snowflakes in and around the Quad Cities yesterday, April 23rd!

So, everyone blames the weather (and sometimes, the weather person).  I would never do that since I know too many great meteorologists (and some sucky ones, too, and you don’t have to look too far to find them!).  🙂

However, weather aside, there are two larger contributing factors that I believe are to blame:  lack of sleep and not eating right.

When I worked a morning show in the past, I never got much sleep at night and I didn’t nap during the afternoon.  At that time, I had Miss ABBA, my golden retriever, and we spent the afternoons together walking, playing, and doing whatever we wanted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The lack of sleep didn’t bother me.  Maybe subconsciously, I’m missing Miss ABBA more than I thought or maybe I just want another dog or two!   But, that doesn’t fit into the short-term schedule of the next two years of our lives.

But, now that I’m older, maybe I need to condition myself to take naps in the afternoon?

Another thing that needs to change is getting back to healthy eating and frequent buffets don’t fit into that plan.  As you know, I love, love, love to eat!

Spice Market Buffet Las Vegas

Last year, when Ray and I counted calories with myfitnesspal.com, I lost 25 pounds over a seven-month period and he lost 30 pounds.  While we limited our buffets, we ate healthier and we exercised.  I still exercise every day, but the treadmill is starting to bore me to tears.

I’m know that when the weather gets warm on a regular basis and we start working out in the garden, the yard, and taking walks around the city, it’ll be easier to feel good, to be motivated, and to lose weight.  And, I’ll still be able to have an occasional buffet as a treat and not feel “blah” about it.

So, here’s to spring arriving and sticking around before the heat of summer takes over.

And, here’s to me getting off my a$s, feeling good, and finding the motivation to get “Into The Groove” because you know, “You can dance, for inspiration.  Come on, and when you do, get into the groove”!

Anthony

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura Dymkowski on April 24, 2013 at 5:40 am

    Good mooring Good Job I saw your hubby other day on news impressive.

    Reply

  2. You are not alone in feeling like this. I think we all have acquired a dose of SAD-seasonal affective disorder. Not only is the weather causing us to feel dragged down but you are dealing with body clock issues like night-shift workers. You may not think lack of sleep is bothering you but your body is telling you different. I’m sitting in the sunshine coming in the east window right now-a recommended treatment for SAD.
    Housecleaning, bill-paying etc have all been piling up but hoping improved weather will help us all feel better.

    Reply

    • Lynn,

      While I am ready for spring weather and warmth and getting outside, I don’t mind snow at time!

      But, I definitely think the lack of sleep is the bigger issue.

      Thanks for checking out my blog today and chiming in, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Darla on April 24, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Anthony:
    The cure for what ails you is quite clear…a new dog! That’ll get you going!
    Darla

    Reply

  4. Posted by Teresa on April 24, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    I think you need to try to take a nap during the day or try going to bed a little
    earlier (or both!!) Cut back on your blogs, your followers/friends will understand.
    Take care of yourself – getting adequate sleep is very important, physically and
    mentally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

