Random Friday Thoughts — May 3

After working eleven of the last twelve days, I’m ready for the weekend.  While the weather will not be perfect, it’s going to be better than the rainy, chilly 40s that we’re going to experience today or the 4-11″ of snow that parts of Iowa saw Thursday!   Have a great one.  Here are the random thoughts on my mind today.

Iowa Mow Snow

STILL LACKING MOTIVATION

While I exercise daily, I really haven’t mastered the art of losing any weight.  Thus, I’m still 13 pounds from my ideal weight for the summer.  One of these days I’ll get back into the same groove from last summer when I lost 25 pounds.  Don’t worry, I didn’t have any trouble finding twenty of those pounds!  🙂

WEEKEND PLANS

Saturday night, we’re having friends over for dinner.  I’m making the appetizers, the salad, a veggie dish, and two desserts, while Ray is making two entrees (one meat and one vegetarian).  Gretel is looking forward to it because there will be three other girls here that she’s never met.

On Sunday, I’m taking part in a fundraiser for the “Metropolitan Community Church QC” as a judge in a chili cook-off contest!  I’ve done this in the past and it’s a fun time.  So, if you don’t have plans Sunday evening and you’re in Moline, come on by.

MCCQC Chili Cook-Off

“THE FOLLOWING” SEASON FINALE

After getting disgruntled with “The Following” midway through the season, I knew that the finale would be mind-blowing and it was!   All I can say is AMAZING!  The payoff was worth it and I’ll be tuning in next January to see what happens.  For a time there, I was ready to move on after this season, but not now!

The-Following-Season-Finale

“DEXTER”

The countdown to season seven of  “Dexter” on DVD is now down to 11 days and I can’t wait!  The final season (the eighth) begins on Showtime at the end of June and I bet that they have it out on DVD before Christmas because if spoilers announce how the series ends, who would want to buy it on DVD?

Dexter

Spoiler alert:  The season 8 trailer is incredible.  Don’t watch it unless you have already watched season 7!!!!!!!!

KSL, SALT LAKE CITY, GET A CLUE!

Censorship continues to thrive at the NBC affiliate, KSL, in Salt Lake City.  In August 2012, the station refused to air “The New Normal” and it passed on “The Playboy Club” (as did the rest of America, by choice), and it doesn’t show “Saturday Night Live”.

The latest victim of the station’s self-imposed programming censorship is “Hannibal”.

Hannibal_Gory_3_22_13

On its Facebook page, the station posted this:  “PROGRAMMING NOTE: After viewing the past few episodes, as well as receiving numerous complaints from viewers, KSL TV will cancel the airing of the NBC show “Hannibal” on Thursday evenings.  This decision was made due to the extensive graphic nature of this show. The time slot will be replaced with a special edition of KSL 5 News at 9 p.m.  NBC remains a valued partner to KSL TV.  KSL is confident that with the proliferation of digital media, those who wish to view the program can easily do so.”

It really ticks me off when individual stations pick and choose what they think people should see.  Let people decide by watching or not watching the show.  As much as I love “Hannibal” and its gore and violence, America doesn’t seem to agree with me.  The premiere garnered 6.77 million viewers and the ratings have dropped big time in just four episodes.

LOVE IT, BUT I STILL HAVE AN ISSUE WITH IT

As I was watching the episode, “Coquilles”, last Thursday night, I felt a disconnect with the show.  It felt like something was missing.  There was no mention of characters Abigail Hobbs or Dr. Alana Bloom, both integral to the plot line in the first three episodes.  Upon a little investigating, I found out why.

Show producer Bryan Fuller decided to pull the original “fourth” episode, “Ceuf”, because of the recent real-life events in Boston and the Newtown, Connecticut school shootings last December.  In this episode that will air in its entirety in international markets (and will likely appear on the DVD), Molly Shannon plays the “criminal of the week”, a teacher who brainwashes kids into killing other kids.

My problem with this is that the Sandy Hook Elementary School shootings took place almost five months ago and if the producers were that uneasy about the theme of this episode, they knew that back there and they could have done some editing or re-shoots to maintain continuity in the show!  Come on, NBC “Hannibal”, nobody is watching you anyway, so don’t tick me off. 🙂

I’m still patiently waiting for Gillian Anderson’s five episodes as Dr. Bedelia Du Maurier, Lecter’s psychotherapist!  Her hair may not be as gingery as FBI agent Dana Scully from “The X-Files”, but she is one hot mama!

HANNIBAL-GILLIAN-ANDERSON

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

Two years ago this week, Mr. Panda, our little blind shar pei friend from Chicago, was spending the spring with us.  As you can see, he was sunning and Miss ABBA was enjoying the shade.  Panda, now 11-years-old, may be coming back to spend some time with us soon.

May 2011 Panda ABBA

The planting and gardening season was much further along last year.  We had already planted tomato and peppers plants in memory of Miss ABBA.  We always grew tomatoes for her because she couldn’t get enough of them!

May 6 2012 ABBA Memorial Garden

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Gross... Not Gross922836_10151442556066997_352912627_n  BubleNice

STILL BEHIND, BUT CATCHING UP

As I’ve said before, I always read the new “Entertainment Weekly” when it arrives and I don’t get too far behind on “Instinct”, “The Advocate”, and “Out”.  However, I had a huge stack of old “Men’s Fitness”, “Details”, and “Boston” magazines that I’ve recently blown through and recycled.  Now, I’m working on the three-year-old “Rolling Stone” issues.  Luckily, the subscription was only for six months!

Ironically, last week in my blog I talked about my health and the thought of dying.

And, in the July 8-22, 2010, double issue of “Rolling Stone” with Lady Gaga on the cover, she talked about her health.  And, it sort of touches on what I talked about and was pretty much a scary precursor of her own health issues this past winter when she was forced to cancel the rest of her “Born This Way Ball” tour because of a labral tear of the right hip caused by strenuous repetitive movements involved in the shows and required surgery.

Lady Gaga Las Vegas

On becoming a hypochondriac, Gaga said, “I don’t want to be one, so most of the time I’m like, ‘F**k it, I’m fine.’  At a certain point, you’re so beyond the point of exhaustion that you don’t know:  Do I have a health problem that may or may not be real, or am I just really tired.”

I guess I’m not alone. 🙂

I saw Lady Gaga in concert in Las Vegas this past January before she cancelled the rest of the tour.  She was incredible and the mammoth set was over-the top!

Born This Way Ball Tour Stage

Check out this amazing time lapse video of how much work and detail went into putting on this spectacle of a show in each city.

A PROFESSIONAL ATHLETE COMES OUT

By telling “Sports Illustrated” this week, “I’m a 34-year-old NBA center. I’m black. And I’m gay”, Jason Collins becomes the first professional athlete in the United States to come out.  Most of the reaction to his announcement has been positive.

jason-collins

While I’m happy that Collins can finally live his life without hiding who he is, I’m just sorry that we still live in a world where it still matters!  The bottom line should be “good for him” and “who cares”, just be happy”.  People are just so concerned with what others are doing when they should be focused on their own lives.

Pro tennis player Andy Roddick says, “Yesterday was an incredible day for athletes everywhere. Jason Collins’ courage and leadership in coming out reminds me of how important it is for an athlete to be able to be true to him or herself.  As an Athlete Ally, I want to support every athlete to feel comfortable and confident being themselves and to make sure that all people – players and fans alike – are  welcome and included in tennis.”

andyroddick

Good for you, Andy!  And, good for us. 🙂

LET THAT FREAK FLAG FLY!

In about a month (June 9th), we’ll be seeing Ke$ha and Pitbull in concert outside Chicago for Gretel’s birthday!  I cannot to see Ke$ha just to see what crazy things she’ll do.  Say what you will about her auto-tuned music, but it’s fun.

Ke$ha Tickles The Ivory

And, regardless of what you think of her, check out this outrageous interaction with Conan O’Brien about how she composed some of her favorite songs on her “Warrior” album, which came out in late 2012 that I gave a grade of “A” and blogged about in January!

Too flipping funny!

It’s okay Ke$ha, I love dinosaurs, too!  Roar!!!!!!

PEEPS’ ’80s FRIDAY FLASHBACK

Everyone knows Madonna and everyone has an opinion about her.

In 1983, my freshman year in college, I fell in love with her when she was just a dancer and singer from Detroit, Michigan who moved to New York City to be a star.  Before her first song, “Holiday”, made it to pop radio in the fall of 1983 and peaked at #16, Madonna had already scored two #3 dance club hits, “Everybody” and “Burning Up”.

I KNOW YOU REMEMBER THAT ONE, BUT PROBABLY NOT THIS ONE!

English singer Sophie Ellis-Bextor has scored 9 solo hits in the U.K with six reaching the Top ten and the first three reached either #2 or #3.  She was also featured on two other hits in the U.K., including Spiller’s #1 smash, “Groovejet (If This Ain’t Love)”.  “Groovejet” also reached #3 on the Billboard Dance chart here in the U.S.

Sophie never crossed over in America.  Her biggest chart success on this side of the Atlantic was the #26 Billboard Dance hit, in 2002, “Murder on the Dancefloor”.  It was one of my favorite songs during my last two-year stay in Chicago and at Roscoe’s.  It’s from the album, “Read My Lips”, which includes a remake of the Cher smash, “Take Me Home”.

Now, I want to dance and have fun.

Have yourself a great weekend and thank you for checking out my random thoughts.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

