They Said What??? Paul Ryan, Seth Rogen, Ke$ha, & Dr. Ruth

FORMER REPUBLICAN VICE PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE PAUL RYAN

(on reversing his views on not allowing gay couples to adopt children):  “Adoption, I’d vote differently these days. That was I think a vote I took in my first term, 1999 or 2000.  I do believe that if there are children who are orphans who do not have a loving person or couple, I think if a person wants to love and raise a child they ought to be able to do that. Period. I would vote that way.”

ACTOR/COMEDIAN SETH ROGEN

“Zac Efron is incredibly handsome.  He’s the sexiest ****** on the planet!  I did a scene with him, and we’re both shirtless, and it was a very humbling experience.  I marveled at the fact that we’re literally the same species.  I’m hairier than he is, so I win at that.  [Zac’s] very veiny. I’m not that veiny.”

POP STAR KE$HA

(to Conan O’Brien on what she uses to write some of her songs):  “It started as a joke but it’s produced some of my favorite songs on my new record.  I turn off all the lights, I walk over to the piano, and I gently low myself, my boobs….  They go onto the keys and I just let them tickle the ivories.  They really just go crazy, and all of a sudden, I have these chord progressions.”

RAPPER A$AP

“I respect men more for coming out.  They joke on Frank Ocean a lot, but at least he ain’t out here frontin.’  I respect gay men who identify it and they out with it. I don’t have a problem with gay people at all.”

NBA CENTER JASON COLLINS 

(coming out and becoming the first openly gay male athlete in a major American sports):  “I’m glad I’m coming out in 2013 rather than 2003. The climate has shifted; public opinion has shifted. And yet we still have so much farther to go. Everyone is terrified of the unknown, but most of us don’t want to return to a time when minorities were openly discriminated against.”

MORE JASON COLLINS

“I’m impressed with the straight pro athletes who have spoken up so far — Chris Kluwe, Brendon Ayanbadejo. The more people who speak out, the better, gay or straight. It starts with President Obama’s mentioning the 1969 Stonewall riots, which launched the gay rights movement, during his second inaugural address. And it extends to the grade-school teacher who encourages her students to accept the things that make us different.”

PSYCHOSEXUAL THERAPIST DR. RUTH WESTHEIMER

(on Collins’ coming out):  “I find it very sad.  That’s why I said that I have mixed feelings, that we even have to talk about it. In my opinion, this is a private matter and everybody has to be respected for who they are.”

ESPN SPORTS ANALYST CHRIS BROUSSARD

(about Collins coming out): “If you’re openly living in unrepentant sin, whatever it may be, not just homosexuality; adultery, fornication, premarital sex between heterosexuals, whatever it may be — I believe that’s walking in open rebellion to God and Jesus Christ, so I would not characterize that person as a Christian, because I don’t think the Bible would characterize them as a a Christian.”

JENNIFER ROBACK-MORSE, PRESIDENT OF NATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR MARRIAGE’S RUTH INSTITUTE  (The Ruth Institute is anti-gay and anti-equality)

(complimenting Broussard and downplaying Collins’ announcement):  “I mean, it requires no courage at all today to say ‘I’m gay.’ It’s my understanding [Collins] got a phone call from the president congratulating him on his courage. Well, how much courage can it take if the president’s going to pick up the phone and give you a personal phone call, you know? But in the meantime, this fellow who says, you know, ‘I’m a Christian, and I believe that sex belongs in marriage and it belongs in man-woman marriage,’ to say that, now that will bring the whole wrath of the society down upon your head. So that’s the guy that really required the courage and I give him a lot of credit for it.”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

